We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an axpirience for our family!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gulf Tides of Longboat Key

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What an axpirience for our family!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

We would stay again! It's a quaint little resort with comfortable condos, a variety of amenities for the whole family and views that are PRICELESS!! It's also within close proximity to lots of shops and eateries. This is a must-visit vacation destination!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bastfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    23
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Wish we could get an RCI trade here next Feb! Staff is friendly, responsive, pleasant and approachable. Our week stay was a taste of paradise.Murphy beds are so comfortable! Full kitchen and spacious units allow for "at home" cooking/dining. Gulf side view lends to total relaxation and rejuvenation. Sunsets are beautiful. Ideal heated pool and depth for swimming are other pluses; availability of bicycles and a bike/walking path are a convenience. In addition, grocery store is nearby. How blessed we are to have had a FL experience such as Gulf Tides at Longboat Key!

Room Tip: Ask for Gulf view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mchorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

The beautiful beach is the key to this condo. This is not a resort, it is a hotel type set up, with a building on one side of the main road with pool, tennis court and grill area (no great views) and 2 buildings on the beach side, one 2 story with multiple units and one which has 2 units above a parking area. We were given one of the 2 "penthouse" condos (above parking area) on the beach side (2 bedrooms/2 baths). The unit was tired. The rug was old and warped, doors/windows were old and extremely hard to open/close, with gaps for bugs to enter. The bed covers were old and worn. The shower had moldy grout. If you can get past these issues, the unit is comfortable and large enough for 4 people. The kitchen was well equipped with supply of detergents/soaps. The unit was very clean with no unpleasant odors. The beds comfortable.

The location of the penthouse could not be beat, porch overlooking the beach/ocean. There were plenty of lounges available, grills, shuffleboard, umbrellas and bikes to check out at no charge. Beach towels need to be checked out and may be returned midweek for fresh set. The staff was helpful and pleasant. We were fortunate to be allowed early check in. There is a new Publix and CVS within a half mile.

A car is needed if more than a trip to the food store is desired. Rental companies are located at airport only. Taxi ride from the airport is 12 mi (approx $37). There are minimal restaurant options on Longboat Key, but St. Armand's Circle is a 10 min drive with shopping and numerous restaurants. Or a drive to Bradenton Beach has the crowded beachtown feel with many small restaurants. Our taxi driver suggested The Salty Dog, at bridge before hitting LBK, which was a huge dissapointment. At St. Armonds Circle, two restaurants to try are Columbia (spanish) and Venezia (italian), both wonderful.

This is a location to enjoy peace, quiet and walks on the endless beach.

Room Tip: Defintely condo units on beach side ONLY. Unit 301 had sun on porch from early morning through beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WHKRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

We were fortunate enough to be in Studio Unit 101 which is truly ON THE BEACH, meaning open your door, take two steps outside, and your toes are in the sand! Dining at the small table next to the huge window that faces the calm waters of the gulf was so wonderful. I also need to mention that the murphy bed side of the unit also features a full length window that enables you to roll over in the morning and open your eyes to the beach just outside your door. The breeze and sound of the surf was excellent. This studio is bigger than you expect and offers very easy access with just one small step up into the unit. Parking for this unit was also just to the side of the building and was mere foot steps away. Units are very clean, recently updated, and the staff are very friendly. We've stayed here more than once and have checked in during regular hours and also after, neither was a problem. We enjoy the ability to be able to either walk to the nearby Publix or to check out one of the bikes. Longboat Key itself is a very laid back, private feeling beach, yet is so close to everything that Sarasota offers. Fishing was another favorite event. While not a lot of restaurants, nor crowds, dining experience was delicious - though I was just as content buying freshly made bakery goods and simple meals for our front row table beachside. No complaints - very relaxing week.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SandDoll_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Gulf Tides at Longboat Key is situated close to the famous St. Armand's Circle for shopping and restaurants, Sarasota for the urban element. There is so much to do! Also, head further down the keys for more great restaurants, more beaches and more beautiful scenery. Fishing, golf, boat rentals, theater, or just a cruise to see the beautiful homes and shops, stop in for a cocktail at lots of great bars. We return as often as we can, and Gulf Tides is always a quiet, clean and friendly place for our temporary home.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmcnel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Perfect Location, right on the beach. You can spend the whole day on your own "private" beach - very secluded. Tons of seashells around, bring a bag. Clean room, murphy beds are surprisingly comfy. Staff is very helpful with all questions/directions/suggestions. Turn left or right out of the complex and there's tons of great things to do and see. Room had everything we needed - coffee pot, washer/dryer, all utensils, dish washer, nice furniture, very very quiet. Flat screen tv. Beach chairs available all the time for free. You can go out to the beach from your room & enjoy a cup of coffee with your toes in the sand - can't do that at many places. This place is great for a week at the beach - can't wait to go back. They even give you beach towels.

Room Tip: Book as early as you can - we waited and luckily got the LAST room they had available - you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelj56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Longboat Key is the perfect location for a beautiful and relaxing Florida vacation. And we could not be happier with the resort we chose, Gulf Tides. The quiet, pristine beach is right outside our door, while inside we enjoy all the comforts of home. The staff at Gulf Tides truly go above-and-beyond the norm, to provide great service and a wonderful vacation. We can't wait to go back to this little slice of heaven on the beach in Longboat Key!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
5.8 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.4 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#10 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
3.2 mi away
Little Gull Cottages
Little Gull Cottages
#3 of 20 in Longboat Key
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Tides of Longboat Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Tides of Longboat Key

Property: Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
Address: 3005 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2910
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Tides of Longboat Key 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, luxurious studios, one bedroom and two bedroom condominiums border the Gulf of Mexico. Each condo has a fully equipped kitchen, cable television, linens, central heat and air, private phones and free laundry facilities either in your condo or in your building. Tennis court, pool, bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Gulf Tides of Longboat Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Tides Of Longboat Key Hotel Longboat Key
Gulf Tides Of Longboat Key Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing