We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2008

We are just back from this resort where we
stayed 12 days. We had a Clubsuite for the two of
us and we enjoyed the excellent service, loved the
decoration, the new furniture, the fully equiped kitchen
and the large flat TV.
Beach service excellent, Swimming Pool ok but a
little noisy atmosphere (especially during Thanksgiving).

We'll be back next year;

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Derobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,703 - 1,709 of 1,841 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2008

the club was very nice. the rooms were spacious and well furnished and the beach was pretty. meals were pricey and overall the club is not a very good value, especially since they tack on a 20% service fee to any fee (of which only a percentage goes to the host/hostess). the quality of the resort as a whole is top-notch, with good service and luxurious accomodations.

the golf, nonetheless, is horrible. the golf course is straight and boring, with little variety or personality. it is not very well kept and the grass is very choppy and overly soft. the greens are very slow.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank matchequeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

When we were at this resort about 2 years ago, renovations were just starting, this trip they were complete, wow. I don't remember the rooms being so nice, we had a club suite with a partial ocean view / part pool on the third floor, I have 0 complaints about this stay. I found the entire staff very nice, especially the wait staff. I loved the decor of the room, it was equipped with the softest hotel robes I have ever felt along with 2 types of towels, one set was super soft, the other was a nice bath sheet. Luckily the weather was just about perfect. We stayed at the hotel from Wed - Sunday.

SUGGESTION: If you are a pool person then I would recommend anyone staying over the weekend to get to the pool on Saturday around 9:30am or 10am if you want to get a chair, they all seemed to be taken which was no big deal because we all went to the beach that day. Wed - Friday there were plenty of chairs left.

FOOD: We ate out every night, every place was so / so, nothing great but the last night we struck gold . . . if you are looking for cool ambiance and good food, check out Ceviche which is about 5 - 10 minutes from the resort. This restaurant is a great time, its Tapas and they have good drinks too. On their website it says: Ceviche Sarasota is located in the historic Times building, originally constructed in 1925. The 4-floor restaurant features an incredible rooftop bar with views of the water and unforgettable happy hour sunsets. I found a couple of great consignment stores that had awesome designer clothes, handbags, etc. with good prices. The first place is called Designing Woman, its close to Ceviche, the second place is Laura Jeans, its about 15 minutes. There is also an outlet mall about 20 minutes but I didn't have time.

That’s about it, no complaints from me; we will definitely stay here the next time we are in Sarasota.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We had our wedding here last October and loved the resort and the staff. It was simply amazing. 5s all the way. I would definitely go back here again but my wife wants to go some other places in the U.S. before we go back to Florida. These were probably the cleanest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. The resort was beautifully maintained and the golf course was great as well. We had 75 guests come from Kentucky and Illinois and everyone that stayed at the resort loved it as well.

Karen who coordinates the weddings is amazing and I would highly recommend the resort for weddings. They can do 2 wedding at a time on each end of the resort but I dont think that they interfere with the rest of the resort.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bjconr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We travelled with our two girls aged 6 & 2 to America to visit Disney and Sarasota.
Our 1st stop at Disney was everything and more than expected. We stayed in the Animal Kingdom Lodge on the site. From the check in we were greeted with smiles and they never stopped. The hotel is fantastic for kids and from our window every day we saw Giraffe, Zebra grazing and lots lots more. The food although large portions was fantastic both in the hotel and Disney park.
After 4 days in Disney we travelled by car to Sarasota. The drive was very easy and we felt safe driving. Our arrival at Longboat Key Club and Resort was again greeted with smiles and very friendly helpful staff. Our room was overlooking the sea in building four just by the sand and round the corner from the pool. It was beautiful, the large room a bed the size of a house, the kitchen had everything you have at home, including a washer and dryer ( yipee, no washing to return home to !! ) and the wardrobes had enough hangers for everyone !! and a wardrobe each. The supermarket is just down the road so we had everything we needed. The hotels restaurants were lovely and the food was exceptional. The food by the pool came from the same chief and was very well presented. The staff are at your beck and call all day long and are all very very helpful. We tended to venture into the village of St Armands on an evening. It had shops and restaurants all located around a roundabout. The restaurant choice was great and the shopping good. The parking was easy with either on road or free carparks located around the back of the shops. There is also a fantastic ice cream parlour making fresh fudge as you watch.
All in all we had a fab holiday and our girls loved every minute of it. As for value for money it is worth every penny. We couldnt believe the quality of the hotel for the £100 per night it cost. !!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Poppy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

Our family (myself, spouse, and 15 year old daughter) visited the Resort from July 19-26th 2008, and found it to be everything it was advertised to be and more.

We flew Northwest into Tampa International (another great experience). We used alamo rent a car, which allowed us to select our own car. That was awesome. We selected a PT Cruiser because our daughter never rode in one. It was a good choice because it got great gas mileage.

It took about 50 minutes to drive from Tampa to Longboat. We got off 275 at Manatee and took a very scenic route 789 down the coastal islands into Longboat. Let me say this area is very, very clean. The resort is absolutely spotless and the landscaping is top notch.

Check-in took all of 5 minutes. Check-in time was 3pm, but we were handed our keys at 1030am. The room was actually a suite with a king and queen bed, a long hallway with several closets that included robed, extra pillows and blankets, a large sink area and a private bathroom off of that.

There was a fully stocked, and when i say fully stocked, I mean all utensils, microwave, stove, dishwasher. and a washer and dryer! All newly renovated, too. Housekeeping was awesome. Twice a day bvisits for fresh towels and linen, and they even ran our dirty dishes through the dishwasher!

The pool was marvelous. There were kids there, but were not a bother at all. get there early for a chair though. The beach was fantastic, with full service for food and beverages, as well as having someone always handy to dish out towels or to bring a chair and cabana to your spot on the beach. The water was beautiful, but beware of sting rays in the water. Stings are rare, but someone did get stung during our stay.

There are great local spots to eat, including Hemingway's Retreat and the Chinese Restaurant at St. Armand's Circle for dinner, and Peaches on Anna Maria Island for breakfast and lunch. We also enjoyed Anna Maria Oyster Bar and Cracker Barrel on Cortez Rd. If you look hard you can find some great local spots.

We visited the Mote aquarium just down the street, and took a great eco-boat ride the next day. They gave a big discount with our stubs from the aquarium too. We also visited the Tampa zoo. Awesome!

Finally, if you like golf or tennis, take 2 weeks. because this place will be paradise for you. It was summer, so the prices were much lower than they would be in the winter, and there were no big crowds anywere. In other words, we got a first-class vacation at half the price.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank RNSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

We stayed at this resort July 17th-21st. We were attending my girlfriend’s wedding. We had a lagoon facing room on the 7th floor. The view was beautiful. The staff was courteous and attentive. Check in was at 3:00 and we arrived at 12:00 and our room was ready. We had out 21 month old with us and the pack and play we requested was already set up in the room. The rooms were renovated and very clean. The beds were very comfortable.

The beach was not crowded at all. We never had a problem getting a cabana and there was always someone offering to set it up. There was also someone always walking around asking if you needed a drink. The pool was a little crowded so it was sometimes hard to get a chair there. It is definitely a family resort, tons of kids.

The wedding was beautiful. I was a bridesmaid in the wedding. The wedding coordinator Cloe was wonderful to work with the day of the wedding. She handled everything and my friend was able to have piece of mind and be calm the entire time. She was great with the three babies/ kids in the wedding, very patient. She’s great at her job. The ceremony was on the beach and the reception in a banquet space. It was all really well done.

I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milesmom06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
5.9 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
90 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
6.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228-3910
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range: £216 - £583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort
Resort At Longboat Key Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing