We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Lobster of Longboat

Lazy Lobster of Longboat
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$38
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: OUR MISSION Our mission is to be the neighborhood choice for our guests and their families; proudly providing a casual atmosphere that consistently exceeds your expectations. Great food, high energy and honest friendly people are the keys to our success.  We’re a fun place to go where you can get anything you want and it will  ALWAYS BE GREAT!
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I went to the location on Longboat Key. The food and service are top notch! Lovely atmosphere too. The friendly hostess even remembered me the next night I dined there - what a memory! Anna was my waitress and she was fabulous! - ask for her table! The food was awesome! I was able to enjoy the last 2 days of Lobster month - YUM! OH, you must try the homemade chocolate mousse - you won't regret it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PghGirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    329
    101
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The Lobster Mac n cheese was absolutely awesome. Everything we tried we loved. My husband had the key west shrimp. Great atmosphere. Good service. Don't miss it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quinton129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
194 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Pleasant dining experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Went to the early bird dinner. It did not include a soup or salad so that was extra. I ordered the small Caesar salad which was excellent. My husband ordered the gumbo and it was mediocre with too much rice and lacking in flavor. For my main course, I order their specialty, the Shrimp Norma, which I've had before and it was great. This time it wasn't very good. Three shrimp in a heavily-breaded batter which apparently was made far in advance and frozen and re-heated. More batter than shrimp... The rice and green beans were fine. My husband ordered the lemon flounder and it was delicious. The wine was excellent as was the bread. The service was very good and our waitress was very pleasant. This is a busy restaurant and was filled when we left. They do a good job of serving meals, but the quality is not what we expected and we would not return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EdmarSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxed, friendly, holiday atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Recommended by the beach resort we were staying in. Fantastic food, friendly service and attractive environment. So enjoyable we returned the next evening, $70 including drinks and appetisers . Surely the bargain of the holiday, filet mignon at $23!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely... but not our thing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Reviews were pretty good so we decided to give it a try. Casual dining: try for a table overlooking the garden - super lovely. From the moment we walked in the door to leaving the restaurant, the staff was delightful. Every single staff member was friendly, attentive and knew their business! Anna, our waitress, really stood out as amazing ~ the woman seemed to read minds. If you like a lot of buttery taste with your lobster and veggies, well this is the place! For my husband and I personally, it was a little over the butter top, which meant that we took home lunch for tomorrow since we couldn't finish our plates. I had the Lazy Man's Lobster which meant that 6 oz of steamed lobster sat in a bowl of butter ~ delice but too much. I couldn't even finish the green beans coated with buttery taste. My hub had the twin lobster tails with butter on the side which he finished but left his green beans for tomorrow's lunch. We needed to save space for the Key Lime pie slice ~Nice enough.

Not sure we will go back since it's not our thing but it was very pleasant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lazy Lobster of Longboat also viewed

 

Been to Lazy Lobster of Longboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing