We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beach escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“great beach escape”
Reviewed 20 November 2008

Just back from a wonderful stay at the Diplomat. As mentioned, it’s not the Marriott. But, that can be a good thing. You know you’re in Florida when you pull up to The Diplomat, which looks like a 1960’s 2 story motel painted Florida aquamarine, now converted to condos. Rooms are all decorated differently but ours (and I suspect most) was beachy (fish lamps, dolphin art). OK, the whole place was just a little tacky, but in a fun way. It was clean and had everything we needed. Fully stocked kitchen (down to the coffee filters), walk-in closet, couch, small table, comfortable bed, TV, DVD. Lots of character. The efficiency was larger than a typical motel room. The best part was the beach view and sound of the waves from the room. The other people were friendly and tended to be owners or return visitors. The office staff was very helpful. The beach was fantastic, it seemed you could walk forever in either direction. I could see dozens of pelicans and hundreds of seagulls from my window. There were cranes and a beautiful Blue Heron who hung out right outside the rooms.

Only a few minor negatives. Refrigerator was a bit loud at night. If you’re a light sleeper, consider a 1 bedroom so you have a barrier between the bed and kitchen. The balcony is not private, more of an outside walkway, though still a good place to sit. If you need a lot of hotel support, this might not be for you. No restaurant. The office is closed at night but they made arrangements for us to check in late.

Overall, I loved it and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheArTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    32
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
53
79
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

The price/value ratio cannot be beat, book directly through the resort website, it has interior pics of each unit which allows you to choose the best layout for you.

The Diplomat is right on the beach on Longboat Key. While the building is several decades old and it's no Marriott, it is well maintained and clean.

I really like Longboat Key because it is not crowded like the other islands. If you like peace and quite, choose a unit away from the pool. If it's ocean views you like, choose a second floor unit.

We chose a 2nd floor unit right by the pool for convenience. The beach is just awesome, I highly recommend it for a relaxing vacation.

Party Warning: There is NO nightlife in Longboat Key. NONE.

  • Liked — Full kitchen and spacious
  • Disliked — A little dated but clean
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FredMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2008

We spent 6 days and 5 nights in mid June 2008.

The condos are RIGHT on the beach which is excellent. You walk out the back door and literally you are on the beach. It was nice to have a full kitchen too bc there aren't just a ton of food options on Longboat Key itself. We loved the beach and how private and not crowded it was. It was great just to be beach bums.

The room was clean, but I was a little turned off bc the maid service had a tip envelope in the room. They didn't do anything above and beyond to deserve a tip. They also don't work on Sundays.

We found several small roaches in our room which sort of turned me off. THe air conditioner in our unit also didn't really cool that well. It leaked horribly too and there was always a huge puddle around it. I also never felt like the doors were safe. They didn't close or lock very well.

I was completely turned off by they staff. They were down right rude to me. We requested a late check out 24 hours in advance like they require. THen they called us the day we were checking out and were really rude and said they had no record of us requesting this. I had gone in person and been assured it was fine. Then when I went to check out they were incredibly rude. They didn't even thank us for our stay. It was very 'give us your money.' They weren't friendly with check in either.

We did have a great vacation despite all of this. Longboat Key is beautiful and the Diplomat was all we needed. I think next time we are going to stay at the Seahorse Beach Resort.

  • Liked — It was right on the beach
  • Disliked — The unfriendly staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aggiebeachbum2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2008

We stayed for two nights at The Diplomat April 2008. We had a wonderful time just relaxing. The beach is beautiful and just steps from your door. This is an older complex but very well taken care of. The pool was great, its just outside of your door and steps from the Gulf. The beds do need to be upgraded in the unit we stayed in. It had two double beds in the bedroom and a sleeper sofa in the living room. The doubles were very uncomfortable. And the air conditioning unit made an awful racket in the bedroom. But other than that the apartment had all the things we needed. We would definitely stay at The Diplomat again but would ask for a unit with bigger and newer beds. And a quieter air conditioner.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Beds need upgraded.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank imthemom63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2008

We stayed in the Diplomat for a week to get some winter sun (sort of long haul snowbirds).
The location was as good as it looked in the brochure. Miles of deserted beach right outside the door with a heated pool as well.
All of the condos are privately owned so have different furniture and fittings, ours was perhaps a bit dated but clean and functional with a huge lounge/diner/kitchen area. The real stars however were the very friendly other guests and the social sunset watching over an evening beer on the balcony.
Lots of excellent resuarants at St Armands Circle about 15 minutes drive away.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of an onsite restuarant or bar
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PeterBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
6.0 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
10.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
1.4 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort

Property: The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort
Address: 3155 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Longboat Key, we are set only feet from the beaches of the Gulf of Mexico where you can see dolphins, manatees, the occasional stingray, and various wildlife. The Diplomat Beach Resort is centrally located within minutes of such attractions as Mote Marine Aquarium, Ringling Museum of Art, St. Armands Circle, Marie Selby Botanical Gardens, Sarasota Ballet, Sarasota Jungle Gardens, various theatres, famous restaurants, numerous beaches, kayaking, tours, & cruises, etc.Our 50 units are all individually owned and offer our guests that unique personal touch of home-away-from-home that you just can't receive from other cookie-cutter resorts. You'll find many amenities such as a heated pool, multiple tiki huts, and pool side/ beach side sundecks to name a few. All units have full kitchens, full baths, living rooms, and dining rooms in a studio, 1 bedroom, or 2 bedroom floor plan. Unique to our resort is that every unit opens directly to the Gulf Coast beach. No need for elevators, driving, or long walking paths, the beach is right out your back door. We offer Military discounts as well as monthly and weekly rate specials. Come begin the vacation you deserve. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Diplomat Condominium Beach Hotel Longboat Key
The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort Longboat Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing