We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandpiper Inn
Nearby Hotels
Zota Beach Resort(Longboat Key)
US$345
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resort at Longboat Key Club(Longboat Key)
US$395
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$371
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Family Inn(Sarasota)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Knights Inn Sarasota(Sarasota)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outrigger Resort(Longboat Key)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siesta Inn(Sarasota)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
142
28
13
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
142
28
13
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold floridafree parking for guestsowners chrissmall poollovely tropical gardensshort or long staysingle storyshore birdsloungers and umbrellasminute strollprivate beach areakitchen areaone bedroom unitlounge chairsfully equipped kitchenfacing the oceanrooms are clean and comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Good Niche property for Quiet R & R , or Gulffront that offers 2-3 REAL sleeping Areas.
Individual Cooling Units & stocked Kitchenettes are a plus. NO Daily Maid service. Very Small plunge pool near front road entrance. Restaurants Nearby. the Circle @ Sarasota & Bradenton Beach are just a few miles away in opposite directions. Central Grill on Premises.

Room Tip: Their Website is decent with different rooms denoted by Room #'s & Rates ** Accurately** 2 BR feature worthy for Mult. Travellers.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBRSTRNTCRTQE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your stay. We hope you enjoyed yourself and got to relax at our completely upgraded "Old Florida" property directly on one of the best beaches in North America! We are completely upfront on our website our pool is small, we do not provide provide daily maid service in order to keep costs down. This is not a high end hotel, as I have mentioned in previous responses if you need maid service, room service or a restaurant please continue down the road to the Longboat Key Club or the Ritz in Sarasota. However, if you want a low key, pet friendly, clean, fully stocked kitchens and quite air conditioned rooms with new king mattresses,you have found our paradise on the Beach!!

Sunny Regards,
Life Is Always Better @ The Beach!!
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn
5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive
Longboat Key, Florida 34228

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a fine and simple place that offers a pleasant contrast to the surrounding large sterile condos with pretentious names. The Sandpiper's attraction is its simplicity: one checks in and relaxes. The beach, with its wonderful birds, is yards away. The kitchen offers everything necessary for meals, and a massive supermarket is four miles away. The place is clean, and there are plenty of towels. If like me you don't like AC, the fans keep the air moving. This is a perfect place in which to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your stay. We hope you enjoyed yourself and got to relax at our completely upgraded "Old Florida" property directly on one of the best beaches in North America! We are completely upfront on our website our pool is small, we do not provide provide daily maid service in order to keep costs down. This is not a high end hotel, as I have mentioned in previous responses if you need maid service, room service or a restaurant please continue down the road to the Longboat Key Club or the Ritz in Sarasota. However, if you want a low key, pet friendly, clean, fully stocked kitchens and quite air conditioned rooms with new king mattresses,you have found our paradise on the Beach!!

Sunny Regards,
Life Is Always Better @ The Beach!!
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn
5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive
Longboat Key, Florida 34228

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just spent a wonderful two weeks here. We stayed in unit 108 on this visit which was our second and we look forward to many more holidays here. The setting is superb, right on a lovely beach. It's quiet and relaxing and you can just unwind and enjoy the views. I have to say that I think some of the negative comments are downright nasty and I totally disagree with them. The units are a good size, you have everything you need and they are very clean. Towels are changed as you require, beach towels are provided, other little things are provided too which you don't always get such as washing up and dishwasher liquid. Harold and Chris have done a great job here, we have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy_hall_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your stay, we are glad you enjoyed your visit. Harold & I truly appreciate your support of this wonderful "old Florida property". Again we would like to apologize for any inconvenience when replacing the mattresses lasts week. The delivery guys from Macy's were outstanding and kept the inconvenience to the absolute minimum on a fantastic beach day. We hope you had safe travels and we will see you soon.
Sunny regards,
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key Florida
"Life is always better@ the beach"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is our second stay at Sandpiper Inn and couldn't be happier. I will review both stays one back in March 2014 and May 2014. Our first stay was in the studio unit 100 it was nicely remolded queen bed which was good but bed might be a bit soft for those with back issues. The room has a small kitchen no stove just a microwave, toaster oven and fridge. The bathroom is spacious with a shower. We liked the room for it had all we needed but the noises were a bit much. The bed is next to sliding door which needs to be replaced since its old and its somewhat loose so noises sip through it. Also one can hear road noise and other guest outside talking. Our second stay was in unit 107 also nicely remolded had full kitchen and a separate bedroom with a king bed which was ok comfort wise. Both units were clean and tidy. No noises this time since it has the separate room which sits toward back of unit. The only thing was the sheets were stained so we addressed owners and got us some other sheets and bathroom fan did not work so it got very steamy had to open bathroom window but it gets hot if its hot outside no a/c in bathroom. The beach is only a few yards away which is so nice and relaxing. The grounds are nicely kept. Owners Chris and Harold are very hospitable and try to accommodate your needs. There are some restaurants close by or one can bring your own groceries/food and cook in unit. Overall our experience has been a good one only some minor things but definitely recommend the Sandpiper Inn and will be back.

Room Tip: Units with One bedroom are quieter than the studio 100.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your stays we do appreciate your business and your continued stays at the Sandpiper Inn. We have renovated this wonderful "old Florida property directly on the beach in Longboat Key Florida. But although we are completely upfront on our website we need to clarify a few items. First, we have a very small pool, it is basically a hot tub with chlorine . Next we do not do daily maid service, we will swap out towels, linens , (unfortunately we as well as our fantastic
cleaner missed a small stain on a bottom sheet which we replaced right away) & beach towels, but we will not make your bed or sweep. We upgraded the mattresses, the tile floors, all the appliances & kitchens and air conditioners , but only a few of the baths tubs were upgraded & they are not air conditioned , we did notice after your post that the new fan in the bath was was running slow so we replaced it.
The sliding glass doors have been here since the '60s and will probably out live us! If air conditioned baths, Hugh vanities , maid & room service are important to you we suggest you travel a few miles south to the Longboat Key Club or the Ritz in Sarasota and pay the" Big bucks "for those services.
If you are looking for a pet friendly, low key, "old Florida , one story building directly on the Gulf of Mexico you have discovered our paradise !!
Life is Always Better At The Beach
Best Regards,
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn l
Longboat Key Florida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The gardens and beach setups were very nice. The rooms were remodeled nicely. However room 103 smelled very strongly of mildew. There were no other rooms available. I am allergic to mold. We would have left if we had not prepaid.

Room Tip: Don't take room 103.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajansenscr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for your stay, we are sorry you did not totally enjoy your experience at Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key.

Room 103 is a favorite of many of our long-term guests who come every March, and have booked already for March 2015! This is the first mention of a "mildew" odor since we completed the major renovations. Perhaps the damp weather we have had this season contributed to your sensitivity.

We would like to clarify that upon checking in, once you mentioned this condition to Harold,( the owner on site), he was willing to cancel your reservation with Expedia at no cancellation charge. Since we were full, you could have left and received a full refund.
Harold assumed that you were enjoying your stay on our beautiful beach, since you never mentioned the strong smell again even at checkout.

Best Regards,
Christine Gorman Cullison
Innkeeper/Owner Sandpiper Inn
Longboat Key, Florida
"Life is Always Better @ the Beach"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews