We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Is How Real Floridians Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Gull Cottages
Saint Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This Is How Real Floridians Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

An awesome place with the real Florida lifestyle. Everyone in our family lives on the ocean in different parts of Florda already, but we come back every single year to Little Gull to "get away." It's quiet, not overloaded with tourists, friendly staff, and close to fantastic nightlife. The beach is perfection, and the rooms are the perfect balance of not being too 'frou-frou' for the beach but still clean and comfy.

Room Tip: You cannot BEAT an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Litte gull is a Very beautiful place to vacation!! We were more than pleased with the cottage, grounds and staff. Well worth the money. This is our first time in LBK, and we Had a terrific time!! This will be a place we visit again in the near future!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley9592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

This is my sixth year coming here and the staff and service has always been great! There is so much to do in the area with
Shopping, restaurants, botanical gardens
And Ringling Museum. One week is just not enough to see it all!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miamblueeyes195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Thanks so much to the staff at Little Gull for making this and outstanding vacation memory for both my father and myself.

The amenities are amazing and this is such a friendly resort. The office staff as well as the grounds keeper were so personable and so helpful with all of my needs. The manager was as well and such a blessing.

The views are spectacular with the bayside offering dock access with a shaded sitting area for my father in which to watch the daily activies of the fish and the birds. The fish would have a gently dance as they would jump out the water. The birds and pelicans gave quite a daily show as well on both the bayside and the gulf side from the diving of the pelicans for each meal or the gentle gliding through the air as they jockey for position on the wooden pilings off the dock area. It was quite relaxing.

Inside the units I found every luxury of home from the design and open layout of the kitchen/living room area to the ample living area in each bedroom. The luxury of the units include the large step in shower in the master bath, and wow, the kitchen with the granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances were so nice.

The 4 bedroom unit which overlooks the bay was such a blessing and so relaxing. Each morning we would sit in the breakfast area and overlook the "dancing" fish. and the swooning birds. There were every kind to see, from the cranes to the pelicans to the large water craft even to the small kayaks and fishing boats. There was a show at every turn.

I absolutely loved it, every aspect of this resort and it's prime location. If you ever need a great place to stay, this is it! I would very much recommend it for the family or for the indivdual.

Enjoy and tell them Jackie referred you. You will love it as much as I did.

Sincerely,
Jackie Kirkwood

Room Tip: Get up early to enjoy every day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

I had to come back again to rave over this place, even though I don't usually do multiple reviews of establishments. I think these people know exactly what it means to need a vacation, and not one in a sterile environment with no attention to livability. It feels like home here. We come once a year if possible, but had to skip last year. This year's visit was just as fantastic as the rest. I appreciate the quiet environment more than anything, and yet this is not a resort that's isolated from the world. If you want to get away to a really gorgeous destination and still feel connected to society, Little Gull is my top recommendation. From the booking process, to checking in (they STILL have the most friendly office staff I've ever encountered) to your stay, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fla
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

My family and I spent a week at Little Gull in June. We had a very nice time. The facilities are really nice and the beach is lovely. The BBQs work very well. The pool is clean and warm. Just be sure to bring some bug spray. I would recommend Little Gull to anyone interested in staying on Longboat Key. We’ve also stayed two doors down at The Beach Castle and although it’s nice, we prefer Little Gull.

We also love to dine around Longboat Key. We tried the Lazy Lobster, right across the street from Little Gull. We loved it! The food and service were great. There was also a 10% off coupon in the catholic church bulletin. The Lazy Lobster also has a great happy hour from 4-5:30pm with great drink specials and early bird dinners. We also tried the Island Time bar on Anna Maria and it was fun. There are nightly specials for $3 and also a good happy hour. We made it to the Crab and Fin on St Armand’s Circle for the 5:45 early bird. The Crab and Fin is always good with excellent service.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank babie22559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at Little Gull several times. Our family is absoultely in love with Little Gull and Long Boat Key. With two toddlers, the beach and pool access and privacy is perfect. The cottages are private, clean and nicely furnished.

We have stayed in unit 11 a few times which is right by the pool and play area. We stayed in Unit 1 and I have to say it is a fantasic beach experience. In both units we had a nice porch with a close BBQ grill near by. There is not much that can beat having coffee in the morning, listing to the beach while munching on toast.

All of the units have been renovated recently and they have wifi access. There are a few nice restaurants and shops nearby. St. Armand's circle is a quick drive away for some good icecream and shopping. And, the Mote Aquarium is a great place for the kids to visit.

The management and staff are extremely helpful and always greet you with a smile.
It really is a little bit of paradise....:)

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longboat Key hotels
6.8 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
1.6 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.2 mi away
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
#2 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
#4 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Inn
Sandpiper Inn
#3 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sea Club 1
Sea Club 1
#5 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Gull Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gull Cottages

Property: Little Gull Cottages
Address: 5330 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2010
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little Gull Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod style cottages elegantly border a red brick road that runs from the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to Sarasota Bay. Little Gull offers fully furnished, luxury one, two, three and four bedroom cottages with four poster beds and wood burning fireplaces. Each cottage has a fully equipped kitchen, two cable televisions, linens, central heat and air, private phones, with laundry facilities either in your cottage or free on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Little Gull Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Gull Cottages Hotel Longboat Key
Little Gull Cottages Longboat Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing