We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!!!”
Review of Edgewater Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edgewater Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Long Key B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This place is perfect....We were looking for a laid back peaceful place that was clean and by the water and this fit perfectly!! The staff was friendly and property very well maintained. We are already planning a trip back We loved it so much!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank James LaDonna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, General Manager at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hello James,
Thank you so much for this king review! I am so happy you loved your stay at Edgewater Lodge and we all look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

First time here and fell in love. We will definitely be back. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. The pool was clean and the grills were cleaned after every use. The beach area was kept neat and chairs clean

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlc2360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, General Manager at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hello mlc2360,
We are so happy you fell in love with out little piece of paradise here at Edgewater Lodge. All of our staff work very hard every day to keep everything clean and neat for our guest and we are very glad you felt that we did. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

If you want to stay on the water you can't get any closer than this! This place is like staying with family in an old Florida setting. Everyone is friendly, the location is perfect and the accommodations are just what you need. Bed and bath, refrigerator, stove, grill, pool, boat ramp and docks. What more could you need. It is not "high-end" but it is everything you need for a real Florida vacation on the water.

Room Tip: Efficiencies on the water are really on the water, you can sit in bed and cast your fishing pole out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eahalstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, General Manager at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hello eahalstead,
What a great review! We are so pleased you had a good vacation staying in our room on the water! I'm very glad you found our staff friendly and loved our location. Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Edgewater is a great place! Each employee we spoke with was very kind and friendly. We stayed in a motel room (the Marlin) only one night and arrived just in time to view the beautiful sunset from the deck outside our room. The rocking chairs were great! Unfortunately, it stormed the following morning, and we did not have the chance to use the pool or the kayaks! Free kayak use was one of the reasons we chose this motel. Maybe next time!

Room Tip: A room on the water's edge is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WalterandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, General Manager at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hello WalterandFamily,
We are very happy you enjoyed your quick stay here at Edgewater Lodge! It is great that you arrived in time to catch the beautiful sunsets outside your room. Sorry you couldn't use our kayaks, but we hope you come visit us again soon to enjoy everything we have to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Will be returning to this little paradise! Loved the cottages on the water. The sunset view is priceless and the staff was very friendly and really made us feel welcome. The management let us just have a good time without feeling like we were under constant watch, yet we felt very safe. We didn't even lock our door the whole time we stayed. Beds were comfortable and the a/c kept our room nice and cool being our stay was in August. Really a nice place especially if your looking for somewhere to keep your boat right out your back door.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandmdanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, General Manager at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello Mandmdanes,
Thank you for this wonderful review and I am so happy you enjoyed your stay at Edgewater Lodge! We are glad you loved our paradise just as much as we do! We really appreciate you staying at Edgewater and we hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for a week July 21-25 in a room they classified as a motel room with two double beds, a refrigerator, and table with chairs. As a family of four it suited us perfectly.The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, the view was to die for. The staff was like hanging out with old friends. They are constantly updating the property not that much needs to be improved, but its nice to know that when we choose to go back it will be well taken care of. They were adding a store in the office, the day we left they were still stocking the store, but what they had was very reasonably priced.

This is a piece of paradise, and we couldn't have asked for more. The view from our room was breath taking. If you are looking for wildlife this is your place. We saw almost everything right off the dock sea turtles, parrot fish, stingrays, sea urchins, and so on. This is a fantastic piece of paradise quiet and beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank amanda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, General Manager at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hello Amanda,
We are so happy your room suited you and your family well. I am glad you all had a wonderful stay with us! The wildlife and views at Edgewater really are breathtaking! We are so happy you could enjoy is all. Thank you for this kind review and for sharing your beautiful photos. Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

If you’re looking for a place to see the sunset and hope to see the “Green Flash” than this is your hotel.
The hotel itself is an old Florida Motel. If your down in the Keys to fish then this is your place.

As far as the room, ours didn’t have the updated appliances, so I’m guessing we didn’t have an updated room.
When we walked in the room smelled of fried fish which was most likely from the previous nights guests. If you wanted to sit and watch TV you had 2 options. The bed or the plastic folding chair. As far as lighting - there was a choice of the ORANGE glow from the night table lamp, the “outside street lamp” that was in the hallway or the overhead kitchen light. I finally settled on the ORANGE glowing light and threw a handkerchief over it to kill some of the glow.
You have a million dollar view from the room which was marred by the dirty sliding glass door. (which my husband pointed out to me).
It's a wonderful piece of property and we can see that you are making improvements, I’m sorry our timing was off and we didn’t stay with you next year. Also - a few plantings around the pool would be nice for some shade.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 3parrotfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, General Manager at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello 3parrotfamily,
Edgewater Lodge is truly one of the best places in the keys to view the most beautiful sunsets! Thank you so much for all your comments. New owners bought Edgewater Lodge almost 1 year ago and we are all working very hard every day to update and make Edgewater the best it can be for all our guests. All of our rooms have been freshly painted and have new furniture and mattresses. The cottages and Suites have brand new kitchens, and all of our units are in the process of getting new appliances. We have brand new flat screen TV's in all units and WIFI throughout the property. We have restored our beach area, and recently opened our new Reef Shoppe on site for all guest needs. Keep checking back with us to see the daily upgrades we are making! We hope to see you again soon at Edgewater Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Key
2.5 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
4.5 mi away
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
11.8 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,849 reviews
3.3 mi away
Little Conch Key
Little Conch Key
#1 of 2 in Conch Key
423 reviews
17.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Lodge

Address: 65651 Overseas Hwy., Mile Marker 65.5 Bay side, Long Key, FL
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Long Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Long Key
Price Range: £83 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater Lodge is a small resort just right off of Mile Marker 65.5. This resort is ideal for anyone looking for the perfect spot to go fishing or just to spend a day in the sun relaxing. Grill your catch on our barbecues by the tiki huts or lay back and relax on our hammocks in the shade. We have a private boat ramp and marina that only our guest can use for no additional charge. We also have bait on site. Feeling more adventurous? We also offer complimentary kayaks and paddle boards. Only just a few feet away from the historic Flagler bridge, a few minutes away from Islamorada, and an hour away from Key West, there's something for everyone to enjoy. After a great day of fun in the sun, kicking back and watching the sunset here is a one of a kind experience. Don't miss it! We're also upgrading our property so make sure to swing by and check out the new additions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Edgewater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Long Key
Edgewater Lodge Long Key, Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing