We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the outdoor seating”

Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Enjoy a delicious fresh Florida seafood meal inside the quaint dining room, on the outdoor covered deck or under the ancient Buttonwood Trees overlooking picturesque Sarasota Bay. Farm to fork, gulf to table and pasture to plate. It's waterfront dining with a unique atmosphere. Leave a dollar bill on the wall and a little bit of your heart to find on your return visit. Voted #1 place to Dock and Dine with our own private 14 slip dock. There is no place quite like the Mar Vista for real Florida dining.
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the outdoor seating”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I had an early dinner and decided on Mar Vista based on the reviews. We sat outside in the garden area under the tree with lights strung through it - it was lovely and at 6pm there was no wait. I didn't see anywhere inside the restaurant that I would have wanted to sit; it was dark and had a bit of a strange odor. I ordered the sauteed Gulf grouper which was a 6oz piece of fish plus two sides (red quinoa with sliced brussel sprouts and farro with cranberries, apricots and almonds. The sides were mediocre and served in small bowls. The grouper was good but not anything special; at $24.99 the meal was over-priced. My husband had the poki bowl and loved it. The white wine sangria was half-priced for July and the best value by far..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noeller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    352
    139
    59
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So good we came back twice in one week”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The restaurants has a great ambiance. It's quiet and located right on the beach (facing Sarasota). There is indoor seating, some covered outdoor seating and them some really nice seating around a garden that's right on the water, complete with christmas lights in the trees. The menu is a very class "florida" menu - tons of great fish/seafood options. The portions were generous (I'm canadian, so many American restaurants feel like large portion sizes) and the prices were very reasonable given the portion size and more importantly, the quality of the food. Service was great. Even though the restaurant is busy, we were made to feel very welcome and were handled with professionalism and kindness. It's casual enough that we didn't feel awkward bringing our 4 month old baby in her stroller into the restaurant. We will certainly be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbug4224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mar Vista Dockside Longkey, FL”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This place was out of the way from the hotel, but well worth the 15 mile drive. The parking lot may scare some away, but park in the dirt lot in front and wait to be amazed. The servers are amazing, their knowledge of the menu items was incredible, the speed of getting the food once ordered was very fast and the quality of the food was amazing. With all that said, even the cost was reasonable, especially for the amount and quality of the food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LawrenceC501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not as good as always...”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We absolutely love Mar Vista, but our last trip was mediocre. Our server was excellent (Jason) and very prompt, but the food was just ok. My husband and I always start with the Bud and Old Bay shrimp and split the Red Crab pot. The shrimp tasted good, but they were over cooked - the shells were stuck to the meat and a bit harder to remove than normal. The crab pot was alright too - the quality of the legs just wasn't as good as normal. We've been to Mar Vista many times over the last few years as this is one of our favorite places to dine for birthdays and anniversaries. I think we may have been in the in between shift time on our last visit. The tator tots and fish spread are DELISH, as are many of the special items. I'm not giving up on Mar Vista yet, but I hope next time is a bit better. Birthdays are in October, so we'll be back then! The view is absolutely amazing and we love sitting outside. Seems they have a method to help keep the flies away too - pennies in a bag of water suspended over each table...confuse those flies!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Longboat key hidden gem”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I would recommend this restaurant for any seafood lover! Great atmosphere, awesome service (ask for Jayme). Best grouper I've ever had! Five stars all around.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing