We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost and found”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I lost my cross there and have been trying to reach a person for a week. It has a lot of christian valve to me and I cannot get anyone to answer. Old interior chairs and bed. Tube TV and doesnt work. there are owned by slum loads and nobody cares , just rent and get the money.

Room Tip: Rooms are old and funishing is 25 years old. TV broke said they would report to owners, that means n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jsol46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVAFlorida, Manager at Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Upon departure, a member of our Management Team reached out to this guest to offer our sincere apologies for the lack of communication. We were relieved to hear the missing necklace was in fact found within their suitcase, and we've taken appropriate measures to ensure future guests do not experience the same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Customer service is NOT a priority at this property. Check in and Check out seem to produce extreme anxiety in the reception staff person. . We tried to get our key or at least check in at 3:40 but we were told that such requests just could not be processed and there were about one hundred reasons for that and all "reasons" were delivered in a "I can't believe you are asking this" tone of voice. We were the only ones in the office at the time. What a way to start a vacation! The same thing happened when we asked to check out an hour late. The excuses why that was completely impossible all focused on the cleaning staff who apparently needed four hours between check out and check in to clean the rooms. ( There must have been much more extensive cleaning between stays than during given the limited clean up performed during our visit) Of course, not one person was cleaning the rooms when we checked out. The room and location were fine although sort of expensive for rental that had seen better days. Try other places first so if you end up here, you will know you tried to do better.

Room Tip: Apparently, we had the "best room" so I cannot imagine what the other rooms look like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVAFlorida, Manager at Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

We were disappointed to hear of this guests experience at Silver Sands on Longboat Key. We are happy to accommodate adjusted check-out and check-in times if the unit is available. Unfortunately, we often have back-to-back bookings and therefore must prepare the room accordingly in order to provide exemplary service to all of our guests. A member of our Management Team did reach out to this guest to offer our apologies for the manner in which our policies may have been delivered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at Silver Sands for a week. Note that the place doesn't compromise check-in or check-out time (take note just in case). Maybe in the summer time they're busy although we don't think so. Many people come here even in the summer because it's a beautiful place. The beach is quiet, mostly for families. The beach is calm most of the time. This is the best relaxing location. Our apartment hotel is perfect. It was a corner room (one bedroom apartment). The unit looks small from the outside but inside is pretty big. We got to use the kitchen, balcony, laundry, etc. Felt like home the entire stay. We took advantage of the swimming pool, beach, barbecue. I even had a nice morning run along Longboat Key, perfect place to run. The hotel is clean and not hard to find our maid if we need them. Our maids were very good. I found out they're mostly students working during their summer break, of course, it's summer time! *:) Keep up the good work! My husband, my stepdaughter and I enjoyed our stay. I love shelling, would definitely come back for that. Would love to see the turtles someday. Found a lot of seashells! I used to spend lots of times in South Beach in the past but this new "key" will bring me back to Longboat many more times.

Room Tip: ask for corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NoraFrydman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVAFlorida, Manager at Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks and description - we love the shelling aspect too! We are happy to accommodate adjusted check-out and check-in times if your unit is available. Unfortunately summer is our busiest time of year at Silver Sands so we often have back-to-back bookings and therefore must prepare the room accordingly. However please let us know if you want to make adjustments and we will try to meet them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were very happy when we checked in. Our unit was clean and had everything we needed and more. The location on the beach was perfect. Pool area and common grounds were well maintained. The response time for service was outstanding. I noticed a tear in the screen and I was startled by a small snake. I mentioned it to Susan he manager and also to Miguel the grounds keeper. I was gone from my room for about 20 minutes and returned to see my new best friend Miguel rolling a new screen!!! Great service!! Room amenities were plentiful and clean and fresh every day. Lana the other manager was very helpful and friendly with information and explaining the property when we checked in. I must say I am sold on Silver Sands. We were in a garden view unit I think 332. You have a great team, Huge thanks to Miguel, Susan , who never stops smling and Lana. Thanks!!!! Susan M

Room Tip: garden view is close to pool but quiet if you want to read or relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here last year and had a great time, but this year had several issues. We arrived at 3:15 and were told we could not check in. And the woman was very rude. Hard to believe with an 11 am check out that the room would not be ready by then. Our DVD player did not work and the tv in the living room is ancient. The dishwasher flooded and never worked. My child got sick and I set the comforter out so it could be washed and it never came back. But the worst part of the stay was the fact that one family monopolized the entire resort bringing in over 40 non paying relatives. We were unable to use the pool, they put their volleyball net up right where you step off onto the beach completely blocking your walk carrying your things. They were loud and obnoxious and smoked right at the pool where I was trying to teach my child to swim. Sad that I paid over $1000 for three nights and people who paid nothing kept me from enjoying my stay. I will never return and never recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Limomomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The bed, as others have noted, was hard and squeaky. The a/c units are in each room and are a little noisy, as well. I found it hard to get a comfortable setting for the a/c at night. The grounds are nice and the room was nicely decorated. Please, people, get new beds for your guests.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank musiclover12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVAFlorida, Manager at Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We were disappointed to hear of this guests dissatisfaction. We've passed on their suggestions to the appropriate parties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a lovely property directly on the beautiful white beaches of Longboat Key. The grounds were perfectly manicured, pool was crystal, the staff was outstanding! Our room was very nicely decorated, there was a mini fridge, coffee pot, blender, toaster, microwave...very convenient. The only thing was that the bed was incredibly hard and squeaked so loudly with every small movement..I was afraid I would wake my husband if I fluffed my pillow! That being said, I would stay there again and again! We had friends in a suite there which had a balcony on the beach, living room & full size kitchen..it too was a beautiful room...they had no complaints at all!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmy845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVAFlorida, Manager at Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

We were disappointing to hear this guests complaint with the accommodations. Their constructive comments have been provided to the appropriate departments for consideration and a member of our Management Team has reached out to them personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
1.6 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
90 reviews
4.4 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
714 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#1 of 16 in Holmes Beach
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#9 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
169 reviews
14.2 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,613 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Beach on Longboat Key
The Beach on Longboat Key
#13 of 21 in Longboat Key
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort

Address: 5841 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-1701
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range: £130 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let your senses be your guide at Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort on Longboat Key. From the moment you arrive at this Gulf front condominium complex, you will be in sensory overload. The aroma of tropical flora and warm salty air surround you on Longboat Key - this bouquet of scents will have you returning to this beautiful destination again and again. Are you in need of some relaxation? Why not take a walk along our private beach and take a dip in the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico. We have the most beautiful sunsets to offer here on Florida's Southwest coast - we invite you to relax in a complimentary lounge chair at the beach as the sun sets in her many array of colors.Our on-site amenities are plentiful and include a heated, Gulf front swimming pool, putting green and shuffleboard courts, private beach access, BBQ area, and on-site office. Choose from our various unit styles that include: hotel rooms, one- and two-bedroom units with an assortment of views to choose from including garden, pool/Gulf front and Gulf front views. All units come equipped with a full-size kitchen or kitchenette, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and daily maid service. We invite you to book your Silver Sands vacation and create memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Hotel Longboat Key
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort Longboat Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing