We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of paradise!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa del Mar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of paradise!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Friends invited us to join them in what they called paradise. They were SO right! The location had a real homey and residential feel, loads of great restaurants and shopping close by, the condo was clean and well maintained and the beach...ahhhhh the beach. Miles of sand and crystal clear water. The staff were just great too, so friendly!! The only drawback was having to leave!! Thanks Casa del Mar for an absolutely fabulous vacation! We'll be back as soon as we can!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anza123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieMKTGdirector, Marketing Director at Casa del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We enjoyed being "Your Home away from Home" in Paradise! We are looking forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    35
    9
    12
    5
See reviews for
118
53
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was our 10th trip to Florida and our 1st to Longboat Key. By far, best destination yet. We stayed in unit A9 and it was immaculate. The owner's thought of everything and we wanted for nothing. Direct unobstructed view of the Gulf and yes the water if emerald/turquoise with soft white sand beaches. Having the bike path across the street was a major plus. The island is quiet and relaxing but with a very short drive you can find so much to see and do. Already we're planning next year's trip:) Recommend Sarasota Jungle Gardens where you can hand feed flamingos which is truly an amazing experience!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2trav777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieMKTGdirector, Marketing Director at Casa del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are very glad that you enjoyed staying with us. The views are amazing from our condos! We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Gilead, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I couldn't have put it better than "Average; Good and Not So Good". We stayed in E16. When we arrived we noticed a lot of sand on the floors, but after reporting this the cleaning crew took care of it within 10 minutes. The grounds of the resort are absolutely gorgeous.Very well maintained. Steps to the beautiful beach. I understand the resort is an older one, but the bug problem could have been better. I didn't report the bugs until we left. We were there only 3 1/2 days, ( 2 of which were solid rain with tornado warnings, so we were indoors a lot), and we also did not want to smell the bug spray. There were also bugs in our dishwasher, not once, but a couple of times! We are from Ohio and have vacationed in Florida once or twice a year for the past 15 years, 4th time to Longboat Key, and I also understand the bugs in Florida, but they can be dealt with. This was the worst I have encountered. We have stayed at resorts with no bugs. This unit was advertised with some carpet, there was no carpet. When I mentioned this to the desk person he said "I don't know who would want carpet in Florida". Obviously I would or I wouldn't have booked this unit. The kitchen was updated- very nice granite counter tops and cabinets. But the refrigerator was not. Rust on exterior and the shelf fronts on the inside door were broke off and could not be used. We kept turning the temp down, as it kept freezing our food. Cantaloupe frozen is not good! The floor was all tile with a few cracks that seemed to be filled in. Beds were a little hard, and one of the twin beds constantly squeaked loudly with any movement. The guest bathroom- absolutely no counter space at all and no vent fans in either bathroom. Just a little counter space around the sink in the master bathroom. All furniture needs updated. With the exception of maybe the sofas. One recliner won't stay reclined. The glass top sofa table was missing the glass, as the side tables that matched had glass. The side tables had a lot of peeling paint. The chair cushions on the lanai didn't fit the chairs. Too big and was very uncomfortable to sit on. There were tons of hangers and drawers in the bedrooms. Our door was also very flimsy and I felt unsafe. Loved that there were a lot of beach chairs and that you could rent umbrellas and they put them up for you. $15 a day for an umbrella is a little steep though. I pay $10 a day or $30 a week at Billy's Rentals on Sanibel Island. I asked the desk gal when we checked out if the condo was privately owned and she said yes. I am hoping she shared my written comments to the owner or they read this. Lazy Lobster was a good place to eat. If you have young adults with your group eat at Shore at St Armand's circle. We loved it. Also for breakfast one day we ate at Blue Dolphin. Very good!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randi377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieMKTGdirector, Marketing DIrector at Casa del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We have shared all of your comments with the owner of the unit that you stayed in. We hope thaat you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We just recently stayed at the Casa del Mar resort. We enjoyed our time here. We actually stayed a little longer but had to switch rooms which was fine because the second room was even nicer. Each condo is privately owned so they are all different. Gotta check website for pictures. Longboat Key is a sanctuary. Not too many stores and it is a bit of a drive to get anything or go out to eat. So this is a great place to relax. Just hit the store before you come. Full equipped kitchen and condo. Thank God for the washer and dryer. All units recently updated. Love the old style Florida pool although it became crowded in the late afternoon (Spring Break). Beach was just steps away. The front desk was very accommodating to our needs also. I felt bad for those that left several days early due to the rain and couldn't get a refund. Basketball court, tennis courts and veggie and flower gardens throughout. Only downfall was there was no fitness room to workout in. Great time and will come back!!

Room Tip: Check website for detailed pics on each condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kisiellove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieMKTGdirector, Marketing Director at Casa del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed staying with us and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Perfect location at a great beach, never overcrowded, loved the staff, the apartment was great and clean. 2 tennis courts and there was always easy to get the court. Svimming pool area enclosed and just seconds frome the beach - just a great place to be :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viktor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieMKTGdirector, Marketing Director at Casa del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are very glad that you especially enjoyed your condo and the tennis. Looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a review for Casa Del Mar on Longboat Key, FL. We have a few positive and a few negative observations. So, instead of giving a fully supportive or a negative review of Casa Del Mar, I am going to simply list the “good” and “bad” items and let you decide for yourself.

In summary, I am mostly neutral on Casa Del Mar, but would lean towards staying somewhere else on our next visit. In no particular order, here is a list of our observations, good and bad.

Roaches – On our first night, we saw two live roaches in our unit. The next day, we notified the front office and they kindly offered to spray the unit. For the rest of the week, we noticed several dead (presumably from the spraying) and a few living roaches in the unit. Since we did not want to spend our vacation with bug poison fresh in our unit, we opted not to request another spraying. I realize roaches are part of life in the deep south. However, a good resort should have the problem under control BEFORE guests rent units.

Unit Size – The bedrooms and bathrooms are on the small side, but functional. They are definitely “cozy old Florida”, if that appeals to you. If you’re looking for larger bedrooms and bathrooms, look elsewhere. The living area is comfortable.

Beds - I have a bad back and did not like the soft bed at all. Others may not have this issue.

Our unit was dinged up in many places – scratches, dents on the walls, paint peeling, etc.. Again, some people call this “old Florida charm”. That's not what I call it.

TV – The TV in our unit kept losing sound. We had to unplug and re-insert the HDMI cable to the back of the TV to regain sound. The TV and cable service are fine other than that.

Tennis – The tennis courts are very nice and well-maintained.

Pool – The pool was nice, but appeared a little murky. It almost looked like a salt-water pool but wasn’t; our children comments many times how they could not see clearly in this water. The pool is normally heated and was comfortably warm most of our April visit. However, the heater was broken on our last day and the water was very chilly.

Outdoors – The property is clean. The beach is very nice. Beach chairs are provided. The pool area has several picnic tables, many chairs, and shelters to protect you from the sun. It’s a nice place eat with your family. Smoking is not allowed by the pool, but we saw many people smoking. Staff was not present to take care of this and we did not want to confront anyone on our vacation. There are many grills by the tennis courts ready for guest use. We did not use them, but this is an excellent added touch.

Security – The doors to the units are not sturdy and do not instill confidence. Two of our three keys would not operate the bolt on the door. I realize Longboat Key is not a “high crime” area, but visitors should still be able to feel safe and secure.

Staff – Staff was very responsive to our few requests.

In summary, I cannot strongly recommend Casa Del Mar, unless it’s the only place on Longboat Key that fits your budget. I give it 2-Stars mainly because of the roach problem, which appears to be serious....a disgusting way to start a vacation!

It is certainly “fine”, with the exceptions of the items listed above. It certainly was not “great”. I also have nothing to compare it to on Longboat Key. So, it’s possible that Casa Del Mar is similar to other similar-priced lodgings.

Also, if you’ve never been to Longboat Key, bear in mind that the island is very quiet and sleepy. If you simply want to relax on a beach or by the pool, Longboat is great. If you’re looking for a place with more “excitement” right outside your door, choose another island. Longboat is very beautiful, but it’s definitely for an older and/or more tranquil crowd.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailaway094890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieMKTGdirector, Marketing Director at Casa del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We apologize for the incident with the insects. Unfortunately after spraying a unit it is likely to see dead bugs. We have hired a new pest control company to take care of those issues. We have one of the largest pools on the key, and normally it's clear and warm. We did have an issue with the heat pump and filter, which we had taken care of immediately. All of our staff takes great pride in providing the best customer service and maintaining the property. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchard Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Our 5th year at Casa Del Mar and we will return again to same unit next year. Ideal location on LBK. Only 3 miles to Publix and Banks and Post office. Had beachfront unit which since last year has an entire new kitchen,2 new couches and was painted. Some owners update more than others,but many units are excellent.Staff is phenomenal. We are retired and don't want to be bothered with fixing things.Staff takes care of everything promptly and with a smile.The first year we were there,there was a sign as we drove in that said,"intentionally better" and they were!!!They help you move in and out, fix TV if any problems,and promptly attend to any other malfunctions whether it's a leak in the sink or a door off the runners. They even put the beach umbrellas up each AM and take them down at nite ,or if it gets too windy.They have a grilling area that is covered and lit up,and the security guard sets you up,supplies utensils,and cleans up. All you have to do is grill and go eat.The grounds are beautiful. The tennis courts are new and well taken care of.We get fresh towels and bed linens weekly and more often if needed for visitors.Finally, the beach is the best on the island and the pool is always warm.Many golf courses are within a half hour. The real testimony to how good this place really is,is the large number of renters who come back every year.I highly recommend this place as the ideal vacation spot,and I recommend a beachfront unit. We were in Bldg. A.the past 5 years and will be again in 2015!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieMKTGdirector, Marketing Manager at Casa del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our resort and area. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
0.2 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
12.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Beach on Longboat Key
The Beach on Longboat Key
#10 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar Beach Resort

Property: Casa del Mar Beach Resort
Address: 4621 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa del Mar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy beach resort amenities and beautifully appointed condominium vacation homes. A lush tropical setting directly on the turquoise Gulf of Mexico. Spacious two bedroom, two bath accommodations with great kitchens and porches and patios. Extraordinary white powder sand beach. Huge heated gulf view pool. Championship tennis courts. Natural beauty, serenity and a staff that "goes the extra mile." An island favorite! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Casa del Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel Longboat Key
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort Longboat Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing