We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What We Wanted”
Review of Sandpiper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We recently returned from a 4 night , 30th anniversary stay at The Sandpiper Inn. Our unit was recently renovated---the bed, the kitchen cabinets, the flooring, all appeared new, and was very comfortable and clean . The a/c unit was exceptionally quiet, and kept the rooms really cool. The beach was about 200 feet from our room, and there were plenty of lounge chairs for our use. The entire property was quiet. There is a new Publix and CVS about 4 miles away, so stocking up on any groceries was a breeze. The kitchen came well equipped. My only negative point was that the living room furniture was quite outdated, but I imagine that will be changed in time. We are already looking foward to spending more time here.

Room Tip: There are only 11 rooms, so any are good, but the end rooms are a bit closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank LynneOcala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I were looking for another quick getaway location close to home in Tampa and his work in Sarasota where we can escape once and awhile!! The Sandpiper Inn on Longboat Key was just the thing!! The room are beautifully appointed with everything one could need for a short or long stay. The beach is gorgeous and QUIET!! The location is perfect for shopping and wonderful close by restaurants within walking distance. They also have a little heated pool and lovely garden atmosphere. The innkeepers were very nice and helpful. Just a great choice!!

Room Tip: The rooms directly on the gulf were beautiful and had a great view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank junglefun123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We just returned from a three night stay at the Sandpiper Inn on Longboat Key. This was a wonderful location walking distance to three different restaurants. Only about 10 or so rooms here so it is very quiet and right on a beautiful beach. We would definitely stay here again. Reasonably priced for the area, understand that Longboat Key is not inexpensive, but it is very quite and beautiful and worth a little more for a "laid back" island visit. We had a room with a full kitchen, living area and a king bedroom. Everything was well appointed and we were very comfortable, even had a big screen TV if you happened to want to watch. Nice individual patios where you can sit and enjoy your morning coffee or an evening glass of wine. Beautiful beach with plenty of beach chairs, also a very small fresh water pool if you just wanted to cool off. I would recommend this Inn to anyone wanting a quiet place to get away.

Room Tip: I liked room 108 it was on the end close to the beach, but there are two rooms that actually face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jimmielea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I recently stayed 2 nights here to celebrate our 20th anniversary. W stayed in room 201 facing the ocean and loved it. Everything about the place made you feel at home. We also loved the fact that there was no smoking anywhere in the rooms or on the hotel grounds. If you're looking for a quiet, peaceful, and relaxing escape from reality I highly advise staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ladle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Love this place. Right on the beach. Lush landscaping. Yes it has a very small pool....but we came for the beach. Nice & clean. We rented a 1 bedroom and it was perfect. Will bring the kids next time. Close to restaurants too.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Loved our stay here. There was plenty of hot water in the shower. I was mistaken previously when I reviewed there was no hot water. The management was so pleasant. Very knowledgeable to be of service to attending to our needs. Thanks so much.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your stay. Harold & I are glad you got to relax at our awesome beach property in Longboat Key. We will continue the renovations to the rooms in September ( the less busy season) by adding flat screen HD TVs with Direct TV in the bedrooms. Hopefully we can also finish the restoration of the lobby so folks can have a little more room when they check in.
We hope to have you back soon.
Sunny Regards,
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn
Longboat Key Florida
Life is always better @ the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We got here early and enjoyed the georgous quiet Beach. The grounds were so beautifully landscaped. Loved the tiny pool. Its just enough and very clean. Parking lot a bit tiny but they told us ahead of time. The room was so quaint and just perfect enough for the amount of time we stayed. Loved the loungers with the cushions we could drag to the beach. Lots of showers outside to cool and rinse off with. Loved the fountain and the little ceramic signage covering the grounds. The huge beds are comfy and inviting. The fully stocked kitchen really made it a pleasure to keep it nice. Loved the TV and AC was a blessing and very quiet too. The only thing is the showers did not have hot water and I would have also liked a small TV in the bedroom. Definetly definitely definitely coming back . The manager owner Harold was quite resourceful to and pleasant. Oh loved that small pets are welcomed too


Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
1 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
111 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#1 of 15 in Holmes Beach
990 reviews
5.7 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#9 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
728 reviews
6.9 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 5 in Longboat Key
1,862 reviews
1.7 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 5 in Longboat Key
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Address: 5451 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-1901
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range: £107 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all fully furnished with outside patios, all ground level, overlooking lush landscaping and/or our beach, fully equipped kitchens. Private beach furnished with loungers, tables, secluded and unspoiled with fantastic views. Restaurants within walking distance, shopping, theatre, arts, tennis courts, golf, biking all close by. Small dogs allowed. Previously known as Riviera Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Longboat Key
Sandpiper Motel Longboat Key
Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing