We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect, BUT ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sand Cay Condominiums Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Had to address these last two reviews. We have been staying at the Sand Cay at least yearly since 2000, are well travelled and have stayed at many upscale resorts. While calling this a "resort" might be a stretch, for the most part this is a well run, clean, accommodating establishment. I, too, dislike the walkway maze but this property was built in the 60s or 70s and coming up with an alternative walkway would be extremely cost prohibitive at this point. We are most concerned with the comfort WITHIN our unit and on the beach. The vast majority of the units in the complex have been updated to above average standards, some are downright beautiful, and a few still need updating ... but it is pretty easy to see which ones by the extensive photos of each unit. Take some time to check! Bathrooms are small, but again, built in the 60s/70s. The rest of the unit is sizable, comfortable, well appointed and should you be missing or needing anything, the office is usually responsive and accommodating. The beach is well kept, there is now an abundance of chairs, most units have beach toys and rafts for your use, and are equipped as the second family homes that they are -- most have everything you need to be comfortable. And yes, you do have to wash your own (used) towels and bedding, but having FREE laundry facilities on premise is a huge plus to me. In addition, most first floor units have washers/dryers in the unit. If you are looking for a five star luxury resort, this will not fit the bill. If you are looking for a clean, laid back, comfortable "resort" that will give you great memories, you will love the Sand Cay. We have seen the same families return year after year (we all come out every night at sunset!) ... with good reason!

Room Tip: First floor walkouts, most have washer and dryer. Third floor units have cathedral ceilings and bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

I have been going to Sand Cay Beach resort since 1978 and it has been a family favorite for the past 36 years. When my children are asked about their favorite vacation memory, they will all say Sand Cay. We have only missed four visits in 36 years and my family is having a reunion there this Spring Break. The condos are great, accessible, comfortable and clean. The beach is beautiful and you can walk for miles! Many of the first floor units have washing machines. The staff throws a great Easter Egg hunt for the kids at Easter. Our favorite is the beach side grill - No need to deal with lines and crowds, and a great social setting at the "grill". Horseshoes at sunset is a tradition, weekly bike rental lets us get everywhere, and The Salty Dog for lunch is a must do! Love it and can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I met my sister and my 96 year old Mom here four days last April. Longboat is to die for. This place had a great rate for in season. It had everything we needed. Was clean and beautiful. You don not need to interact with staff. It was just like home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank travelover183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Upon arrival at this "resort" I immediately cancelled the reservation. Interior courtyard views on the website don"t show the maze of metal steps and walkways around the entire perimeter of the building required to reach the units. Stairs required to reach elevator make it difficult for seniors or anyone with limited mobility. No linen or towel service, you must launder towels and personal items in a common laundry room at the end of the building...like a city apartment building. The unit while technically clean, was dreary and in need of updating. This is hardly the resort experience anticipated. They have refused to refund any part of my 2-week rental charge even thougn I never occupied the unit. I have retained an attorney to sue these nasty, uncooperative people. Not cheap, either. With all the add-ins and cleaning fees my rate was over $254 per night. If you are looking for a great resort vacation, look elsewhere!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ted T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortGM2, General Manager at Sand Cay Condominiums Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Hello Mr. Torcivia,
We were eager to resolve your concerns but were not given a chance to do so. You arrived late at night which did not give you a chance to view the beautiful grounds and the award winning beach. We wish things could have went better for you and are sad it has resulted in this review you have given us. We hope someday in the future you will visit us again with much better results for you and your family.
Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had to cancel our reservation due to a medical problem and I asked for a written confirmation that our deposit minus the $100 cancel fee was refunded. After emails went unanswered I called and left a message. I did receive a phone message back saying this was refunded (minus the fee), but I asked to have it in writing and never received it.
I realize that there is a $100 cancellation fee but with over a month in advance notice you would think they could rebook the room and refund that fee -- medical problems do occur. I will never book with them in the future.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Foodfan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The location in the middle of LBK makes this resort stand out. Right on the beach with easy access by car to the better restaurants. Also you have a state of the art Publix 10 minutes away. All units have two bedrooms and bathrooms with a variety of views. They are individually privately owned so decor can vary a lot. Some research is needed before booking. The web site is good and you can see what you are paying for. The staff are welcoming and helpfull.
This is our third stay for a month at the resort and will probably return. If it's relaxation by the Gulf of Mexico you are looking for, check this one out.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was second trip to Longboat Key. Truly believe we will retire here someday. Stayed in unit 203. A few updates. Nice unit. Clean. Only negative, mattresses were very hard. Great views of water. Love this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Churchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
0.1 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
72 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
980 reviews
6.0 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 5 in Longboat Key
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sandpiper Inn
Sandpiper Inn
#3 of 5 in Longboat Key
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
#6 of 21 in Longboat Key
227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 5 in Longboat Key
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Cay Condominiums Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Cay Condominiums Beach Resort

Address: 4725 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2129
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range: £180 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sand Cay Condominiums Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Cay Beach Hotel Longboat Key
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Condominiums Beach Resort Longboat Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing