We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience and first rate service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our family has been vacationing at the Longboat Key Club and Resort for over 12 years and we just enjoyed another perfect trip. This is the first time we have submitted a review so it is long overdue, and trust me, accurate. We will start by rating the service and staff. The employees are terrific. It's just that simple. They are all friendly, sincere and incredibly accommodating. We hesitate to mention names since somebody is bound to be left out, but feel it's important to honor individuals who have treated our family with such respect and professionalism over the years. Sherman the concierge is a true pro. He knows everything there is to know about the area and his recommendations are always right on the mark. From restaurants to activities to history, Sherman has always guided us in the right direction. We enjoy seeing his infectious smile and look forward to visiting him on every vacation. You couldn't ask for a better host. The guys working at the beach are also incredibly helpful. They all make sure to greet you as soon as you step foot on the sand. They are quick to ensure you have all the chairs and umbrellas you need, along with anything else. We have become friendly with Brad over the years and much like Sherman, our family gets great pleasure out of seeing him. He has always treated our family so well and works really hard to make sure all the guests are having a great time. His presence at the beach is a treat. They are a major part out of the total joy we receive from our vacation. Our trip wouldn't be the same without them. Casey and Michael at the beach are also really helpful, respectful and so much fun to visit with. The bottom line, all of them just make your trip that much more enjoyable and gratifying. You can tell how hard they work and how much they really want to satisfy the guests. The total service is top notch from the second you arrive to the time you check out.

As far as the grounds, it is really beautiful. The rooms are kept clean, the beaches are as well. The pool area is nice. The food at the resort is really good. The entertainment in the lobby bar/restaurant area is always fun and relaxing to listen to as well.

Just one example from our most recent trip. The concierge made dinner reservations for our family at Roy's on our final night of vacation. Once at the restaurant, we were treated like royalty. Complimentary appetizers and desserts. Incredible service. That experience just exemplifies what the Longboat Key Club and Resort is all about. Making sure their guests are happy and have the best vacation as possible.
See all of you next August, or hopefully sooner, and thanks for making our family feel so special!!!
The Freddy's

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
4  Thank freddy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Freddy F:
“Awesome Experience and First Rate Service” – What a wonderful review and especially nice from such a long time guest. I’m so glad you have enjoyed us these last 12 years and we look forward to hosting you for the next 12.

It is most appreciated for you to point out the friendly, sincere and accommodating service from everyone. We have shared your wonderful comments with Sherman at concierge as well as Brad, Casey, Michael and the rest of the beach team. It is very empowering to our wonderful associates to read your wonderful compliments concerning them. I'm proud of their abilities.

Thank you again for continuing to be our guest and we look forward to hosting you for years to come.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,396 - 1,402 of 1,841 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just returned from a Wed-Sat trip to Longboat Key Club. Professional staff, room was ready when we arrived (11am), beautiful view from 4th floor of Building 3, perfect sized kitchen, washer/dryer, Tommy Bahama toiletries, huge balcony and very comfortable king sized bed. Didn't have any issues getting seats around pool ( "reserving chairs" was so much worse on a cruise). Great drinks around pool bar; thank you Ed and Ian! Took the van to dinner one night, which is nice when you want to have more than one drink. Played golf at Harborside and ate at the Tavern before returning to resort. Publix located three miles right down the road. Next time will take advantage of free bicycles. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kellygreen24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear KellyGreen24:
It's wonderful to read of your very successful Anniversary trip with us. It sounds like you took advantage of many of the resorts features including the pool, Golf and the resort restaurants and bars. I will be sure to pass along your wonderful complements of Ed and Ian!!

We look forward to having you visit us again soon.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My wife and I have been coming to LBK club for the past 4 years. It is the trip we look forward to the most each year. The service is amazing. The entire staff is wonderful. Brad and his guys down at the beach are awesome and they work very hard! Dawn at the lobby bar is our favorite! Sherman the concierge is always extremely helpful and friendly. I can't say enough about the staff members I have mentioned. They are the main reason we will keep coming back year after year.

Thanks,
Jeff Virgin

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear Virg2000:
I’m so glad you have enjoyed your experience over the last 4 years. I will share your kind words with Brad, Dawn, Sherman and the rest of the team. Thank you again for the review and for your patronage of the Resort at Longboat Key Club.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

When we arrived our suite was not ready and so we had to wait 1 hour 15 minutes for it, but still we had to change the next day as the suite allocated stunk of cigarette smoke in the living room and the main bedroom, with cigarette ash on the floor by the bed. This was very disappointing as these are non-smoking suite and we received only an apology from the bellboy who helped us move room, but no formal apology. The second suite was much nicer and had a better view. The Tommy Bahama amenities were lovely.
The beach was clean and the sea was warm and inviting. Beach staff were also friendly. The beach is lovely to go in the morning, as well as the pool.
The price of a tennis lesson was not clear, the $25 clinic is a certain times which was not clear and so one tennis lesson came to $80 instead so be sure to fully ask beforehand.
Overall a lovely resort and friendly staff and nice accommodation, would definitely go back.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear EmmaS
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the resort. I’m glad you loved the amenities, the beach, the pool. I really appreciate your mention of how friendly the beach staff was.
I am truly sorry that the first room had the prior guest smoke in it whereas the rooms are to be smoke free always. I also apologize that this issue was not fully resolved prior to your arrival as our procedures should have had it resolved. I’m glad the 2nd suite was perfect for you.
Tennis has different charges for lessons, clinics, etc. The pricelist may be found in the in-room Experience Magazine or with any of our tennis professionals.
We appreciate you being our guest and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

One of the nicest hotels in the area. Have stayed here 3 times, all for special ocassions and celebration. Very professional front desk staff, very clean rooms, also very modern looking.
While walking to the rooms, not that impressive, but you're there for the rooms and of course the beach. Beach is beautiful, and clean. Private beach. Excellent views from the balconies, and one of the best sunsets you'll ever see.
Overall, great hotel, it's a bit pricey, but well worth the money considering the options around Sarasota. Highly recomended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theone27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear GP2727

Thank you for your very kind words about your experience at our resort. So glad that you come to our resort to celebrate your special occasions. Thank you also for the mention of the very clean beach, rooms and the professional front desk staff. I will share your review with our team and I know they will appreciate it. We are here to continue to take great care of you on your future visits with us.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Con's:There is no attention to detail here. Some renovations but with inexpensive products and the quality of the craftsmanship is lacking. Especially in the outdoor areas there needs to be nicer more updated products used. The front entrance looks like a 1990's old condo. Not what you would expect for their prices. The Pro's are the grounds have beautiful plant life and the beach when clean is pretty and private. The location is close to St Armand's circle. However even that area is looking due for renovations. If you are not picky you should like it but if you have stayed in upscale hotels you will be disappointed. Unless you are looking for something very casual.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luvn2travl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Luvn2travl4:
Thanks for being with us and being our guest. Since you stay all of Barefoots and the Pool Furniture have been replaced. We are also adding sofas in the building lobbies by the elevators. The in-suite furnishings are all custom manufactured for us and we have received praise for their craftsmanship. I’m sorry it was not to your liking. Hope we will see you again in the future.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Driving into the Longboat Key Club, one is certainly impressed by the huge expanse of the grounds, the manicured golf course, the well maintained tennis courts dotting the grounds.
THe check in was not bad either. Fast, smooth. You get the sense that these guys have been doing this for a long time.
The first and main disappointment sinks in when you approach your building. That's when you realize that these are luxury rooms. THe buildings and there are about 5 of them on the grounds look old. When you enter the rooms, you are not going to be impressed. they are basic rooms that I would rate as 3 stars.
Given the amount of money I paid per night, i was expecting much better rooms. The rooms are clean, the tennis courts are well maintained, the golf course is average, the food is ok.
I guess what I trying to say is this is not a bad place. It is just way too expensive for what it offers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank towelcarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear TowelCarrier

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I appreciate all of your positive comments about the golf, the tennis, the smooth checkin process, etc. I’m sorry you were not as happy with your room and wish we could have showed you other options while there. I believe you stayed in one of our 23 guest rooms are the hotel type accommodations which are very comfortable and available for those who are planning to use them primarily for sleeping. Many people enjoy these rooms. The remaining 198 units are expansive suites and very luxurious. From a 675 sq foot Junior Suite to a 1750 Sq foot Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite, our accommodations are very we equipped and decorated with high end custom furnishings. So hopefully, you will return to our property, but stay in one of our suites that are better suited to what you were looking for.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
5.9 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
91 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
6.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,205 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228-3910
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range: £216 - £583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort
Resort At Longboat Key Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing