We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Area”

John's Pass Village and Boardwalk
Ranked #1 of 17 Shopping in Madeira Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The "Pass", as locals refer to it, was created by a hurricane on September 27, 1848. A pirate, John Levique, made the first passage through the newly created pass. Hence the name, Johns Pass. Located on the waterfront at Johns Pass, this quaint turn-of-the-century fishing village is Pinellas County's #1 tourist attraction. Over one hundred merchants inhabit the Village with unique retail shopping, a variety of restaurants, the local fishing fleet, dolphin watching and shelling tours, boat rentals, parasailing and jet skiing.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Tourist Area”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Swimwear shops, shirt shops, trinket shops, parasailing, boat trips, jet skis, etc. If you are a tourist in the area, you will like it. If you are looking for fun on the water, this is a good place to come. There are also several good restaurants that offer both indoor and outdoor dining.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,363
    901
    309
    55
    61
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bourbon, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“We Love John's Pass!!!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We just LOVE John's Pass. We go there SEVERAL times every time we are in Florida. So many fun shops....Bronze Lady my personal favorite. Great places to eat....Bubba Gump's our favorite. A variety of places to rent jet skis, parasail, charter fishing etc. We stand on the boardwalk to watch dolphins play and on occasion have spotted manatees. A fun place to take a stroll and enjoy whether you buy anything or not.....but trust me, you will find many items you just cant live without in John's Pass shops.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great stores & location”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

we visited off-season & a few of the stores were closed, but the ones that were open had a variety of things to shop for - nice jewelry, clothes, touristy items, etc - that were affordable for anyone...some great restaurants for everyone's pallet...we ate at The Hut & were very pleased with everything...would definitely recommend a stop & shop...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh-Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Touristy shops & short boardwalk”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Well, if you're souvenir shopping this is the place to go. The stores weren't my cup of tea, except for The Spice and Tea Exchange, which was a nice little specialty shop. The boardwalk is short but does offer a very nice place to enjoy the outdoors and views of boats coming and going between the IC and the gulf. So put this on you itinerary to enjoy an afternoon with drinks, a meal and dessert along the water, and pick up something special for aunt Ida and cousin Joe.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“What People Want On Vacation”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Visited Johns Pass last weekend from Tampa and as a local, I have been there many times. It was packed and there were numerous events going on including the 17th Annual Veterans Day Boat Show.... over 100 boats with flags and decoration.

You expect seafood from Florida at these type of places and you would be right. No need going to the chains - the local places have all the grouper sandwiches and beer you can order.

Johns Pass is fun - the people who go there are entertaining. Where else can you go to see live alligators on the second floor of a strip mall or have your fortune told at the "Weird House."? There is even a bar and grill on a boat dock.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcbobleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John's Pass Village and Boardwalk also viewed

 

Been to John's Pass Village and Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing