We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Live Oak
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Live Oak
sanibel
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not that nice”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights. When I made the reservation I called the hotel directly and was given a rate for Friday and Saturday and a lower Sunday rate. When we checked out we were charged a higher rate. When I told the hotel clerk he said the rate was on the form I signed and I should have commented at check in. He said there were no notes on the reservation and he would not honor the rate I was given. The other staff personnel were friendly and helpful. Because the room smelled bad we were given a different room which neither room was really clean, but at least the second room didn't smell. The breakfast was just ok.
We have stayed in many holiday inn's but this one is a disappointment.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Live Oak, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Good Morning! I just read your review. I would like to look further into this issue. If you will please contact the hotel via email at holidayinnexp@windstream.net or give us a call at 386-362-2600 (Ask for Shannon L.) Sorry for you inconveniences during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    48
    27
    10
    13
See reviews for
44
37
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The fire alarm apparently went off at 5:30am - from inside the room it sounded like a neighbor's alarm clock. About a half hour later, the alarm was still sounding and I went to the front desk and the one staff on duty directed me outside noting that he couldn't call rooms because the switchboard was out. There were about 40 people outside (even though the hotel had no vacancies) and the fire truck had yet to arrive. It was clear the hotel had no evacuation plan and in the event of a real fire, lives would be impacted. Prior to the trucks arriving, the hotel switched off the fire alarm for about 10 minutes but when I went back in, the sole front desk staff said to go back outside. When the fire truck arrived, amazingly the alarm went back on.

After waiting about 20mins outside, I decided to go through the side entrance, pack and leave. There were other guests that were just coming out of their rooms and wondering what was going on. Of particular note, there were handicap guests that were trying to maneuver the stairs with no assistance or direction from hotel staff - guests were helping them down the stairs. There appeared to be more hotel staff on duty when leaving, but they were behind the desk on working on computers so clearly their emphasis was on the property and not on the guests. If you value your family's safety, you should not stay at this hotel.

But if you do - you will very

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Live Oak, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We confirmed that there was no fire very first thing. It was a boiler that stop working and caused the water to flood 2nd and 3rd floor. At the time this all happen there was only one desk clerk and the breakfast hostess on duty until around 7 a.m. We had a team aggressively attempting to stop the massive amounts of water flowing into the hallways and guest rooms. Guest who wanted assistance had assistance. When the flooding occurred it took out some of the alarm system and all of the phone system. We had one person able to go room to room to alert the guest of flooding happening. We deeply apologize for any inconvenience this may has caused any one. For any further concerns or issues please contact us directly 383-362-2600 or holidayinnexp@windstream.net
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Live Oak hotels

Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The location of the hotel is good while the condition of our room was poor. Housekeeping should check the room out before it is rented. The wall plate off the electric socket, was missing and the tile in the bathroom was coming apart from the wall. Pictures posted to show what we saw.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rest_stop_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We drove 10 miles out of the way b/c we love Holiday Inn Express. Mistake. They are going through renos, so maybe that will improve them. The beds were so uncomfortable and squeaky, our room was very dusty and the bathroom was dirty (someone else's hair on the toilet). We complained at check out and were told the manager would call us and they NEVER did. Only good thing about this place was the breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mglidewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Live Oak, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Mglidewell,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate to see you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We would like to obtain some additional information about your stay and have sent you a private message.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nataligh1234
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is exactly how a Holiday Inn Express should be. The breakfast was amazing. They are going through slight renovations but it really did not affect the guest experience at all. There are no fridge or microwaves in the rooms which is typical for a Holiday Express. The rooms however are specious and very clean and look as if they have already bee updated.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nataligh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Live Oak, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was the worst $90 room that my wife and I have ever stayed. Being retired we travel a lot. No frig or micro wave.
This was an average room at best! Bathroom clean but very old. Slow internet, light on desk flickers on and off. Very disappointing!

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ned e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon L, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Live Oak, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Good Morning!!! We apologize for your experience. We took notice that our hotel is thirteen years old and a bit outdated. We started our renovations in early December, we are currently in the area of the lobby including the fitness center and breakfast room. We have not began doing in-rooms yet. We hope to be fully renovated by March 2014. We welcome you to please come stay with us again, and we are hopeful you will have a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pooler, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I was in the area recently for a festival. The location of the hotel was great. We received excellent customer service from the counter staff as well as the kitchen staff. The breakfast was great and consisted of a big variety. I would recommend this hotel and will stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mckinneyzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Live Oak
19.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City
19.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake City
Comfort Suites Lake City
#2 of 24 in Lake City
583 reviews
19.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lake City
19.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Lake City
19.7 mi away
Quality Inn of Lake City
Quality Inn of Lake City
#11 of 24 in Lake City
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Live Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Live Oak

Property: Holiday Inn Express Live Oak
Address: 6694 US Highway 129, Live Oak, FL 32060-8456
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Live Oak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Live Oak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Live Oak 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to Live Oak, a region of natural beauty offering recreational opportunities to meet any visitor's interest. From outdoor activities to the history, charm and hospitality of an old Southern community, Suwannee County has much to offer visitors to this part of 'The Original Florida'. The Suwannee River, surrounds the county on three sides, you are never more than a few minutes away from a relaxing canoe ride or a dip in the springs. For the more adventurous, our underwater caves, including some of the longest continues systems in the world, provide spectacular cave diving experiences. The rivers are excellent for fishing with numerous varieties of game fish. With abundance of community activities visitors are invited to experience our Southern hospitality's during the many festivals and events held each year including Live Oak's Christmas and Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park's music festivals. The Holiday Inn Express invites you to start your morning with our deluxe hot breakfast. If exercise is a part of your daily routine work up a sweat in our on-site fitness facility or cool off in our large outdoor pool, then relax in our outdoor heated whirlpool. When planning your next small meeting, contact us to help meet your needs in making your function a very special event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Live Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Live Oak Hotel Live Oak
Holiday Inn Live Oak
Live Oak Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Live Oak Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing