We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet restful place”
Review of Sandpiper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Sandpiper is a nice quiet restful place. a stones throw from the beach. Owners were away when we were here for first part of visit, the innkeepers who were there could not have been kinder. Very comfortable and easy for beach. The split air units are new and are a bit confusing and hard to regulate for comfort, but we finally figured them out. Very nice overall. As I said, quiet, very quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PicassoPaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed for 4 nights during Christmas week. The positives were a fully equipped kitchen, Very quiet high tech air condinioning units. quiet location, miles of beach to walk on, good beach loungers with pads, lovely landscaping, and a great restaurant ( Lazy Lobster ) within walking distance. The negatives were a bathroom that needed serious updating as there was no counter space ( a medicine cabinet would have helped.) The facility is NOT comprised of bungalows, but attached units like an old style motel. Bring your own paper towels and napkins as none are supplied. You might want to also bring your own toilet paper and tissues unless you are a fan of third world paper.

Room Tip: Two units directly face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank armyveteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for your stay, we are sorry you did not totally enjoy your experience at Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key.

Previous Trip Advisor posts from both new and our vast Global returning guests have wonderful comments about our "Significant Improvements" to this "1960's Old Florida", non smoking, pet & family friendly motel, directly on the Gulf of Mexico, which we saved from "extinction" in 2005.

10 of the 11 efficiency apartments have been renovated with new tile floors, kitchens, cabinets, king mattresses, flat screen TVs, sound proving walls, painting and best of all, energy efficient & extremely quiet air conditioners in the bedroom and living areas. ( the 11th unit will be completed by the end of the month, just in time for another visit from one of our long term, of over 20 years, friend/ guest ).

For the past 15 years, as Innkeepers, we have been totally & quietly committed to being "environmentally friendly" at all of our properties. This is why we have energy efficient air conditioners, washers & dryers, pool heaters and light bulbs. We recycle, provide cloth towels instead of paper, and use "Green by Design" facial and bath tissues (the same product I find when I stay at the Westin Hotel in Boston & New York City) .

We are glad you enjoyed our new & upgraded lounge chairs and were able to relax on one of the Best Beaches in North America!

Best Regards & Happy New Year
Christine Gorman Cullison
SANDPIPER INN LONGBOAT KEY, FLORIDA & SPRING LAKE, NJ
"Life is Always Better @ the BEACH"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Excellent location steps from the beach, a little bit of old Florida. Private bungalows are clean, cozy and provide everything one needs. Staff was friendly and attentive. I hope to make staying at the Sandpiper an annual trip.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Toocatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed 4 nights mid November. It was a good option for what we needed. Some previous reviews call Sandpiper Inn 'old Florida'. I would call it high 'kitch' in terms of decor. However the rooms and kitchenette are spotlessly clean and well appointed with all you need, especially if you want to prepare your own simple meals. Thankfully, on this occasion, first impressions were wrong. The owners where very friendly and very helpful, adding to the pleasant stay, but the front office is, to be honest, a mess, and with barking dogs, and the strong small of them (and I am a dog lover), I think that this is something that could be greatly improved. The location is great, being on the beach. I was surprised however by the huge amount of accommodation in Longboat and north. and I would therefore perhaps research a little bit more to see what my dollar could get me next time, as I am not convinced that there are not better options for the money. However, overall, we had a good stay, and enjoyed the accommodation and location - just would suggest there could well be other better value options to consider.

Room Tip: Not sure of the comparative cost, but the two rooms parallel to the beach had the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoaoLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for the kind words about Harold & I and how we have greatly enhanced the décor of the Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our vast improvements to this marvelous "OLD FLORIDA" pet & family friendly, garden property, directly on the Gulf of Mexico.
We have renovated 10 of the 11 rooms and are working on the last room as well as our living quarters & the office. In the effort to give our guests the best vacation experience, we choose to delay the renovation of our apartment. We hope to have the office separated from our living room by next summer so the doggies will be out of site, however, most guests like to interact with our friendly, Yorkies!
There are many options to stay on the west coast of Florida, but nothing can compare to the clean, quiet, tranquility of Longboat Key on one of the best beaches in North America! Of course, I am biased by having the Gulf waves, outstanding sunsets, and various wildlife on my backyard!!
We hope you will visit us again.
Best Regards,
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key Florida
Life Is Always Better @ The Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed here for four nights and wish it had been longer.
Location was perfect, on the beach with enough loungers for everyone.
Rooms lovely and clean, well appointed and beds were comfortable.
If you need to change your towels/sheets you just put them in a basket that is supplied and leave the basket on a bench near the washing machines next to the office, as long as this is done by midday you will get a basket back in the afternoon with clean towels/sheets.
Having a waterfall and beautiful gardens was a big bonus and added to the tranquil atmosphere.
It is a quiet Inn and we appreciated that, made our stay all the better.
There is a publix about four miles away where you can pick up any supplies needed.
There is no daily maid service, we did not mind this at all, but if this is a must for you whilst on holiday best go somewhere else.
There is a strict no smoking policy, which includes the Sandpiper stretch of the beach, but a couple of steps and you are no longer on this section.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine number 101 is next to the office, the rooms then run along in a terrace towards t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsHoliday55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We Love the Sandpiper Inn, the location and proprietor of the sandpiper are just wonderful...we look forward to our yearly trip here!!! Grounds are well kept and the beaches are beautiful...just like the title say's it is a Piece of Paradise...

Room Tip: Ocean Front is the Best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyjoMerryHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We've been coming to the Sandpiper Inn (formerly known as the Riviera Beach Resort) since 1999, and it gets better EACH year. Beautiful landscaping, steps from a virtually private beach, and comfortable and cozy units. Thank you, Chris & Harold (and Mary Lou & Richard), for two very special weeks. See you next year!

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place. The 100-numbered units look out at the gardens, while the two rooms nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
1.0 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
76 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
980 reviews
5.0 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 5 in Longboat Key
1,830 reviews
1.7 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 5 in Longboat Key
131 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Beach on Longboat Key
The Beach on Longboat Key
#13 of 21 in Longboat Key
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Address: 5451 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-1901
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range: £121 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all fully furnished with outside patios, all ground level, overlooking lush landscaping and/or our beach, fully equipped kitchens. Private beach furnished with loungers, tables, secluded and unspoiled with fantastic views. Restaurants within walking distance, shopping, theatre, arts, tennis courts, golf, biking all close by. Small dogs allowed. Previously known as Riviera Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Longboat Key
Sandpiper Motel Longboat Key
Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing