We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great view”
Review of Sandy Shores

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madeira Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandy Shores
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We had an ocean front room on the third floor, the view was awesome. We could watch dolphins swim by and watch boats going out to the gulf from John's pass.
It's not a fancy place but is comfortable and had everything we needed, nice beach, nice pool, gas grill and restaurants close by.
A great place to bring kids.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heckenlively
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Sandy Shores
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2010

I have to admit, I was a little skeptical after reading the reviews posted on here. However, when we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised. We arrived early and our condo was ready. What a blessing after driving all night. We stayed in Sandy Shores unit 102. It is a one bedroom unit with 2 queen beds in the bedroom and a pull out sofa in the living room. The beds were both comfy. The pullout was ok for a teenage boy but definitely not plush. :) He was ready for his bed when we got home. The kitchen was nicely equipped and the condo had one bath. There was a very nice patio with a view worth a million dollars. We were right about the pool which was great for us since we have a 10 year old daughter. The only problem that we found was that our unit was right by the elevator and the trash shoot. It was a bit noisey at night and early in the morning. Next time we would like a unit a little further away from the elevator but still ocean front.
Please keep in mind each unit is individually owned and decorated/maintained. Unit 102 was nice. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WakeboardMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We stayed at Sandy Shores right next door to the Beach Place. All a part of Johns Pass Condos. The office staff was extremely rude and the tenants were awful to my children. The condo itself had a beautiful view, but was filthy. My kids feet would be black from walking on the carpet. We had some of the year-long tenants complain about us because they could hear our footsteps above them! One night we had grandparents over to celebrate a birthday. Management called and said we were being too loud at 4:30 pm!! Worst of all we were then charged a carpet cleaning fee two weeks after departure! We had done nothing to the already filthy carpet! I advise all to make reservations elsewhere. This wasn't worth the money, or for that matter even taking the vacation time!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SallyIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JpCondo, Property Manager at Sandy Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2010

Regardless of when a complaint is made, we have to make a call to ask the renters to keep it down. If it is disturbing someone else we need to follow up. These complaints came from owners and renters on the whole floor. Owners, keep in mind, have this type of traffic all year long and are usually not sensitive to a reasonable amount of noise. We do offer a picnic area downstairs by the pool,with gas grills and tables for gatherings of larger crowds. The carpet however was damaged by a large drink stain right in the middle of the living area. During Spring Break it is a busy time to get a carpet cleaning done. We also need an invoice to charge the appropriate amount. This is why it took some time for the charge to happen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

When we walked in the room smelled. Very small bathroom with the half bathroom inside the closet!!! The futon did not have linen supplied, and in the middle of the night it collapsed with my 16yr old asleep on it. We made them aware the next morning, they looked at it while we were out, never fixed it for us or advised us. My son had to use the futon mattress on the floor for the next two nights. The floors were dirty, the grout in most areas was black, but around some spots where less traffic it was white as it all should have been...our feet were black on bottom after walking on the floor for just a few hours the first day.

When we reported the futon broke, we offered to call the owner, but were told that they would take care of it. When we returned today, they now say that we are responsible for replacing the futon, it broke while he was sleeping and he is not a large kid at all.

Friends of ours in another unit had a terrible smell as well. No washers or dryers in the units, have to use shared washer and dryer that is in the hall, cost we did not anticipate.

No television in the bedroom, not a horrible thing, but seemed odd.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kthom2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JpCondo, Property Manager at Sandy Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2010

The complaints of this renter are a surprise due to the fact we had no knowledge or were ever notified of a problem while they were here.Having known about any issues we would have promptly taken care of them.This unit is right next to the office so we saw them quite often coming and going. There were many large teenage boys in and out of this condo during that week which may or may not have been the cause of a broken futon during a Spring Break vacation.A rental agreement is signed in advance of occupancy and states that any room damage will have the tenant liable for cost of replacement or repair. They did tell us about it and we tried to have the futon fixed by our staff to save them cost, but it was malicously broken beyond repair due to the teenagers horsing around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Det beste er å velge leilighet med havutsikt.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alise42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
0.3 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
728 reviews
1.8 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
427 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
663 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madeira Bay Resort
Madeira Bay Resort
#8 of 15 in Madeira Beach
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Shores

Address: 12924 Gulf Blvd., Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Region: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Madeira Beach
Price Range: £74 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandy Shores Condo RentalsSandy Shores Condos in Madeira Beach, Florida is the closest beachfront building to the historic Johns Pass Village and Boardwalk. We offer several individually owned and newly furnished 1 and 2 bedroom condo rentals here. Sandy Shores condominium complex is furnished in a casual comfortable decor, located directly on Madeira Beach and close walk to restaurants, shopping and water sports and amusements of all kinds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandy Shores Hotel Madeira Beach
Sandy Shores Madeira Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing