We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view of the Gulf, wide beach, great suites!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stunning view of the Gulf, wide beach, great suites!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We recently stayed at Longboat Key with our two children, for the third time in three years. We noticed that all of the lounge chairs and umbrellas around the pool have been replaced since our visit a year ago. A lovely improvement!
We are still very happy with this resort. It's not very busy when we stay there the last week of January. The beach is long and quiet.
The deluxe two bedroom suite is huge and very comfortable. I love the wide open view of the Gulf!
The room was made up promptly each day. We only ate a couple of meals at the resort. A lunch by the pool was very tasty. Room service one night for dinner was good. The deluxe two bedroom suite has a full kitchen so we ate our breakfasts and some easy dinners in our suite. There is a Publix grocery store a short drive away. Nearby restaurants include The Dry Dock Grille and The Chart House, both good. There are more restaurants a short drive away at St. Armand's Circle.
We will return to Longboat Key in the future!

Room Tip: I prefer a room facing the Gulf for the glorious view. I would also suggest a room on the fourth fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear hjps:
Thank you for your “5” rating! We appreciate you and your family coming back each of the last three years. I’m happy you enjoyed the 1750 sq foot Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite and we look forward to seeing you again next January.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,163
    339
    155
    43
    29
See reviews for
642
507
18
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I just came back from an excellent stay at the Resort at Longboat Key Club, as a hotel guest (and not as a member). The facilities were excellent and we had the perfect location facing the constant white-capped waves. In particular, the fitness center and personnel were outstanding.
Although we had the perfect room, we did lack one item: a washer and dryer, which was important for us given the length of stay (over a week, as well as having just spent the week prior elsewhere on the East Coast). I brought the "problem" to the attention of the Manager, Mathew Gordon. He was fabulous in his working through the issue with as many alternatives as conceivably. Initially he provided us access to an unoccupied suite which had a washer and dryer. Then he graciously upgraded us to a junior suite in the same building with the same fabulous view, one that had a washer and dryer, and at the same lower price as our initial reservation. Further, weather conditions in the north caused us to need to extend one extra day but not known until the last minute cancellation of our flight. Once again, Mathew Gordon was splendid in his handling of our issue, and allowed the junior suit to be ours and at the former, lower rate.
While all personnel were helpful at all times, Mathew Gordon went out of his way to stay on top of our visit to make sure that we received his attention at all times. Not an easy thing to do with a busy resort.
As another Reviewer has said, it is an "Amazing" resort and I would certainly recommend it to all, and certainly if you are either a beach person, a physical person (looking for tennis, golf, the fitness center, long walks on the beach and the gated area, etc.), and/or both.

Room Tip: Building no. One with a Gulf View is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plevine47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear plevine47:

Thank you for your wonderful “5” review of the Resort at Longboat Key Club. Matt Gordon is truly a great representative of our resort and I am pleased to hear that he was able to resolve your challenge above and beyond your expectation. Our #1 goal is for you to have a perfect experience as our guest.

For others information, the only room-type we offer without a washer/dryer is the Guest Room . In this case, we do have coin operated washer/dryers located at our Marina. Our Deluxe Two Bedroom, Two Bedroom, One Bedroom and Junior Suites all offer a washer/dryer.

We appreciate your willingness to recommend us and we look forward to seeing you and again in the future.

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The Resort at Longboat Key Club is a great spot for a vacation. We had a premium jumior beach view (4th fl, building 2) and both the room and the view were great. The room had a nice living area and bedroom area, almost a full kitchen (no oven, but stove top, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, washer an dryer, sink) with cookware, knives, glasses and dishes. Even an ice bucket. The bathroom was small but functional, but had a separate sink and mirrors outside in the hall for more space. Plenty of closet space and hangers. The room came with a big balcony with a lounge chair and small table on one side and a bigger table and chairs on the other. Great to have room serice breakfast out on the balcony. The wifi was decent. The pool at the hotel was nice and pretty warm, even though the temperature was not. The hot tub was also nice. Service was good and friendly. The beach is big and has nice, fine, white sand.

A few things make this fall short of five star rating. First, the walls are a little thin, so you might here your neighbors above or along side. Second, the resort is kind of spread out. You need to drive to the pro shop and spa on the island side, and the harbor side is a far away. Therefor, all of the restuarants and bars are not something you can just go down the elevator and get to. Also, while the spa services are great, we had a couples massage, the facilities are not that eleaborate. No spa pool, hot tub, nice relaxation rooms, dry sauna, etc. I like to be able to go when I have a massage scheduled and then hang out for a while, maybe have a drink or light snack, but those are available.

The location of the resort is excellant. Beautiful views of the gulf. It is a very short drive to St. Armands Circle, where there are tons of neat shops and restuarants to explore. Downtown Sarasota is a short 15 minutes away. There can be traffic at certain times of day and year, but I think that is the way it is in a lot of Florida. Overall I would definitely recommend it, even for a family, because of the amenities the rooms have.

Overall, I would definitely recommend it

Room Tip: definitely spring for a beach view. The premium junior beach views were really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear KJN_13

Thank you for your very kind review. I’m glad you were able to really enjoy the amenities we offer including beach, spa, pool, etc. We do offer multiple restaurants throughout the club as you mention, but there is no need to get into your car. We offer complimentary shuttle service throughout the resort and club. Directly at the Resort adjacent to the suites, we offer, Sands Pointe Restaurant, Sands Pointe Lounge, Barefoots Restaurant, Barefoots Bar as well as room service. At the spa, our spa attendants would be happy to retrieve a drink for you from the adjacent Spike and Tees Bar/Restaurant for you to enjoy in the relaxation room.

We greatly appreciate your willingness to recommend us and I am very pleased you had an exceptional stay here.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

From the time we drove into the Resort to the time we left, my family and I had a fantastic stay. The food quality in the restaurants and room service was amazing and there is such variety. I went golfing one day while my wife and kids hung out at the beach, which is the best beach I have ever been on. The Harborside Golf course was sweet. The rooms have the best views and we loved the balconies which were deep and very private. We can not wait to return!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Floridalesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Florida Lesters:
Thank you for the “5” review!! It is greatly appreciated. I agree that the beach here is the best there is. The sand acts like pure sugar and soft on your feet. Our golf courses have gone through major upgrades this last year and it is wonderful you were able to experience them. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Sarasota –Longboat Key.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunt Valley, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We just returned from 5 days & 4 nights at this hotel. We had stayed here 20 years ago, and it was absolutely lovely. Our visit this time was very mediocre from start to finish. Upon arrival, we noticed a cat or two lurking in bushes and near the pool area. But, eventually, we realized that there are cats EVERYWHERE at this property. We could only deduct that these are feral cats that have made their home there, and no one has gotten rid of them. Walking along a path and seeing cats peering at you through the bushes is a bit creepy, if you're not expecting it. The weather wasn't great while we were there, so we thought we'd have a few spa treatments. The spa was closed for "training". The tiled area outside of our room was continuously wet - not sure why. Our sink backed up in the kitchen in our condo. Someone came to fix it, but there was no real apology. Our primary purpose for the visit was to enjoy some tennis. The resort's tennis center is several miles offsite, and only accessible by a car ride. I put the word resort in quotations above because what we found during our stay was not at all the feel of a resort. We've stayed at many resorts, and this just isn't run the way a fine resort or hotel would be run. The two bedroom condo we had cost about $700 A NIGHT. Yet, It felt as if this was a community of residents, and the hotel guests were sort of unwanted visitors. And, this is most definitely not a place for kids. There is nothing to do for children/teens. When asked what we could do with our teenage boys since the weather was bad, the concierge was hard pressed to offer any suggestions. They say they have a "library with a wide selection of dvd's to borrow; when, in fact, there is a conference room in their lobby with a drawer containing some dvd's, many of which are instructional dvd's. The beach is beautiful - The condos are nice & spacious. As far as activities go, you have to have a car and go off site. With all the fabulous resorts, spas, attractions, & great hotels in FLA, I would look elsewhere if you want a fun-filled & wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Tina B:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m sorry you had the issue with your sink and found the size of the resort a challenge. Our resort does spread over miles, due to the 45 holes of golf we offer. The majority of our activities are within walking distance, but we do offer golf cart and shuttle services to make it more convenient. The award winning tennis center is a short car-ride away, but we also offer tennis courts within walking of your suite.

On the cats, the Island does have cats. Removal of them just brings more into the property from around us. We do work with a local agency that spays and neuters them to maintain a small population as opposed to a large population

We are definitely a resort that is well suited for families as well as couples. We have a great deal of options for activities and it’s hard pressed not to be able to stay as busy or as relaxed as you wish to be. A number of the items are outside and you experienced some less than perfect weather, which does limit the number of activities available. Fortunately, we are blessed with near perfect weather the majority of the time.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I attended a business seminar here and it was very easy to find coming from the Sarasota airport. It is also close to St. Armand's Circle for shopping and dining. The resort is clean and the rooms were large and nicely appointed. Although we didn't use them, there was a kitchenette and washer/dryer in our room which would be nice for a longer stay. Our room had a great ocean view and we enjoyed watching dolphins and mantarays. The pool/beach area is close and we liked the covered beach chairs. My husband had a great time fly fishing on the beach. Unfortunately we didn't have time to explore the whole resort but what we saw was enough to make us want to come back.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_RAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear A_RAdventures:

Glad you were able to spend some time enjoying the resort while you were here for your business seminar. I never get tired of watching the Dolphins frolic nearby! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Myself and my family have been coming to The Longboat Key Club resort form over 20 years now, up to three times a year. We have always loved it here and and almost feel like it is our second home. However, unfortunately, over the last few years we have noticed a rapid decrease in the quality of the resort. All the rooms and poolside furniture desperately need a make over and refurb - especially the kitchens and the loungers around the pool (they are so cheap looking and not comforatble in the slightest). The main thing that we have noticed as a family is the dramatic change in the staff's attitude. The Longboat Key Club was always somewhere that made their customers feel valued, and nothing was too much trouble. We had a very strong relationship with Barbara who used to work on the concierge - she always made us feel comfortable and welcome (which you would expect as loyal customers). But now, we do not even feel comfortable complaining about a matter, which is awful and a real neagative on your behalf - you should always make customers feel comfortable to complain about anything that they feel they need to - after all, the customers are the people who are paying! The staff in the restaurant were so incredibly rude and abrupt, i was forced to complain twice about this on our most recent stay in December - which of course went unnoticed. This is extrememly upsetting for us to see a resort that we have loved for many, many years go downhill so rapidly. So much so that for our next return to Sarasota (In February) we have booked in to the Ritz - which is quite a big thing for us - seeing as we have ALWAYS stayed at Longboat Key Club, but this time round we had had enough it. The only advantage that the Longboat Key Club resort has now is the views. Without that i'm sure they would get no where near as much business as they do. This never used to be the case - people used to stay the the resort for an all round luxurious experience. Now it is like staying in a motel but with excellent views. This is incredibly sad how such a lovely resort that has grown close to our hearts has turned out like it has.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Georgia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Georgia E:

I am very sad to see you felt your recent experience was not what you have come to expect from the Resort. I assure you we are here to make you feel at home as always. If you will consider coming back to us in February, I would like to introduce you to Gloria and Sherman, (our concierge) who will certainly look after you. I have also tried to contact you directly through Tripadvisor. The pool furnishings have just been replaced with brand new furnishings and our guests are providing very positive feedback

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
2.2 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
6.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,399 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 48 in Sarasota
2,027 reviews
12.8 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
940 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 48 in Sarasota
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Property: Resort at Longboat Key Club
Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228-3910
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort
Resort At Longboat Key Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing