We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2009

The hotel was situated in a great location. We had a club level suite with an oceanview and the room was fantastic. My one complaint is that I think the food and drinks are overpriced (particularly at the pool bar).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,674 - 1,680 of 1,829 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2009

It was our 2nd visit to a club suite at the resort, we were joined by our best friends first timers to U.S. We have been back in Blighty now for 3 weeks and are still depressed at having to come home! My family and I are 'lucky' enough to have gone to some truly wonderful places all around the world but WOW this place is just THE BEST !
From bar staff to concierge, from maids to the beach guys, FANTASTIC!
All this without any real stuffiness.
Just a pity the price doubles when we want to go back in Novemeber, so we'll be slumming it at the Ritz-carlton.
Our friends are truly smitten by this most beautiful place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etoetoeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

My husband, college aged daughter and I checked in to this gated resort conveniently located close to St Armand Circle on June 17th after a disappointing one night stay at nearby Lido Beach Resort. Instantly I knew that we had found the perfect spot. The reception staff was friendly and very accommodating, even showing us the suite before we checked in. Our beachfront one bedroom suite was on the 3rd flloor of building 1 with a fabulous view. The suite itself was recently updated with elegant and comfortable furnishings - granite counters in kitchen and bath, LCD TV s in bedroom and living room, comfortable king sized bed, queen sleeper couch in living room, two closets, plenty of built in storage, even a small washer and dryer. The kitchen was full sized and well equipped.
We had a separate access to the beach as well as being located close to the pool. Our only criticism is of the pool area which has only one pool. It would be well served to have a separate pool for adult use only as well as an outdoor hot tub.
Though this hotel is on the pricey side, it was well worth it, and I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyndfaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

My family and I have been yearly visitors to the Longboat Key area for the past 15 years. We are generally pretty loyal to a resort once we find a place that we love. For the past 8 years we have stayed at the Lido Beach Resort but after a disappointing stay last year (the place is getting a little run down and dirty) we decided we needed a change and I'm so glad we did! The Longboat Key Club and Resort was absolutly WONDERFUL. From the moment we pulled up their friendly, curteous staff was available for whatever you needed and made us feel very welcome. I had requested a room near the pool with a gulf view. Our room was located in building 3 which is right in front of the pool and our balcony had a beautiful view directly facing the gulf. We chose the club suite with the king bed and queen pull out sofa. It was spacious enough for myself, my husband and my two teenage daughters. A very nice plus is that along with the full size refrigerator, stove, microwave etc. these rooms come equiped with a washer and dryer! The rooms are well kept and clean. The staff at the pool and the beach couldnt have been friendlier or more helpful. One thing I would have to add is that we saw these hardworking young men walk away emptyhanded time and time again after moving umbrullas, chairs and chair padding around for ungratious guests. Please remember to tip these kids, they work very hard. All in all we totally enjoyed our stay at the resort and will definately return again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sully-Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

I did not know what to expect when I arrived at Longboat key as I had heard that it was an expensive residential area. The staff in the hotel were extremely helpful and when when we were shown to our room we we over the moon with the ocean view. The pool area was beautiful and very clean there was direct access to the beach which was white sands clear warm water and very peaceful,.You could sit for hours and watch the pelicans diving for fish and the dolphins playing in the water, the views accross the key were also lovely. In a car it was very easy to reach shops and restuarants and other beaches although there was no need as our beach was nicer anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethJarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Most of the reviews that I read on your site are right on target.
The positives:
1. Service:
From check-in to check-out absolutely friendly and helpful. Lynda at the front desk was beyond accommodating with our room requests. Ivor, Sherman and Heather at concierge gave us great restaurant and other suggestions. The beach staff and bartenders also had a great positive attitude.
2. Location:
Easily one of the best beaches in Florida-white powdery sand almost as clear water as the Bahamas. Outstanding for swimming, running and with breathtaking sunsets!!! Outstanding tennis facilities ( 4 courts by the hotel and 20+ at the "Harbourside" location- an easy 5 minute drive away). John the head pro was fantastic and such a nice guy.
3. Nearby activities:
Boat rentals for skiing, tubing, sightseeing within 10 minutes in Sarasota (Sarasota Boat Rentals) and another place 10-15 minutes on the Key. St. Armand's square is a 5 minute drive with excellent shops and restaurants. The resort allows you to use bikes for the day at no charge. Busch Gardens with its incredible rollercoasters is a 1 hour drive.
4. Hotel Rooms:
We had a 1 bedroom suite on the tenth floor of building 3. Updated within last 2 years with 2 flat panel TV's, a very nice kitchen and dining area, a comfortable king bed and pullout couch in the living room area. The balcony was large and with a great view of the water. If you want sunset views request building 2 or 4. We had no pool noise as some reviews reported but we were on the 10th floor.
5. Food:
Many great choices. Excellent basic food at the lobby restaurant with great service. Great Italian food in a beautiful Marina setting at Portofino (Harbourside part of the resort- 5 minute drive). The Beach Grill in Ana Maria Island was outstanding and one of the best meals we have ever had (really!!!) in a beautiful quaint beach location- very romantic too (if you are a "foodie" you can't miss it). Pattigeorge's excellent continental with an asian flaire in a gourgeous waterside setting. La Creperie in Ana Maria had great salads / sandwiches and a large selection of crepes with a nice french feel. Mediterraneo in Sarasota was a nice Italian with friendly service. Beach House in Ana Maria great basic food in a beautiful "on the beach" location. Finally, there is a well-stocked Publix nearby (5 minute drive).
The Negatives:
1. The suite's bathroom was small and not to the level of update of the rest of the room. Also, although clean for me not clean enough for my wife- just a tiny amount of mold and the tub and floors seem a little "older" than the rest of the room. Overall, above average but definitely not the Ritz.
2. The pool and common areas are also out of sync with the level of update of the suites. Although basically clean, just old and in need of remodelling.
In short a great family resort on a beautiful beach location with lots to do nearby. Sorry about the length of the review but I hope it helps.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

I can't say enough good things about our recent eight night visit to Longboat Key Club & Resort. We are VERY finnicky travelers in EVERY way. I will be happy to answer any specific questions families considering LKC&R may have. Couples only......this resort is perfect for you as well !!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saksak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
5.9 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
72 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
6.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,174 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.1 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228-3910
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range: £221 - £572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort
Resort At Longboat Key Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing