We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Gull Cottages
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I exchanged our timeshare for a two bedroom unit at Little Gull. We flew in to
Tampa and the resort was an easy drive from the airport.
The unit was very nicely decorated and each couple had bed and bath. The resort is small and the office workers were very accommodating.
We were across the main road of Longboat Key from the ocean but the walk was very easy and brief. The beach was nice. We were there in October so there were no crowds.
We walked to a strip mall and had breakfast twice and dinner once at different restaurants in the mall. We were close to grocery store but did need a car to get there.
For a relaxing time in a great unit, Little Gull Cottages is a good bet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PandPIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
41
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We were lucky to get an exchange through Interval International. We arrived early (check in is at 4). Scott was fantastic and told us to feel free to walk around the resort while they made sure the rooms were ready.

We went out on the fishing dock and watched the fish swim by (even saw a 3 foot snook cruising by the dock). We walked across Gulf of Mexico Drive to the beach and were amazed by the grounds. The landscaping is wonderful, lush, and completely blocks out the traffic noise from the road. Every cottage has either a veranda or a yard. The walk through the cottages and trees is beautiful.

We were on the bay side, cottage 12. It is very well appointed and comfortable. The kitchen has all the necessary utensils for cooking and food preparation. The master bedroom opens out on the veranda. The second bedroom is very quite and roomy. The beds were firm and supportive and the bedding was very nice. The bathrooms were recently renovated and were appointed very nicely. The living room was very nice and opened out on the veranda also.

There was a fire place for the cool evenings and TV's in every room. The veranda overlooks the heated pool and the guest laundry is on the opposite end of the pool.

Room Tip: Cottage 12 and 13 require going up 2 flights of stairs. Some of the cottages are at ground level bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MangoRita80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed a week here and it was most relaxing and very well kept. Beautiful beach area with seclusion and bbq grills. Very nice on the bay as well. And very very quiet. One of the best values and properties on the key. Highly recommend this place. Staff is excellent and most accommodating.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PicassoPaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We own at Little Gull and most often use our week in October. Its great to meet people who come and rent available units, they come back again and again. The beach is quiet private and clean. Longboat Key is not commercial, very quiet, with beautiful views, great places to eat and a great way to get away from the hustle and bustle. The value to rent is really great. We own ,but went to some other resorts to look around what were also gulf side, stand alone units/houses, that seemed equivalent to Little Gull, but comparing the houses, furnishing, upkeep they clearly were not comparable and their prices for renting were much higher. Made me feel even better about owning at Little Gull. I have been going to Little Gull as a teen with my parents , and now take my family. Have been going there for 30+ years, never get tired of returning there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Narda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The resort is a great place to rest, relax and have some time on the beach. The facilities are above average but dated. Wifi is available but very slow. We enjoyed our stay and would like to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ldcochran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This was a very quiet and private cottage. The beach was within walking distance and it was private too. The room was very clean and equipped with everything you need just like home. The kids loved it too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmclean0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent a week at Little Gull over Memorial Day weekend, and even though the cottages were full it still felt very private and homey. Staying on the gulf side was great. We would go down to the beach in the morning. Head back to our cottage during the heat of the day. Then go back down in the evening to enjoy the birds and the breathtaking sunsets. The Publix grocery is just a few miles down the road. You can pick up your groceries and a Red Box movie for the DVD player in the cottage if it rains. Longboat Key is so pleasant and peaceful we rarely left the island. Little Gull is a great spot to do what you should do on vacation...relax!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
0.9 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#4 of 6 in Longboat Key
32 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
958 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Longboat Key
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
1,771 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
#4 of 20 in Longboat Key
222 reviews
3.2 mi away
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
#3 of 20 in Longboat Key
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Gull Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gull Cottages

Property: Little Gull Cottages
Address: 5330 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2010
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little Gull Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod style cottages elegantly border a red brick road that runs from the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to Sarasota Bay. Little Gull offers fully furnished, luxury one, two, three and four bedroom cottages with four poster beds and wood burning fireplaces. Each cottage has a fully equipped kitchen, two cable televisions, linens, central heat and air, private phones, with laundry facilities either in your cottage or free on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Little Gull Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Gull Cottages Hotel Longboat Key
Little Gull Cottages Longboat Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing