We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the festivals, hate the overpriced "cabins"” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park

Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Live Oak
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the festivals, hate the overpriced "cabins"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Love the grounds and the festivals that come through. This review is specific to the rental "cabins." Watch out for overpriced ($110 a night plus $10 for every additional guest beyond two people, so $140 total) smaller-than-a-single-wide trailer cabins. We split this cabin with another couple this past weekend to get away for Easter. We found no door on the bedroom and a bathroom door barely hinged with no lock. The desk clerk showed no remorse for either. Also, we checked with the night manager at the front entrance to ensure that our friends could join just for the evening to hang out, ya know like you can do anywhere else, which he said would be fine. When my guests arrived they passed through the gate with ease by the night manager, but hounded by a woman at a small station within the park, even after the man cleared them. She told them it wasn't allowed, but let them through with a stern warning to leave by 11:30 pm. They would have payed a daily fee if prompted. The staff need to get their communication straight, as well as customer service. This was not an event weekend, so no excuses. Next time we will save our money and stay at the Suwannee State Park for &100 and double the quality and care.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    21
    12
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Music lives here, and lots of red necks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We camped her in December when Stephen Foster was full. The craft village and puppet show were not much to see. The older fellow playing guitar and singing was entertaining though. Unless you want to spend $50 per day to rent a golf cart, there is little else to do unless you come for the festivals. The 'country store' was very well stocked: cases of beer seemed to be the most popular item. The people working in the office were not at all helpful. They would provide any information about the park unless you asked the right questions.

Campers near us were all pretty well intoxicated by early evening. One bizzare rule they have posted is 'No bicycle riding after dusk' this is probably so people on bikes won't get plowed over by the drunks on golf carts.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Camping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

First visit here. Very nice they had the festival lights which was spectacular! They offer a cafe for lunch and in their music hall dinner is available with various entertainment . The "legends" singers not my cup of tea but tolerable. Would go back

Helpful?
1 Thank cly516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magnolia festival 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

What a great experience. 4 days of great music ,great food but most of all . all the great people who make it happen. this year it was Willie Nelson, Chris Kristofferson, John Prine, and more .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

They say during the Festivals its a nice place to go, Even though there wasnt much going on. I will be coming back during Festivals time just to have a exp here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park also viewed

 

Been to Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing