We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy Shores

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madeira Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandy Shores
Lafayette, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

When we walked in the room smelled. Very small bathroom with the half bathroom inside the closet!!! The futon did not have linen supplied, and in the middle of the night it collapsed with my 16yr old asleep on it. We made them aware the next morning, they looked at it while we were out, never fixed it for us or advised us. My son had to use the futon mattress on the floor for the next two nights. The floors were dirty, the grout in most areas was black, but around some spots where less traffic it was white as it all should have been...our feet were black on bottom after walking on the floor for just a few hours the first day.

When we reported the futon broke, we offered to call the owner, but were told that they would take care of it. When we returned today, they now say that we are responsible for replacing the futon, it broke while he was sleeping and he is not a large kid at all.

Friends of ours in another unit had a terrible smell as well. No washers or dryers in the units, have to use shared washer and dryer that is in the hall, cost we did not anticipate.

No television in the bedroom, not a horrible thing, but seemed odd.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kthom2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JpCondo, Property Manager at Sandy Shores, responded to this review, 30 April 2010
The complaints of this renter are a surprise due to the fact we had no knowledge or were ever notified of a problem while they were here.Having known about any issues we would have promptly taken care of them.This unit is right next to the office so we saw them quite often coming and going. There were many large teenage boys in and out of this condo during that week which may or may not have been the cause of a broken futon during a Spring Break vacation.A rental agreement is signed in advance of occupancy and states that any room damage will have the tenant liable for cost of replacement or repair. They did tell us about it and we tried to have the futon fixed by our staff to save them cost, but it was malicously broken beyond repair due to the teenagers horsing around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    28
    12
    12
    10
See reviews for
30
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
0.3 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Vacation Resort
All Seasons Vacation Resort
#2 of 16 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.4 mi away
John's Pass Beach Motel
John's Pass Beach Motel
#28 of 48 in Treasure Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Shores

Property: Sandy Shores
Address: 12924 Gulf Blvd., Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Region: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandy Shores Condo RentalsSandy Shores Condos in Madeira Beach, Florida is the closest beachfront building to the historic Johns Pass Village and Boardwalk. We offer several individually owned and newly furnished 1 and 2 bedroom condo rentals here. Sandy Shores condominium complex is furnished in a casual comfortable decor, located directly on Madeira Beach and close walk to restaurants, shopping and water sports and amusements of all kinds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandy Shores Hotel Madeira Beach
Sandy Shores Madeira Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing