We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location and place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Longboat Bay Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Longboat Bay Club
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

i stayed at Longboat Bay Club in May 2014. As a new owner I was looking very closely at all the facilities and what I found exceeded my expectations in every way. From check in to check out I was delighted. The units are well equipped and very clean. The location is quiet and I saw plenty of wildlife. Each day was a delight seeing the sun rise over the bayou and the sunset from the front of the property. The beach is just across the road and is clean and often almost empty. Bikes, chairs and sunshades are available free. The resort even has DVD's , puzzles and books to borrow. It is a real home away from home and I am delighted I bought at this resort and I cant wait to book for next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Longboat Bay Club, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi Paula H,

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and even more glad to have you as a new timeshare owner! Peaceful vacations are always the best, thank you for your comments! We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    17
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
34
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We've been owners of this time share since 2009 and what once was a fantastic home away from home started to slip away the past two years but since some management changes and maintenance personnel upgrades, THE PLACE IS BACK! We just returned from a two week stay as we do every year and our experience was far better due to the efforts of the girls in the office, particularly Diane and especially Pike (in charge of maintenance) who not only keeps the facility clean and beautiful but catered to our every request and those of other guests as well. Keep up the good work folks cause we'll be back next year with high expectations and knowledge that our home away from home is in good hands once again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Longboat Bay Club, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi Carole B,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Longboat Bay Club was a wonderful place to stay. They are time shares that get rented out. It is a small complex with I believe only 15 units. The third floor, also the top floor, is recommended because of great views. The corner units have wrap around balconies, also highly recommended. Our unit had a recently upgraded kitchen. It had top of the line appliances. The unit itself is large with a tremendous amount of closet space. The main bedroom had a sleep number bed. All units look out to a bayou that leads out to the bay. When we were there a family of manatees hung out by the docks for hours. I had a kayak delivered to the complex, which was great to have. LBBC has bicycles for use, but they are in need of some TLC. There is wireless internet but it is slow and frustrating at times. There is a tennis court and a very nice heated pool. They have gas grills outside. There is a publix just down the road. The beach is across the street and can be seen from the unit.

Overall, this is a great place to stay. Beautiful, clean, well appointed, spacious units, looking out to the water, a great location. I plan to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: The third floor gives a great view. Corner units have wrap around balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrLeeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Longboat Bay Club, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi DrLeeNJ,

Thanks for taking time to write us a review! We apologize for our internet and bicycle issues and will make sure these things are looked into for future guests. The third floor units are our favorites as well, you can't beat the view! We're glad you enjoyed our manatee friends and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have been returning every year for the past 4 years. We love everything about it. The condo is huge, well kept and comfortable. The patio is overlooking Cranes Bay with many manatees and birds visiting. The grounds are beautiful. We like the fact that it is small building with excellent management. The ocean is across the road- a 2 minute walk with a gorgeous and peaceful beach: one could walk for hours watching herons, egrets, ibis and even dolphins.

Shopping and restaurants are a short drive away. We love the Blue dolphin for breakfast, the SandBar and a French bistro - C'est la vie (Sarasota) for lunch. Kathleen catamarans is great for a sailing cruise and/ or sailing lesson.

It is a little slice of heaven and as good as Hawaii but easier for us to get to. My couzin even visits from California because he loves it so much. Yes, we bought a week 3 years ago and RCI - eat your heart out -because you are not getting our week for a trade!

Recent visit April 2014

Room Tip: All are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wquist12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Longboat Bay Club, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi wquist12,

You review brought a huge smile to our faces! Thank you for your kind words and we're thrilled that you return to vacation with us year after year. Longboat Key is a great place to bird watch and relax with Mother Nature. We're glad you enjoyed another stay with us and look forward to many more in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, FL
Level Contributor
308 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay here again. We've been coming twice a year, April and October. The internet access has been improved since our last visit. I had no problems with it. The kitchen in our unit has been remodeled with new appliances and cabinets. The little lobby library has new books. Office staff is friendly and helpful.

The newly remodeled nearby Publix supermarket has a salad bar, olive bar, hot foods bar and other quick meal ideas especially of interest to vacationers, in my opinion.

Sarasota is just opening for the season in October and restaurant specials were common. We enjoyed our week at Longboat Bay Club.

Room Tip: The top floor, the 3rd, has the best view with no trees to block the views and obstruct light in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Just back from 7 nights at the Longboat Key Resort & Tennis Centre. The hotel accommodation, food, service, beach, facilities and

The tennis centre is superb and all the staff go out of there way to make you feel welcome. Special praise to tennis host Zoe who matched us with opponents and called us most mornings to give us court times and all.

It is expensive but it's also very good.

The island has a very transient and quite old population. It seems as if the wealthy of America live or holiday here. I felt young at 60!

The Dry Dock was the best restaurant we found, no booking so you can be kept waiting but well worth it.

Sarasota is 10 mins drive and has everything, malls, cinemas, bars, etc

There were a few downsides in that the sea had rays and jellyfish, the free cycles had to be returned by 5pm, can't think of any more.

The island is fabulous and while I could never live anywhere other than County Durham this is one place I could spend a couple of months.

Room Tip: We stayed in Block 3 with a coast view. Most rooms appeared to have a coast view tho, there was one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YAN3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
155 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We used our timeshare exchange through II to grab a last minute exchange here in August 2013. We were dropping my son off for his freshman year at Ringling College and were in the area for almost a week. Having the extra space and kitchen was a real treat. We had a top floor corner unit with amazing wrap around balconies. Views of sunrise over the lagoon and sunsets over the gulf every day. The unit was well equipped with a washer/dryer, ample space, two bedrooms and baths. The master King was a sleep number bed!!! We had an assigned parking space and pretty much had the pool to ourselves when we used it. A short walk across the street takes you to the public beach. It was virtually empty when we were there as well. The women in the office were the friendliest and most helpful staff I've ever encountered. We were arriving in the evening after the office closed, so a quick call and arrangements were made for us to pick up our keys.

Longboat Key reminds me a little of Key Largo in that is very laid back and casual. That being said, it is a nice resort if you understand you aren't staying at the Ritz. No complaints, but it is important to set your expectations.

We had a great time and would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hangdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
6.1 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
3.9 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
#2 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach on Longboat Key
The Beach on Longboat Key
#12 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.9 mi away
Little Gull Cottages
Little Gull Cottages
#3 of 20 in Longboat Key
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longboat Bay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longboat Bay Club

Property: Longboat Bay Club
Address: 3200 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Longboat Bay Club 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a swim in our heated pool while looking out into the waters of Cranes Bay. Looking for something more active? Enjoy a challenging game of tennis on our lighted court. Bikes are available to all guests who want to explore our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Longboat Bay Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Bay Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Bay Club Longboat Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing