We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Quaint and Private ”
Review of Sandpiper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We got here early and enjoyed the georgous quiet Beach. The grounds were so beautifully landscaped. Loved the tiny pool. Its just enough and very clean. Parking lot a bit tiny but they told us ahead of time. The room was so quaint and just perfect enough for the amount of time we stayed. Loved the loungers with the cushions we could drag to the beach. Lots of showers outside to cool and rinse off with. Loved the fountain and the little ceramic signage covering the grounds. The huge beds are comfy and inviting. The fully stocked kitchen really made it a pleasure to keep it nice. Loved the TV and AC was a blessing and very quiet too. The only thing is the showers did not have hot water and I would have also liked a small TV in the bedroom. Definetly definitely definitely coming back . The manager owner Harold was quite resourceful to and pleasant. Oh loved that small pets are welcomed too


Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Sandpiper Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very nice small inn on the beachfront. It's more like a condo than an Inn. Rooms and premises are very pretty. Quiet and relaxing - no problems and owner on premises... Good restuarants nearby and Publix not far away. We stayed 5 nights and everything was very nice!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron_Lars_OFallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This was our 5th visit but the 1st with our kids, we stayed in 102, and they love the Sandpiper as much as we do. We love the no smoking anywhere policy and the beautiful landscaping. Always clean, quiet and relaxing! We look forward to our visit in August for our anniversary.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Good Niche property for Quiet R & R , or Gulffront that offers 2-3 REAL sleeping Areas.
Individual Cooling Units & stocked Kitchenettes are a plus. NO Daily Maid service. Very Small plunge pool near front road entrance. Restaurants Nearby. the Circle @ Sarasota & Bradenton Beach are just a few miles away in opposite directions. Central Grill on Premises.

Room Tip: Their Website is decent with different rooms denoted by Room #'s & Rates ** Accurately** 2...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBRSTRNTCRTQE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your stay. We hope you enjoyed yourself and got to relax at our completely upgraded "Old Florida" property directly on one of the best beaches in North America! We are completely upfront on our website our pool is small, we do not provide provide daily maid service in order to keep costs down. This is not a high end hotel, as I have mentioned in previous responses if you need maid service, room service or a restaurant please continue down the road to the Longboat Key Club or the Ritz in Sarasota. However, if you want a low key, pet friendly, clean, fully stocked kitchens and quite air conditioned rooms with new king mattresses,you have found our paradise on the Beach!!

Sunny Regards,
Life Is Always Better @ The Beach!!
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn
5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive
Longboat Key, Florida 34228

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a fine and simple place that offers a pleasant contrast to the surrounding large sterile condos with pretentious names. The Sandpiper's attraction is its simplicity: one checks in and relaxes. The beach, with its wonderful birds, is yards away. The kitchen offers everything necessary for meals, and a massive supermarket is four miles away. The place is clean, and there are plenty of towels. If like me you don't like AC, the fans keep the air moving. This is a perfect place in which to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your stay. We hope you enjoyed yourself and got to relax at our completely upgraded "Old Florida" property directly on one of the best beaches in North America! We are completely upfront on our website our pool is small, we do not provide provide daily maid service in order to keep costs down. This is not a high end hotel, as I have mentioned in previous responses if you need maid service, room service or a restaurant please continue down the road to the Longboat Key Club or the Ritz in Sarasota. However, if you want a low key, pet friendly, clean, fully stocked kitchens and quite air conditioned rooms with new king mattresses,you have found our paradise on the Beach!!

Sunny Regards,
Life Is Always Better @ The Beach!!
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn
5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive
Longboat Key, Florida 34228

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just spent a wonderful two weeks here. We stayed in unit 108 on this visit which was our second and we look forward to many more holidays here. The setting is superb, right on a lovely beach. It's quiet and relaxing and you can just unwind and enjoy the views. I have to say that I think some of the negative comments are downright nasty and I totally disagree with them. The units are a good size, you have everything you need and they are very clean. Towels are changed as you require, beach towels are provided, other little things are provided too which you don't always get such as washing up and dishwasher liquid. Harold and Chris have done a great job here, we have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy_hall_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your stay, we are glad you enjoyed your visit. Harold & I truly appreciate your support of this wonderful "old Florida property". Again we would like to apologize for any inconvenience when replacing the mattresses lasts week. The delivery guys from Macy's were outstanding and kept the inconvenience to the absolute minimum on a fantastic beach day. We hope you had safe travels and we will see you soon.
Sunny regards,
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key Florida
"Life is always better@ the beach"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is our second stay at Sandpiper Inn and couldn't be happier. I will review both stays one back in March 2014 and May 2014. Our first stay was in the studio unit 100 it was nicely remolded queen bed which was good but bed might be a bit soft for those with back issues. The room has a small kitchen no stove just a microwave, toaster oven and fridge. The bathroom is spacious with a shower. We liked the room for it had all we needed but the noises were a bit much. The bed is next to sliding door which needs to be replaced since its old and its somewhat loose so noises sip through it. Also one can hear road noise and other guest outside talking. Our second stay was in unit 107 also nicely remolded had full kitchen and a separate bedroom with a king bed which was ok comfort wise. Both units were clean and tidy. No noises this time since it has the separate room which sits toward back of unit. The only thing was the sheets were stained so we addressed owners and got us some other sheets and bathroom fan did not work so it got very steamy had to open bathroom window but it gets hot if its hot outside no a/c in bathroom. The beach is only a few yards away which is so nice and relaxing. The grounds are nicely kept. Owners Chris and Harold are very hospitable and try to accommodate your needs. There are some restaurants close by or one can bring your own groceries/food and cook in unit. Overall our experience has been a good one only some minor things but definitely recommend the Sandpiper Inn and will be back.

Room Tip: Units with One bedroom are quieter than the studio 100.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your stays we do appreciate your business and your continued stays at the Sandpiper Inn. We have renovated this wonderful "old Florida property directly on the beach in Longboat Key Florida. But although we are completely upfront on our website we need to clarify a few items. First, we have a very small pool, it is basically a hot tub with chlorine . Next we do not do daily maid service, we will swap out towels, linens , (unfortunately we as well as our fantastic
cleaner missed a small stain on a bottom sheet which we replaced right away) & beach towels, but we will not make your bed or sweep. We upgraded the mattresses, the tile floors, all the appliances & kitchens and air conditioners , but only a few of the baths tubs were upgraded & they are not air conditioned , we did notice after your post that the new fan in the bath was was running slow so we replaced it.
The sliding glass doors have been here since the '60s and will probably out live us! If air conditioned baths, Hugh vanities , maid & room service are important to you we suggest you travel a few miles south to the Longboat Key Club or the Ritz in Sarasota and pay the" Big bucks "for those services.
If you are looking for a pet friendly, low key, "old Florida , one story building directly on the Gulf of Mexico you have discovered our paradise !!
Life is Always Better At The Beach
Best Regards,
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn l
Longboat Key Florida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
1.0 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
45 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
966 reviews
5.0 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,512 reviews
6.9 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 5 in Longboat Key
1,792 reviews
1.7 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 5 in Longboat Key
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Address: 5451 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-1901
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range: £118 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all fully furnished with outside patios, all ground level, overlooking lush landscaping and/or our beach, fully equipped kitchens. Private beach furnished with loungers, tables, secluded and unspoiled with fantastic views. Restaurants within walking distance, shopping, theatre, arts, tennis courts, golf, biking all close by. Small dogs allowed. Previously known as Riviera Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Longboat Key
Sandpiper Motel Longboat Key
Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing