We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rapid decrease. Very sad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Myself and my family have been coming to The Longboat Key Club resort form over 20 years now, up to three times a year. We have always loved it here and and almost feel like it is our second home. However, unfortunately, over the last few years we have noticed a rapid decrease in the quality of the resort. All the rooms and poolside furniture desperately need a make over and refurb - especially the kitchens and the loungers around the pool (they are so cheap looking and not comforatble in the slightest). The main thing that we have noticed as a family is the dramatic change in the staff's attitude. The Longboat Key Club was always somewhere that made their customers feel valued, and nothing was too much trouble. We had a very strong relationship with Barbara who used to work on the concierge - she always made us feel comfortable and welcome (which you would expect as loyal customers). But now, we do not even feel comfortable complaining about a matter, which is awful and a real neagative on your behalf - you should always make customers feel comfortable to complain about anything that they feel they need to - after all, the customers are the people who are paying! The staff in the restaurant were so incredibly rude and abrupt, i was forced to complain twice about this on our most recent stay in December - which of course went unnoticed. This is extrememly upsetting for us to see a resort that we have loved for many, many years go downhill so rapidly. So much so that for our next return to Sarasota (In February) we have booked in to the Ritz - which is quite a big thing for us - seeing as we have ALWAYS stayed at Longboat Key Club, but this time round we had had enough it. The only advantage that the Longboat Key Club resort has now is the views. Without that i'm sure they would get no where near as much business as they do. This never used to be the case - people used to stay the the resort for an all round luxurious experience. Now it is like staying in a motel but with excellent views. This is incredibly sad how such a lovely resort that has grown close to our hearts has turned out like it has.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Georgia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Georgia E:

I am very sad to see you felt your recent experience was not what you have come to expect from the Resort. I assure you we are here to make you feel at home as always. If you will consider coming back to us in February, I would like to introduce you to Gloria and Sherman, (our concierge) who will certainly look after you. I have also tried to contact you directly through Tripadvisor. The pool furnishings have just been replaced with brand new furnishings and our guests are providing very positive feedback

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,792)
There are newer reviews for Resort at Longboat Key Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,295 - 1,301 of 1,792 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

I was very excited to try out the Resort at Longboat Key Club but then last week's snowstorm hit. That is when I discovered the Resort requires a two-week cancellation notice… not ideal for a New England traveler where the weather forecast can change quickly.

While I understand the need of the Resort to plan ahead, I am outraged that I was charged more than $600 for having to cancel a three-night stay, especially since it was due to a major snowstorm that cancelled hundreds of flights throughout the northeast. Unfortunately, I can't provide a positive review on a place that charged me an astronomical fee when I didn't even stay there.

For those who live in areas where snowstorms threaten travel plans, be wary of booking at this hotel. It's one thing to be disappointed about missing out on a warm-weather trip, it's another to face the fee the Longboat Key Club (and Expedia) applies to your credit card.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Angela1782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Angela 1782:
We certainly understand when the weather at home provides you no option of traveling to our sunny resort. I have tried to reach you a couple times now through Trip-advisor in order to discuss. Upon your initial request (before the review), we sent the refund request to Expedia, even though it was a prepaid non-refundable reservation. Expedia honored the refund and returned the fee to your credit card in early January. I am always available to discuss this with you further.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Over the past 15 years my family as well as my law firm have stayed here probably 6 different times. This past Christmas week (12/22/13--12/27/13) was our most recent visit and included my wife and I, my 95 year old father, and our son-in-law and daughter. We had a double bedroom suite, and 2 jr. suites. Although I have obviously been pleased with the Resort in the past, this most recent visit was the best in terms of top quality, professional service provided by the Resort. The most specific example of this service was the Rooms Division Mgr, Matthew G., was genuinely interested in making our family's stay special and comfortable. The Resort has always maintained top caliber facilities and amenities and the location is unique and naturally beautiful. When you add on the excellent service of the management and staff, it makes the Resort very hard to beat. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Timothy M:

Thank you for your review rating of “5”. I am pleased you have been able to frequent our resort 6+ times over the last 15 years. We share 100% of the reviews we receive with the entirety of our team as we strive to continually provide even better service. Matt Gordon is truly a leader with his service spirit and I applaud you in recognizing him.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I rented a suite for a week over New Year's Eve. The view of the Gulf is lovely, and the beach is great for taking long walks. There are lots of tennis courts and golf facilities. One puzzling/negative thing is that the restaurant spaces seem small relative to the number of rooms in the resort plus customers from outside the resort. On the days when rain and wind meant that the poolside restaurant could not be used, the Sands Pointe restaurant and the adjacent small Pointe Lounge just weren't adequate. Even on sunny days, people sometimes had to wait for a table at the poolside restaurant. The restaurants at Harborside didn't seem as crowded although we were unable to get a reservation at Portofino (one of the Harborside restaurants) on two of the nights we were there. It had been completely booked.
One other thing to note is that our room overlooking the pool area was very noisy during the day when the pool and hot tub were packed with children.
In fact, there were very many children there - probably because it was during a school holiday. It wasn't a particularly quiet, romantic experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rd_horse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear rd_horse:

Thank you for your review of the resort and for being our guest. All of our restaurants are private and only available to resort guests or club members. We offer several options within the resort in order to be able to provide great options. The week you were with us is the busiest of the year with many families traveling to Florida. Typically, we have ample available lunch/dinner availability for our guests.

Our concierge are available to help our guests in dining options and can even secure reservations prior to arrival. They may be reached at concierge@longboatkeyclub.com
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful 3 night stay for our anniversary end of December. We were given a beautiful king room with a wonderful gulf view upon checkin. Staff was extremely helpful and accomodating. The beach and views are second to none. This place would be ranked number 1 if not for the cost. You get what you pay for here. Spa, fitness club, tennis, golf. Free beach chairs anf umbrellas. It Is resort/club experience. Be sure to make all reservations food, spa, golf, etc.. upon checking in. It can be confusing or overwhelming if you are not a member. A fantastic and relaxing stay. Don't forget to see st. Armands circle for shops, food, etc.. we will be back with family. Thank you again!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank zachary2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Zachary2000:

Thank you for the “5” rating! Great to hear that you had a wonderful anniversary with us. I will enjoy sharing your review with our associates at our daily shift meetings and thanking them for being “helpful and accommodating”. I agree, that it is a good idea to sit with the concierge early in your stay to have them help plan your experience. They may even begin to assist prior to checkin at concierge@longboatkeyclub.com. Happy to hear it was a “Happy and relaxing stay” and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had a two week holiday here starting Christmas Day and found that the hotel exceeded all expectations. The hotel room and room service were first class. Rooms cleaned to high standard each day. We were on the 7th floor and perhaps would have appreciated being a couple of floors down.

The hotel is very close to St Almands Circle which is a delightful tourist shopping area with restaurants and gift shops.

The hotel is just off a very nice white sandy beach with at tentative staff taking orders for the beach restaurant.

If you play golf (which we don't) or your just looking for a relaxing break this is a fantastic gated hotel complex.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Eurows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Eurows:

Thank you very much for your review and “5” rating! I appreciate that we exceeded your expectations and you had such a memorable time unwinding with us.

We look forward to you visiting us again.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stopped here for two nights as part of a three week trip to Florida. We had a high floor room [it was hard to find] with views of the beach. The room was very clean and spacious with a great kitchenette with all you could want. The weather wasn't that brilliant during our stay [ overcast and windy] but there was a wedding on the beach the first evening we were there. We ate in the hotel the first night which was VERY expensive; but the food was good. We went for a walk along the beach and saw an amazing sunset which was a bonus. The next morning we could see Dolphins from our balcony which added a little special memory to our stay

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tpouvtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Tpouvtn:

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I’m glad your stay was memorable. Sounds like you had a great view since you enjoyed the beach wedding and the dolphin frolicking along the water. Even though the weather was not perfect this time, rest assured it was the best weather in the US at the time. We are fortunate to have year round great weather on the gulf coast of Florida.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
5.9 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
45 reviews
6.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,512 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.2 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 50 in Sarasota
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228-3910
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range: £192 - £556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort
Resort At Longboat Key Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing