We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for relaxing and enjoying France”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Saint Pompon, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philippa...
Wadebridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for relaxing and enjoying France”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We booked this holiday based on the website and useful conversation with the owner. It's a delightful place, centrally located close to the Dordogne river and some other great places to visit. Our accommodation, one of the woodland houses was well appointed, clean and even had a hammock! The facilities and helpfulness of the owner and family made it a relaxing and easy holiday with small children. We are hoping to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space and facilties
Liked least: wanted to stay for longer!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

As soon as we arrived at this delightful site we were made very welcome. The gite was clean and comfortable - perfect for our family holiday.
The facilities available; the swimming pool, tennis court, bikes, etc, were great. The pool area was just perfect.
Our hosts provided us with a great deal of information about walks, places to visit, sites to see and places to go and all during our stay they took the time to ask if we needed anything and gave advice when asked for.
At then end of our stay I asked my son if he'd had a good time, he said: "It was the best holiday ever!"
That's all you can ask for as a parent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility and the views.
Liked least: Cycling up that hill with a fresh bagette in one hand!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful surroundings, excellent accommodation & friendly owners.
Liked least: Couldn't fault anything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ozzie_in...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fantastic, friendly, beautiful”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Apparently we were the first guests from Ireland to book at Cournet haut, but we won't be the last.
I booked this holiday, not based on reviews, but the fabulous web site they have which described an idyllic setting. I was quite surprised to find that one of our hosts was originally from Cork.
When we arrived we did come in from the wrong side, having got lost leaving Cahors, you really need to drive in from Saint Pompon which is the better road.
The setting of Cournet haut is lovely, surrounded by fine gardens, lawn and trees, with views of the valley. Immediately we felt at home.
We stayed in la Forge, which has recently been refurbished on the top floor. We called it our hobbit house due to the number of places you need to duck, but this doesn't detract from the comfort of the gite. Our girls particularly enjoyed the gorgeous shower. But we spent most of our time on the lovely patio watching the little lizards and world go by.
The amount of work that Emmanuel and Allain have done over the years is astounding, turning their property into a beautiful holiday oasis, with plenty of facilities for the whole family: tennis, trampoline, DVDs, walks, swings, pool. Unfortunately the pool wasn't warm as it heats based on air temperature, but we found plenty to do in the area so there wasn't time to swim really.
Alan and Fanny were also fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and they were always on for a chat. You can see their love and enthusiasm for this place.
Our neighbours were Australian, and we had a couple of lovely evenings chatting with them including a last night cooking margret of duck on the BBQ with Alan's help. It was delicious.
My only one slight concern was the lack of smoke detector, but otherwise a delightful place to stay with wonderful hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The patio.
Liked least: Everything was great
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from our terrace and the kindness if the owners
Liked least: Leaving!!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 November 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gae34
Montpellier, France
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$112
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing