We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Entente Cordiale Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$102
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Echo Motel(Port au Choix)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Hotel(Rocky Harbour)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gros Morne Cabins(Gros Morne National Park)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilltop Inn(Rocky Harbour)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
100
14
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
14
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgros mornecow headdining roomb bbeer or winesandy beachocean viewbig windowsenjoy the viewa real gemwonderful surprisebase to exploreoff the beaten trackwarm hospitalitythree nightsbed was very comfortablewould definitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The Entente Cordiale Inn was listed in the Newfoundland and Labrador Frommer's guide as a "Find." I would suggest that's a considerable understatement.

At the end of a short road in Portland Creek, we came to a rugged driveway path which led to this lovely beachfront property. We were greeted by the warm kitchen staff and shown to our room, which had a large picture window and an unobstructed view of the water. We felt like we had died and gone to heaven.

We had made reservations for dinner the night we arrived and, after a glass of wine in our room, made our way down to the dining room, which offers three walls of windows. As the sun started to set, we enjoyed a lovely dinner. The ladies in the kitchen do a wonderful job. The buns, baked by the owner's mother, were like clouds. Delicious.

After dinner, we went for a walk on the beach, in our bare feet, and collected sea glass along the way. We watched the sunset and then retired to our room, where we fell asleep to the sounds of the waves below.

Breakfast was delicious, complete with local preserves and home-made goose berry and blueberry muffins. We stayed for two nights, but easily could have stayed a week or more. This was one of the top places we stayed during our trip and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends and family. In fact, by the time we left, we felt like family.

Note there are no televisions in the room, nor wi-fi access. You won't miss either, as the beauty of this place will have you in a hypno-relaxo state the moment you walk through the door. Unforgettable.

Check out our travel blog for full details about our adventure, as well as photos and videos: http://chapmandala.wordpress.com

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chapmandala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

What a pleasant surprise! The Inn is located on an isolated stretch of beach, but is easy to get to. We walked in and thought the Inn was brand new...everything was so crisp, bright and clean. In fact, the Inn has been open for 17 years. We were greeted by the wonderful staff, Edna, Effie, and Gladys who treat the Inn like they own it. We had ordered the evening meal on the morning of the day we were staying. The meal was wonderful, as was the breakfast the next morning. (The evening meal was an extra charge, but very reasonable...the breakfast was included with the room charge). Our en-suite room was lovely. It is a great place to stay to explore the Northern end of Gros Morne or just relax. We were so pleased that we booked to return the following week on our return trip and have supper again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarilynnZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

From the drive up the lane to the drive away from this home away from home, it was everything and more. Best meal we ate on the entire trip! Hosts we could laugh with and who really went the extra mile for us :) Will be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlendonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This B & B topped our list! Thank you Liz, Effie and Edna!
One viewer said it best! Entente Cordiale is one of Newfoundland's best kept west coast secrets! Amazing views, location, food, hospitality! The inn is spotlessly clean and a great location to base your trip for Gros Morne park activities as well as Cow Head theatre!
One of our party has a gluten allergy and the choices for food were NO problem! Dinners and breakfasts are healthy and scrumptious! I just can't say enough about how peaceful, comfortable, and spectacularly wonderful our stay was!
I returned the following week for another quiet, peaceful stay on my birthday! Awesome, doesn't do this place justice!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Slipstream11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This is one of Newfoundland's best kept secrets... and it should not be! My husband and I have been going to Entente Cordiale 4 years in a row now (mainly in August or September). It is like a home away from home. This family-run business and its staff are incredibly friendly and accommodating to specific needs. The sunsets are spectacular fro the main dining room and on the beach. There is often a beach con fire at night. One can go for long walks on the beach and find weathered glass and other treasures. It is also home of the 'sandpiper' birds - which you can admire as you trek the nearby sand dunes. Otherwise, you can go hiking and 'get lost' in nature. The owner has set many of the trails and can provide great info! This year we are returning with our baby boy!

Room Tip: The side room (on the level of the porch) is the most private and our favourite... although it has no view it does not matter.
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shreddasnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews