We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a longtime favorite..”

Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, View
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy a delicious fresh Florida seafood meal inside the quaint dining room, on the outdoor covered deck or under the ancient Buttonwood Trees overlooking picturesque Sarasota Bay. Farm to fork, gulf to table and pasture to plate. It's waterfront dining with a unique atmosphere. Leave a dollar bill on the wall and a little bit of your heart to find on your return visit. Voted #1 place to Dock and Dine with our own private 14 slip dock. There is no place quite like the Mar Vista for real Florida dining.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
170 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“a longtime favorite..”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you like casual dining either inside or outside under a canopy of trees , you will feel comfortable here. The inside is very casual and shows its age... we've been going for years... old wooden furniture and walls covered with signed dollar bills which are regularly taken down and donated to charity. A nice water view and docks for those arriving by boat . FRESH seafood -- but also salads , hamburgers and chicken....

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank OMALILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    345
    132
    56
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rum Runners at The Mar Vista”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

What I said back in June 2013. Squared.

p.s. the Old Bay shrimp boil is incomparable. After a hard morning boating they go down swell with the double R's. Oh yeah. Jamie and Curtis, masters of your bar experience, are still here keeping it real. Cheers.

Helpful?
Thank lbkwanderer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beware The Flies”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second time at the restaurant; last time was 3 years ago. Both times sitting outside with great ambience(lighted trees, views of the bay). However, we had unexpected diners at our table ... Flies! Unfortunately our waiter did not forewarn us not to order shellfish if sitting outside. One of us had ordered peel and eat shrimp, which attracted the flies. After calling over the waiter he informed us that they were spraying to no avail and that we should have put spent shells on a plate away from where we were eating. Would have been nice to know that before ordering or at least when he brought the shrimp. Food is good and so are the drinks. Too bad about the flies. Hope they can solve the problem. I don't know if the issue is seasonal. We were there July 3. If you want shellfish, eat indoors!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank longhornfanMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sadly disappointed”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We always used to enjoy Mar Vista but after our last visit, we will not return. We waited an hour for our table. Seated and no one spoke to us for over 10 minutes. Our waiter was beyond incompetent. Did not know you were out of potatoes until I reminded him! (Hostess had mentioned). Never refilled drinks. Others brought food out. Left one small load of bread for a table of 8. Our food finally came out and was tasteless and borderline disgusting. I saw no one to complain to and he never came back. Our sides were forgotten and when mine came out it was a repulsive microwaved version of potato medley. Dried up hard microwaved potatoes when I was promised a variety of potatoes in garlic butter with onions. Yeah NOT. My husband ordered a hamburger. Got a burger on a plate with a handful of fries. No lettuce, tomatoe. Pickle, onion... NOTHING. He asked for mustard but never got it. We paid big bucks for a repulsive meal and worse service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Limomomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had dinner here with a party of 10. They sat us pretty fast. Haven't been here in years. The outside dinning is beautiful with the mangroves and boat dock. The food is average with very steep prices. They do have a variety of options. The cocktails are VERY expensive, 8-12 dollars and have a very weak taste of alcohol. Don't mind paying the price if you can taste that they actually put something in it. Our server was great, especially for a large party.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigmomma61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing