We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Great Stays!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, N.Y.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“2 Great Stays!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

My wife and I stayed twice this past month, each for 4 days. Our first four days, we reserved a Lagoon View Jr. Suite in Bldg. #6. It was excellent and the accommodations were first rate. The view was peaceful and serene, well worth a stay. Our second 4 day stay was in an Ocean View Jr. Suite in Bldg. #4 and it was even better. The sound of the waves crashing, the expansive view of the water and the overall location were just about perfect. The Jr. Suites are the same size in each location (seemed to be just about identical) & are clearly engineered to make your stay carefree in every way. The suite's washer and dryer were extremely useful, as we played tennis regularly and used them quite a bit. Overall, our stays were excellent & we highly recommend the accommodations. Additionally, I can't say enough about the resort's tennis facilities and the Tennis Concierge Zo, who managed to get both of us into appropriate level games just about every day (a real challenge since we're at very different levels, but needed matches at the same time so that we could do other things together). I've had a lot of poor experiences trying to get matched with high level doubles players when I travel, since I'm a 60+ year old who plays at a 4.5+ level, but Zo managed to get me in with some very good players that were welcoming & friendly. We were also impressed with the Resort Concierge who recommended great places to eat in Longboat Key and Sarasota and made reservations for each place we were interested in. On site, we especially liked the Tavern & Whiskey Lounge for lunch and for their Mon. night burger dinner. The pool area restaurant also good at lunch although the staff seemed somewhat disorganized and the service slow and unsure.

Overall, we highly recommend this resort, as it is in a great location, has great facilities, is extremely friendly & competent and, although not inexpensive, is a solid value for what you get. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: If reserving an ocean view, we'd recommend the lower bldgs (1 & 4) over the high rises (2 &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveRBrooklyn_N_Y_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear SteveRBrooklyn
Thank you for your “5” rating! Glad you were able to experience both the Lagoon View building and the beach view building. It is hard to pick out a favorite among those two locations. Glad you enjoyed the views and we appreciate that you highly recommend the accommodations. Thank you for your positive comments on Zo and the outstanding tennis as well as the help our concierge team gave you.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,123
    327
    151
    43
    29
See reviews for
625
490
18
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
458 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 574 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We've been coming to the LBKC for over 20 years, and now their 3rd set of owners in our time, and still just love it!
We've always gone for the same junior suite overlooking the lagoon and from check-in to check-out the staff can't do enough for you!
The whole resort is beautifully laid out and maintained and it's always been a pleasure to stay there!
The suites are beautifully furnished and have everything included anyone would need for a leisurely stay! Housekeeping is way better than it used to be and the girls were very friendly and attentive.
Fantastic beach with great beach boys, super Barefoot's Bar with the excellent Ed, really nice Sand's Pointe Lounge with the great Carol and the wonderful singer Sally - a pleasure every day!
We've dined in the Sand's Pointe and Portofino Restaurants - both excellent!
The location is also super, because it's just as you drive onto Longboat Key and is a short drive from St Armand's Circle and Sarasota - perfect!
We've always loved this place - our last visit was up to their always high standard! - can't recommend or rate it highly enough and are already looking forward to our next visit!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear John D
Thank you very much for your “5” rating! It has been our pleasure to host you over these 20 years -I’ve only been here for 8 of them Thank you for mentioning the positives on housekeeping as well as the Beach team. I will also share your comments with Ed, Carol and Sally. Glad they were able to make your stay special once again. Thanks for dining at Sands Pointe and Portofino. Next time be sure to check out the Tavern as well.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

The Resort @ Longboat Key Club is a great run property that has something for everyone. The rooms (very spacious) and grounds are beautifully maintained (all the way to water). The room has all the necessary kitchen amenities, great balconies and the best views of the gulf in Longboat key. The location is very good, as this property is the first complex when you hit when entering Longboat key from the south end. St Armand's circle (the real nightlife and dining spot in Sarasota) is just a few minutes drive as is Sarasota.

On this stay the hotel staff went out of their way to acknowledge a special occasion for us and made us feel very special. This resort/hotel/condo complex has golf, spa, tennis courts and basketball courts ( my fav). The beach front has staff on hand to insure you get all the items needed for sunbathing and enjoying the water. There are several on property restaurants and watering holes to choose from.

This is our third year coming to the Resort at LBK. You will love the layout of the rooms with the kitchens and Washer/Dryer. The bathrooms have 2 sinks so there will not be a traffic jam if multiple people are in the room. You can cook & entertain while viewing the gulf. The beds are super comfortable-- a good nights sleep is guaranteed.

We are hooked for years to come.

Room Tip: If you want unobstructed views, ask the staff to check the floor level ad building you are assigned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValueReveiwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear ValueReviewer:
Thank you for the “5” rating! Your review is appreciated. I am truly pleased that you had a remarkable time with us and you were able to enjoy your special occasion.

We look forward to seeing you again for your 4th year visit!
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We recently stayed at Longboat Key with our two children, for the third time in three years. We noticed that all of the lounge chairs and umbrellas around the pool have been replaced since our visit a year ago. A lovely improvement!
We are still very happy with this resort. It's not very busy when we stay there the last week of January. The beach is long and quiet.
The deluxe two bedroom suite is huge and very comfortable. I love the wide open view of the Gulf!
The room was made up promptly each day. We only ate a couple of meals at the resort. A lunch by the pool was very tasty. Room service one night for dinner was good. The deluxe two bedroom suite has a full kitchen so we ate our breakfasts and some easy dinners in our suite. There is a Publix grocery store a short drive away. Nearby restaurants include The Dry Dock Grille and The Chart House, both good. There are more restaurants a short drive away at St. Armand's Circle.
We will return to Longboat Key in the future!

Room Tip: I prefer a room facing the Gulf for the glorious view. I would also suggest a room on the fourth fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear hjps:
Thank you for your “5” rating! We appreciate you and your family coming back each of the last three years. I’m happy you enjoyed the 1750 sq foot Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite and we look forward to seeing you again next January.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I just came back from an excellent stay at the Resort at Longboat Key Club, as a hotel guest (and not as a member). The facilities were excellent and we had the perfect location facing the constant white-capped waves. In particular, the fitness center and personnel were outstanding.
Although we had the perfect room, we did lack one item: a washer and dryer, which was important for us given the length of stay (over a week, as well as having just spent the week prior elsewhere on the East Coast). I brought the "problem" to the attention of the Manager, Mathew Gordon. He was fabulous in his working through the issue with as many alternatives as conceivably. Initially he provided us access to an unoccupied suite which had a washer and dryer. Then he graciously upgraded us to a junior suite in the same building with the same fabulous view, one that had a washer and dryer, and at the same lower price as our initial reservation. Further, weather conditions in the north caused us to need to extend one extra day but not known until the last minute cancellation of our flight. Once again, Mathew Gordon was splendid in his handling of our issue, and allowed the junior suit to be ours and at the former, lower rate.
While all personnel were helpful at all times, Mathew Gordon went out of his way to stay on top of our visit to make sure that we received his attention at all times. Not an easy thing to do with a busy resort.
As another Reviewer has said, it is an "Amazing" resort and I would certainly recommend it to all, and certainly if you are either a beach person, a physical person (looking for tennis, golf, the fitness center, long walks on the beach and the gated area, etc.), and/or both.

Room Tip: Building no. One with a Gulf View is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plevine47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear plevine47:

Thank you for your wonderful “5” review of the Resort at Longboat Key Club. Matt Gordon is truly a great representative of our resort and I am pleased to hear that he was able to resolve your challenge above and beyond your expectation. Our #1 goal is for you to have a perfect experience as our guest.

For others information, the only room-type we offer without a washer/dryer is the Guest Room . In this case, we do have coin operated washer/dryers located at our Marina. Our Deluxe Two Bedroom, Two Bedroom, One Bedroom and Junior Suites all offer a washer/dryer.

We appreciate your willingness to recommend us and we look forward to seeing you and again in the future.

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

The Resort at Longboat Key Club is a great spot for a vacation. We had a premium jumior beach view (4th fl, building 2) and both the room and the view were great. The room had a nice living area and bedroom area, almost a full kitchen (no oven, but stove top, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, washer an dryer, sink) with cookware, knives, glasses and dishes. Even an ice bucket. The bathroom was small but functional, but had a separate sink and mirrors outside in the hall for more space. Plenty of closet space and hangers. The room came with a big balcony with a lounge chair and small table on one side and a bigger table and chairs on the other. Great to have room serice breakfast out on the balcony. The wifi was decent. The pool at the hotel was nice and pretty warm, even though the temperature was not. The hot tub was also nice. Service was good and friendly. The beach is big and has nice, fine, white sand.

A few things make this fall short of five star rating. First, the walls are a little thin, so you might here your neighbors above or along side. Second, the resort is kind of spread out. You need to drive to the pro shop and spa on the island side, and the harbor side is a far away. Therefor, all of the restuarants and bars are not something you can just go down the elevator and get to. Also, while the spa services are great, we had a couples massage, the facilities are not that eleaborate. No spa pool, hot tub, nice relaxation rooms, dry sauna, etc. I like to be able to go when I have a massage scheduled and then hang out for a while, maybe have a drink or light snack, but those are available.

The location of the resort is excellant. Beautiful views of the gulf. It is a very short drive to St. Armands Circle, where there are tons of neat shops and restuarants to explore. Downtown Sarasota is a short 15 minutes away. There can be traffic at certain times of day and year, but I think that is the way it is in a lot of Florida. Overall I would definitely recommend it, even for a family, because of the amenities the rooms have.

Overall, I would definitely recommend it

Room Tip: definitely spring for a beach view. The premium junior beach views were really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear KJN_13

Thank you for your very kind review. I’m glad you were able to really enjoy the amenities we offer including beach, spa, pool, etc. We do offer multiple restaurants throughout the club as you mention, but there is no need to get into your car. We offer complimentary shuttle service throughout the resort and club. Directly at the Resort adjacent to the suites, we offer, Sands Pointe Restaurant, Sands Pointe Lounge, Barefoots Restaurant, Barefoots Bar as well as room service. At the spa, our spa attendants would be happy to retrieve a drink for you from the adjacent Spike and Tees Bar/Restaurant for you to enjoy in the relaxation room.

We greatly appreciate your willingness to recommend us and I am very pleased you had an exceptional stay here.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

From the time we drove into the Resort to the time we left, my family and I had a fantastic stay. The food quality in the restaurants and room service was amazing and there is such variety. I went golfing one day while my wife and kids hung out at the beach, which is the best beach I have ever been on. The Harborside Golf course was sweet. The rooms have the best views and we loved the balconies which were deep and very private. We can not wait to return!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Floridalesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Florida Lesters:
Thank you for the “5” review!! It is greatly appreciated. I agree that the beach here is the best there is. The sand acts like pure sugar and soft on your feet. Our golf courses have gone through major upgrades this last year and it is wonderful you were able to experience them. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Sarasota –Longboat Key.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
2.2 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
6.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Property: Resort at Longboat Key Club
Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228-3910
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort
Resort At Longboat Key Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing