We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cottages”
Review of Arbors by the Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arbors by the Sea
Reviewed 12 September 2011

These cottages were built in 1948, but were remodeled as recently as 2 years ago, according to the manager. I believe it as the kitchen was all new, granite counter-tops, new appliances, etc. We didn't use it much but everything you needed was there. Bathroom was kind of small but adequate. Bed was nice queen size, tons of pillows and comfy. A/C worked great in the middle of August, that's saying something. 2 HD tvs in a 1 bedroom unit and a DVD player too.

Managers are not on site, so no daily room service, but we were left plenty to get us thru 4 nites. Each cottage has its own patio with gas grille. This place had all sorts of beach gear - boogie boards, a small surfboard, noodles, rafts, and probably a lot more we didn't bother looking for. All free for the using. Great lawn chairs to use on the beach and plenty for all.

Longboat Key is very residential with little commercial stores and those are set back. Beaches are pretty empty and great. Great restaurants just across the street (see other reviews).

A great find for us and we will be going back. Loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank remnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at Arbors by the Sea this July. It is located on Longboat Key, a very quiet, low key area. We went with another family and stayed in two of the cottages. The cottages are very quaint and decorated in the coastal living style. It is perfect for this spot on the beach. The cottages are well-equipped and the location is ideal. They are right on the beach.
The beach itself is so beautiful, quiet and relaxing. There are umbrellas and lounge chairs provided for you. There is no need to bring anything as you only steps from your cottage if you need to get a cold drink or snacks.
Free luandry facilities are provided which is great so you can travel light or if you are travelling with children.
It is the perfect vacation spot if you want to relax and we intend to return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adisneyrental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We had a wonderful mini vacation at the Arbors. The Old World Charm the cottages provide makes this the perfect destination spot. you just don't find cottages like this anymore. The management team, George and Barbara were just wonderful. We mentioned a maintenance concern when they were here and it was fixed within minutes. They were very friendly and hospitable. The short wall to the beautiful, pristine beach made this place feel like paradise. Definitely a must see for a girls weekend, romantic getaway or family vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nulie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This was such a lovely weekend! Stayed in the ivy, clean! Beautiful beach! Not at all crowded. Across from euphemia haye restaurant, best pepper steak ever! The detail to the room perfect. Love the outside fireplace, the owner was sweet and let us check in early!looking forward to returning soon

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 3816leona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

I've spent the past 4 years visiting Anna Maria Island in late November and I've always thought it was the most beautiful beach on this side of Florida. This year, for Valentine’s Day weekend, my girlfriend and I stayed at the “Iris cottage” at Arbors by the Sea in Longboat Key. It was beautiful; the cottage had a wonderful cozy feeling, a huge king size bed, granite countertops and even FIOS ultra high speed Internet! Being in this particular setting has changed my mind about where to go for rest and relaxation. The beach access was fantastic; I walked literally a few footsteps past the private hammocks and I had my own private beachfront. I didn’t need to haul a bunch of chairs down to the beach like I’ve always been accustomed to - everything you could possibly need was provided. The one thing I didn’t take advantage of was the private grilling areas outside each cottage because there were also so many great restaurants nearby. It’s the ideal vacation place for us!

Room Tip: Every option is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shamisworldfamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

There were 3 of us, best girlfriends, looking for a relaxing weekend. We found it! Granted there's no room service, but big deal. We stayed in the Rose cottage. It was perfect. Clean, fresh and well appointed. The flat screen TV's were unexpected and much appreciated! I learned later that all of the cottages have been recently renovated and updated and it showed. The water pressure was fantastic!! Close to everything. Walking distance to 2 restaurants and a short drive to Publix and CVS. The beach was wonderful and they provide plenty of chairs for sunning. The hammocks were wonderful as well. The only thng missing was a swimming pool! They even prvide a gas grill for grilling your own meals. This would be a great place for a family or a cuple or a group like us. Very nice. Would definately reccommend and would stay here again. Thank You!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chaunceysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

My husband & I stayed in the Ivy Cottage for two weeks late August/early September. We fell in love with it's quaintness; old charm quality and cleanliness !! The hosts George & Barbara are amazing and assist you at the drop of a hat. George gave us a tour of a few other cottages that were empty and they are adorable too. There is a lovely garden area w/deck & firepit; hammocks; lots of lounge chairs for the beach. The beach at LBK is amazing; loved just laying on the lounge chair waiting for the dolphins to swim by - which they usually did. Very nice restaurants w/in walking distance across the street; one for breakfast & one for dinner. Modern laundry facilities are on site and they even supply the soap & fabric softner; which astonished me. Try Arbors by the Sea; you won't be disappointed. I know we'll be back !!. Many thanks to George & Barbara for their assistance during our stay. Doug & Vicki McConnell

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vixstress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longboat Key hotels
1 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Gull Cottages
Little Gull Cottages
#1 of 21 in Longboat Key
121 reviews
6.9 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 5 in Longboat Key
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Beach on Longboat Key
The Beach on Longboat Key
#15 of 21 in Longboat Key
83 reviews
1.7 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 5 in Longboat Key
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
#12 of 21 in Longboat Key
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbors by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbors by the Sea

Address: 5441 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-1901
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Longboat Key
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Arbors By The Sea Hotel Longboat Key
Arbors By The Sea Longboat Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing