We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful escape”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Entente Cordiale Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We loved it because it is secluded, close to the highway but "far" from the highway, ocean view, beach for walking, good place to stop/rest between St. Anthony and Deer Lake Airport, convenient to the boat ride on the Western Brook Pond "fjord", pleasant staff... We enjoyed dinner with wine (fresh fish of course), breakfast, and even got the ladies to make sandwiches for our sojourn into Gros Morne National Park. Leo55, Patricia R, and LPJ-Lydia couldn't have expressed our thoughts better. Our room was in the back, but had a view of a brook running through a wildflower-filled meadow. Interesting shape with gable window and sloping ceilings. No internet; they can only get dial-up for their own computer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruceandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Owner at Entente Cordiale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Though our guests may not have used it, there is a computer in the common area for guests only. Unfortunately, our little community has no high speed internet service, so the connection is dial-up. For many guests this isn't an issue, as they use high speed internet via the hotspot feature on their cell phones. That connection is very good, as the B&B is located near a cell tower. Note: Travellers are reminded that there is no Rogers cell service in Gros Morne National Park and on Newfoundland's Great Northern Peninsula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here twice on our trip in Newfoundland and Labrador; once on the way north, and again on the way south. We were very impressed by the friendliness we had found on our one night stay travelling north - and also the quality of the evening meal which we had wisely booked in for. On our return a week later travelling south the weather was horrible; foggy and raining heavily, but on walking through the door and being greeted like longtime friends the Newfie weather was soon forgotten and we quickly settled in at a table in the dining room (with lovely views of the ocean when the weather allows) to enjoy what we knew without any doubt would be a lovely evening with excellent food and wine and a friendly relaxed atmosphere. Since Effie, who cooks the evening meal, also cooks the breakfast, it goes without saying that breakfast was just as good and we were especially touched that she, and Elaine, came in early the day we were leaving to make sure that we had a good breakfast and a reasonably early start before our long drive that day.
Our room, Room 3, was bigger than it looks on the website and very pretty in green, white and pink, with dual aspect windows. The bed was very comfortable and we were able to snuggle under the covers the night the house 'shook' in a storm!
We can highly recommend this B&B for an overnight stay (or longer) when travelling along the west coast of Newfoundland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This small B&B/Inn is in tiny Portland Creek not far from Newfoundlands's Viking Highway. But you step into another world at the gate. Named for a fascinating piece of Newfoundland history, the Entente Cordiale is located on a secluded stretch of beach and the wood frame home invites you in, as do the wonderfully friendly and knowledgeable staff. The rooms are very comfortable, (With our window open, we could hear the ocean all night), the quiet dining room has a magnificent ocean view, and the homecooked meals are beautifully prepared. Plan to stay there if you are vacationing in Gros Morne Park or travelling through the Northen Peninsula and plan to eat a peaceful, well-cooked meal, with a glass of wine and and a gorgeous sunset!

Room Tip: Check out the pictures on the B and B web site for great photos to choose the room you want. They...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This place was recommended to us by another B & B that was fully booked. Entente Cordiale Inn was at the end of the road, almost in the middle of nowhere, but right on the coast. It was just a picturesque place and the hosts were great. The room and ensuite were so clean, comfortable with interesting decor.

Food was delicious, professionally presented, and the view from the dining room was breathtaking, especially at sunset. They offer dinner as there is no restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LPJ-Lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I have stayed at the Entente Cordiale a number of times over the past ten years and have gotten to know Edna, Effie, Phylis, and this year Leah, very well. You will note they are mentioned quite often in the reviews, for good reason. Even though I regard them as extended family, I have observed how well they interact with their other guests. Location: beautiful, Food: delicious and plentiful, Staff: outstanding-what more can you want?

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harbourmain60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My friend and I were travelling across Newfoundland and I booked at the Entente Cordiale because of trip advisor- I was NOT let down! From the beautiful re-done, clean room, to the amazing views and beach, the very friendly hosts and the delicious food (must try anything with partridge berries- especially the pudding!)- it was one of the hi-lights of our trip! Easy access to the park, Cow Head theatre festival etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the wonderful Entente Cordiale. Edna, Effie and Leah were delightful hostesses. Our rooms were very comfortable. The view was second to none. The beachfront beckoned. We kicked back on the porch, read in the sunshine, walked the beach, ate two amazing dinners and were sorry to have to leave. A gem, just north of Gros Morne and with nearby walking tours and sea villages. We have already planned to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaninOakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Entente Cordiale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entente Cordiale Inn

Address: 11 Main Street, Portland Creek, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Portland Creek
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Portland Creek
Price Range: £39 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 7 acres of secluded beachfront property just 25 kilometers (15 miles) north of Gros Morne National Park, Entente Cordiale is a 4-star heritage-style B&B with modern utilities and traditional decor. We are renowned for clean rooms and low prices, in a scenic and relaxing maritime setting. Watch the sun set into the Gulf of St. Lawrence while savouring a fresh seafood dinner in our licensed dining room, roast wieners and marshmallows over a fire on the shore, and enjoy a morning stroll on a sandy beach before a hearty breakfast of homemade breads, jams and more. View the northern limit of the Appalachian mountains and the nearby Arches natural scenic attraction, or fish for Atlantic salmon on a river named by the famed explorer Captain James Cook. Or use our central location as a base for your exploration of Newfoundland's Great Northern Peninsula, from Gros Morne National Park to the UNESCO World Heritage Site at L'Anse aux Meadows, the Vinland of Viking lore. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing