We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dutchwomanabroad in florida”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
Reviewed 8 January 2010

great place to stay. appartment very clean, kitchenware good, dishwasher:), bathroom as you would like it at home, beautiful beach, no crowds, good swimmingpool, a good place if you want your peace. little traffic on main road, good walking and biking on sidewalk. nice people in the main office. free use of internet. silver sands gave me the 'island-feeling'. i would return.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
Thank travelmouseTegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2009

The hotel is perfect from almost all aspects but I don´t like when they don´t have a night watch/an office which is open during night.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyredOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We stayed at Silver Sands with several other families as we were in a baseball tournament in Sarasota. The facility was extremely clean and well maintained. Our room was 236 which was a bit smaller than others that were closer to the beach and pool but was quite a bit less expensive (definitely worth the tradeoff for us). It was immaculate when we arrived. It was well equipped (dishes, utensils, etc). The screened porch is a wonderful addition - with a table, chairs and rack for wet suits and towels. The office staff was absolutely wonderful - really kind and helpful. We got an umbrella from the office to use on the beach (no extra charge) and there were plenty of chairs on the beach for us to use. We had free wi-fi in the room which was great as well. The location on Longboat Key was terrific as well with plenty to do and see close by. St. Armands Circle was only about 10-15 minds away.

There were no downsides to our stay. If we go back to the Sarasota area, we would definitely stay at Silver Sands again. Others from our team who stayed elsewhere and visited us at Silver Sands wished they had stayed here!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We stayed in a one bedroom unit that was fully equiped with everything we needed. This unit was perfect for my family of three, including my 14 month old, and my mother who also traveled with us. The unit was clean and the furniture was kept nice. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great. We had a nice view of the pool from our room and enjoyed being just seconds away from the beach. We loved being in a secluded part of this beautiful beach. Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay and intend to return in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldeni238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Just returned from Silver Sands yesterday and I already miss it. Have not been to the resort since 2001. What a transformation! The old 80's look is gone and the rooms have all been updated and offer a fresher look. Although the resort has a new look and feel, it still provides the same charm and appeal that kept my family going back again and again since I was 6. I am 42 now so that tells you how much my family loved the place. We had 7 beautiful days with no rain and fantastic sunsets each evening. We fished the surf and caught several whiting, pin fish, snook, and one of our resort neighbors caught a baby lemon shark. We made daily trips to the sand bar to find sand dollars and conch shells for the kids. The kids were in the pool each night until 11:00 p.m. when the pool lights shut off. After that, the place was a ghost town. If you are wanting a party or nightlife, this is not the place for you. If you are wanting a great atmosphere in a relaxed setting, this place is perfect. It is not 5 star by any means, but it is clean, safe and gives you everything you need to enjoy time away from home. If you want an affordable resort with a pool and beach, give this place a try.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunfun2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

My husband just returned from a 4 night stay at Silver Sands - what a hidden gem. First I have to say the property is immaculately clean. The rooms were cleaned every day, and the pool and grounds were wonderful. The pool was the warmest I had ever been in, you could just jump right in. The property is right on the beach and it is gorgeous and so quiet. They even have loungers on the beach for you.

There were lots of families with young children there, and it is perfect for them. Our kids are grown up, but we enjoyed just sitting around the pool and watching the kids have fun.
The wifi in the room is great. The only thing I could say, is we were in a studio type room with kitchenette and the addition of a small table with two chairs would be good. There is a small bench in the room but a table could fit in that spot. It would have been useful for eating and using the computer. Apart from that I would say it is a wonderful spot and perfect for vacations we definitely will be back

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttrixielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

For an unpretentious and affordable vacation directly on the beach at LBK, one could hardly do better than this. We stayed for a week in March 2009 and were delighted with this property.

First, the booking process was excellent; we found the property through the ResortQuest website, wherein we could search availability for given arrival and departure dates and size of accommodation needed. One of the great things about Silver Sands was the flexibility, both in arrival dates and in length of stay. In this respect, the property is more like a hotel (which it was prior to a major renovation in 2005) than a typical condo on LBK, which typically has minimum stay requirements of 2 weeks to a month in high season. We completed our reservation by phone with ResortQuest, whose agents were knowledgeable and efficient.

Upon arrival my first impression was ‘old Florida’ – the charming bit, without the funky or tacky. Yes the parking lot was gravel (crushed shells actually). But the property is very well maintained, pleasant, and comfortable in its skin. There is an onsite management office that is staffed from 9am to 5pm, with arrangements in place for early departures and late arrivals. The buildings are oriented around a garden or the pool – we stayed at a poolside unit directly facing the ocean beyond. Our unit was a combined 2 bedroom and 2 bath, including the main apartment and the attached efficiency, and had more than enough space for our family of 2 adults and 2 kids (ages 8 and 5), including a full-sized kitchen.

The heart of the complex is the pool, around which most of the units are oriented. The pool is smallish but ample enough, clean and quite warm, with a large deck, and more than enough chairs and lounges for its usage. The sand dunes are right beyond the pool, and therein lies the magic of this place. Walk just a few steps from the pool area, and you are instantaneously on one of the nicest beaches in the United States. And being on the northern part of Longboat, well away from the high-rise condos to the south, it is amazingly, almost unbelievably, uncrowded. We saw dolphins in the surf on several mornings during long peaceful walks. The rest of the day was a lazy migration between the beach, the pool, and our unit. Evening brought a front row seat to the most amazing sunsets imaginable, accompanied by a glass of wine on the beach, with guitars or even bagpipes being played within earshot, and pelicans diving in the surf.

We never once had a problem with noise or excessive parties. The poolside grill gets used regularly (every night in the week we were there), but once it gets dark, and people head into their kitchens or out to restaurants for dinner, it gets very quiet.

Because of the flexible rental policy, there was a constant turnover, and also quite a variety of people staying there, from the retired snowbirds spending several weeks, to families with kids spending their winter vacation week, to weekenders from local environs such as Tampa and Orlando, but no college Spring Breakers – this spot is thankfully much to mundane for them. This turnover kept it interesting.

For those that need to be connected, there is wifi with excellent reception, and a computer in the office available for use. The cleaning staff came daily and did an excellent job. There was an ample supply of towels, and always more for the asking. The desk staff was helpful and pleasant, no problems there.

In summary, while this was not the most glamorous on LBK, it was perfect for our needs: comfortable, affordable, and best of all, right on the beach. It was perfect for us and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExpatinNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
1.6 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
45 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
966 reviews
4.4 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 5 in Longboat Key
1,792 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Beach on Longboat Key
The Beach on Longboat Key
#12 of 21 in Longboat Key
82 reviews
2.3 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 5 in Longboat Key
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort

Address: 5841 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-1701
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range: £128 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let your senses be your guide at Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort on Longboat Key. From the moment you arrive at this Gulf front condominium complex, you will be in sensory overload. The aroma of tropical flora and warm salty air surround you on Longboat Key - this bouquet of scents will have you returning to this beautiful destination again and again. Are you in need of some relaxation? Why not take a walk along our private beach and take a dip in the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico. We have the most beautiful sunsets to offer here on Florida's Southwest coast - we invite you to relax in a complimentary lounge chair at the beach as the sun sets in her many array of colors.Our on-site amenities are plentiful and include a heated, Gulf front swimming pool, putting green and shuffleboard courts, private beach access, BBQ area, and on-site office. Choose from our various unit styles that include: hotel rooms, one- and two-bedroom units with an assortment of views to choose from including garden, pool/Gulf front and Gulf front views. All units come equipped with a full-size kitchen or kitchenette, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and daily maid service. We invite you to book your Silver Sands vacation and create memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Hotel Longboat Key
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort Longboat Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing