We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Wonderful home, convenient location, fantastic...”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
large 220506-castleintheskynearbeachandtennis-005-1251119703
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
large 220506-castleintheskynearbeachandtennis-005-1251119703
Gourmet kitchen with wrap-around seating kitchen and dining for 8
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
57 reviews
large 220506-castleintheskynearbeachandtennis-005-1251119703
Gourmet kitchen with wrap-around seating
kitchen and dining for 8
Sea oats and white sand
King bed in master bedroom
The back of the Castle overlooking pond
Master Bedroom
Jr Olympic pool and Tiki Bar
Bar and Grill at poolside
Front entrance
Sea oats nearby
Beach boardwalk pathway nearby the unit
White, sandy uncrowded beaches
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Longboat Key, Florida

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Orlando
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Aug 2013
Hello Sarah,
Thank you for the kind review. We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you have the opportunity to vacation with us again at castle in the sky.
-the Castle in the sky crew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Gainesville Fl
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Aug 2013
Thank you Justin for such a positive review; I' m sure your review will be helpful to others as well considering our home. We hope you have the opportunity to visit again in the near future.
-the Castle in the Sky crew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
GA
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
3 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Aug 2013
Hello to the Williams Family,
We were glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in spite of the resort losing direct beach access. We hope you took advantage of Whitney Beach that was only two minutes away by car with the free parking and sparkilng white sand. The tennis courts as stated in the rental agreement are not included in your stay, but the top rated longboat key tennis center has more than comparable har-tru courts available 5 minutes away by car.
We were glad to know that your medications and electronic gear that was left behind were received that we priority mailed back to you after you had departed.
We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us in the future.
-The Castle in the sky crew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Holiday Home Rentals Traveller
Joliet, Illinois
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jul 2013
We were delighted to know that your party had a wonderful vacation Kate and you were able to enjoy the home, the resort and the surrounding areas. Even with the Florida summer heat , being near the pool as well as the gulf you have an opportunity to cool off and enjoy some awesome sunsets.
We hope you have the opportunity to return next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pampnina
Lakeland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value, space, and convenience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had planned a birthday weekend for my daughter and some of her friends. Additionally, me and my hubby wanted some adult company as well. The house and amenities suited us perfectly. There was ample room for all 5 teenagers, the 7 year old and the four adults to comfortably be doing their own thing in a portion of the house without disturbing someone else. The house is fully stocked with towels and linens for your use. The girls enjoyed being able to frequent different beaches on Longboat that were so close to the house. They also enjoyed the pool area as did I which for the most part was not busy at all. The bartender service at the pool was also excellent with daily happy hours that made my adult friends quite happy. I hope to utilize this rental again in the near future.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Space and convenience
Liked least: Alot of stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob N.
MI
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 3 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sonora77
Rollins, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Vacation House - Comfortable, Well Located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

I traveled to Castle in the Sky in Longboat Key with my son, his wife, and their 1 year old daughter. The first thing we did was babyproof the house a bit, relocating plants, taking glass off tables, moving larger objects to closets and moving nightlights up higher. After that, it was vacation time.

The house has a great open floor plan, two levels of porches, and it was very easy to walk to the beach. In addition, we drove into Bradenton, Sarasota and Siesta Key at various times. The Publix grocery store is about 4 miles away, so you don't need to stock up before arriving.

While here, as well as the beach, we had very positive experiences at Mote Marine Aquarium and at Sarasota Jungle Gardens. We normally ate in and really appreciated the large modern kitchen, as well as the high chair that was included in the house. The weather was beautiful most of the time, so we visited the pool and beach each day. My son also fished from the fishing pier and caught two fish. There are elevated wooden pathways through the mangroves to provide shortcuts to the pool and to the fishing pier.

The house also had two bikes, which we used, and a grill, which we used. There were also things like boogie boards and chairs, which we didn't use. There are two garages, but we kept our car outside as that made it easier to get in and out.

The neighbors were pleasant and very quiet also. The only improvement I'd suggest, and I didn't mention this to the owner, is to raise the maximum water heater temperature from warm to warm-hot. It was very easy to deal with the owner, and he left well-organized instructions and directions.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: house was beautiful, spacious and well located.
Liked least: would have been nicer to have hotter water in the house.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2013
We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Castle this winter as well as all of its amenities and nearby cultural attractions. We have looked in to the "warm" but not "hot" water heater and have replaced the water heater so this should not be a concern for you or any other guests in the foreseeable future.
We hope you have the opportunity to return again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing