We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Havelock, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I came down to the Diplomat with my girlfriend as kind of a spring break vacation. Being in the marine corps I don't actually get a real spring break, but the Diplomat offered a 5% discount for active military personnel so we decided to try it! Driving in, my girlfriend got a bit upset because it looked like a motel 6, but after we checked in and stepped into our unit she changed her mind really fast. It's amazing down there! Steps from the beach, great updated kitchen space (she loves to cook), and super comfy furniture. She and I would just sit on the couch and read for hours at night. We cooked every night and ate on our balcony to watch the sunset(which was totally perfect every night). Our rental car got a flat tire, and the office staff called our rental car company and even offered to change it for us! We will absolutely be returning next year.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor right about the beach... It was absolutely gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CodyWC03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    31
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
52
77
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I am quite familiar with Sarasota and Longboat Key, but being at the Diplomat was a completely different experience. First and foremost, it is easy to get to, parking is easy, the staff is extremely friendly, the grounds are spotless, the atmosphere is relaxed, and if that weren't enough, the Diplomat is right on the beach, literally. Open door, go down the stairs, voilà, beach, soft sand, shells, birds, ocean, the sound of the surf, gorgeous sunrises and sunsets, and at night, the stars. Honestly, it was heaven and we will be coming back next year.

The added bonus is that there were quite a few lovely hotel guests that come every year, creating a small beach community. Since I was traveling with my 7-year-old, I thought that perhaps he might be a little lonely, but it was nice to see that there were other children visiting as well. Not only was the pool heated, but there were pool noodles, boogie boards and other pool items for the kids, an added pleasant surprise to an already lovely stay.

We stayed in room 250, a studio, with two king-size beds, a big screen TV, and a fully equipped kitchen. The studio was bigger and much nicer than I expected (I was forewarned that it was a simple room, but since we are pretty easy travelers, I didn't fret about that) and the view of the ocean was BREATHTAKING. Every room is different and this was the right one for us with it's turquoise colors and modern furniture. The only caveat was the beds, I bruised my knee several times when I bashed against them, but I put a chair next to one of the beds and learned to navigate around it more carefully. The room also had beach chairs, toys for kids and beach umbrellas. So well stocked. So thoughtful. Full-stop service.

Nearly two months after our stay, my son looked at me and said, "Mom, I really liked our room at the Diplomat." What better review than that?

Room Tip: Room 250 is far away enough from the pool to avoid any noise and close enough to get to easily. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

After two years vacationing in busy St. Pete Beach I decided to look for a quieter place for 2014. The Diplomat turned out to be just what we were looking for.

Great management. Quiet. Uncrowded beachfront. Wonderful friendly neighbors, many of whom have been coming to the Diplomat for years. Pristine, clean, warm pool. Impeccably clean building and grounds; staff were always cleaning something, doormats outside units, the pool, even the emergency phone boxes. All units privately owned, so all very different. We LOVED our unit and have booked it for next year. We chose a second floor efficiency away from the pool, It was perfect.

Publix and CVS one mile away. Lots of restaurants to choose from. We tried Ciao Italia, The Sandbar, Tommy Bahama's, The Columbia, New Pass Grill, Lazy Lobster and Blue Dolphin Cafe. Best location: Sandbar - on the beach. Best breakfast: Blue Dolphin. Best dinner: Tommy Bahamas, but it's expensive and be sure to make a reservation. Ciao was very good too and very reasonable. Best lunch: New Pass Grill - funky right on the water with take out with tables.

For activities we visited Fort DeSoto, Oscar Scherer and Myakka State Parks. We walked the Beaches of Longboat and the tip of Anna Maria. And we RELAXED at 'home' enjoying the dolphins, the surf, the pool and our chairs on the balcony outside our room sipping coffee in the morning and cocktails in the evening.

It was a PERFECT vacation. Thanks to the folks at the Diplomat for providing the best vacation ever!

Room Tip: I am not going to divulge our room number :-) but we liked the second floor for best view and away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scgiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
200 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is the second time we stayed here and we are very pleased. This time we had a one bedroom which was perfect. All the kitchen utensils you would ever want were there, the unit was clean and tastefully decorated. The parking lot can make you think it is not very nice but wait till you walk in the door and look right out at the ocean. It is close to everything but far enough away not to be crazy. Second floor has best views.

Room Tip: Second floor has great views and less people walking in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italian71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmo, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Our stay in Unit 246 at the Diplomat Beach Resort in Longboat Key was an absolute delight. The accomodations were superb and at a great value. The office staff were friendly and very helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our early morning walks along the pristine beach. Seeing the beautiful sunsets was definitely a Kodak moment. Next time, we hope to catch a view of the "Green Flash". We discovered many great places to eat, among the best was the The Starfish Company just a few miles away at a boat dock in Cortez. We found it so good we ate there several times. A long wait but well worth the time. The seafood was fresh and bountiful. We were even close enough to a Publix supermarket when we decided to eat in. In closing, we found this resort to be a place where we could have a peaceful and relaxing time, especially away from the snow and cold weather we left in South Carolina. Highly recommend this resort and this unit.

Room Tip: The room had a great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grayson72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
233 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The title says it all. This is a retro style property. The rooms are for the most part comfortable and the kitchen is well equipped, although we only ate breakfast and lunch at the property. I was disappointed when we pulled into the parking lot and we entered our rooms. That all changed when we opened the door facing the beach, so beautiful and so near. Since this is a condo, contents vary from room to room depending on what the owners put in the rooms. Ours had board games, beach chairs, boogie boards and other fun items. Coin operated laundry facilities are available, The other residents were friendly and many have been coming to the Diplomat for 20 plus years. Chairs and lounges are available just outside the room, but are not to be used on the beach. The Publix and CVS is a half mile away and several restaurants are nearby. I truly enjoyed my stay and would recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanorLike2Eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three Rivers, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed in 257 .. a quiet room away from the pool .Grab your morning beverage and soak in the sun and welcoming ambience of the Gulf.. 2nd floor, great panoramic view of the Gulf and seabirds ... and some times dolphins share their antics with us. The room is a good size., updated kitchen, granite counters and flat top stove, freshly painted. Plenty of drawer & closet space.Old Florida charm with oringinal terrazo floors. Had fun using the "trolley" - no parking problems on St Armands. Office has schedule. At sunset - Beverage time again ..sit on the balcony or in the tiki huts and be mezmerized buy a glorious sunset. When bedtime comes around
let the lullaby of the crashing surf coax you to sleep.

Room Tip: North part of the Diplomat quiet and very little foot traffic at 257 .. but 1 unit away from stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancyonlytango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
6.0 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
10.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
1.4 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort

Property: The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort
Address: 3155 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Longboat Key, we are set only feet from the beaches of the Gulf of Mexico where you can see dolphins, manatees, the occasional stingray, and various wildlife. The Diplomat Beach Resort is centrally located within minutes of such attractions as Mote Marine Aquarium, Ringling Museum of Art, St. Armands Circle, Marie Selby Botanical Gardens, Sarasota Ballet, Sarasota Jungle Gardens, various theatres, famous restaurants, numerous beaches, kayaking, tours, & cruises, etc.Our 50 units are all individually owned and offer our guests that unique personal touch of home-away-from-home that you just can't receive from other cookie-cutter resorts. You'll find many amenities such as a heated pool, multiple tiki huts, and pool side/ beach side sundecks to name a few. All units have full kitchens, full baths, living rooms, and dining rooms in a studio, 1 bedroom, or 2 bedroom floor plan. Unique to our resort is that every unit opens directly to the Gulf Coast beach. No need for elevators, driving, or long walking paths, the beach is right out your back door. We offer Military discounts as well as monthly and weekly rate specials. Come begin the vacation you deserve. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Diplomat Condominium Beach Hotel Longboat Key
The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort Longboat Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing