We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barefoot Beach Hotel great for long weekend get-away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barefoot Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Barefoot Beach Hotel great for long weekend get-away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Right on the beach is a just for me. And this hotel fills that bill while also being clean, all no smoking, reasonably priced, friendly staff, beach service available. Nearby great food and shopping. No breakfast but we knew that going in. With the queen studio we had a fridge and microwave, so we could have snacks and sandwich stuff handy during the day. They advertise 6 key pickup but they will work with you to have a way for later if necessary.

Room Tip: Queen studio with beach view has fridge, microwave and balcony looking out on the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethiphr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    194
    46
    22
    20
See reviews for
235
336
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I am a Home Travel Planner and did my research on this hotel and it was perfect-
It is clean, comfortable, close to John's pass(walking distance) and right on the beach- I rented a oceanfront studio-the view was outstanding! The Hotel has Numbers for the chairs and umbrella rental- and Nick and Curt were great in accommodating you with this service! The staff was friendly and helpful in every way!!!! And the price is right!!!! I will recommend Barefoot Beach Hotel to my clients!

Room Tip: Ocean front studio are very cute- great view, little kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom! we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annacruises12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I did some research before booking this Hotel, and I was pleasently surprised that I got it right ! It was perfect. The Ocean view studo room was absolutely wonderful. Stepping out of your hotel, right on to white sandy beach was great ! It's a 2 block walk to St. Johns Pass Boardwalk, and that's where the action is. The building felt more like a condo than a hotel in the sense of the Office was only open until 6pm, and don't have employees hanging around everywhere. It was nice & private, with peace and quiet. Loved it, and would recommend it anyone.

Room Tip: Ocean view studio room was well worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurieAnn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This place is no better than any motel, in a matter of fact, we would call it three story motel, there is no lobby, restaurant or even a breakfast area. There are no exciting places to eat nearby, unless you are willing to cross the busy road and walk half mile or so to John's Pass village (or drive and pay $5 for parking) or further up North or South.
The rooms are small, the kitchenette is not meant for any cooking, a microwave and a small coffee pot only. The AC in our room was as noisy as it gets.
The ocean view from the tiniest balcony was lovely but at the same time the balconies are also located directly over a parking lot. The beaches from Clearwater to St. Pete Beach are lined with GREAT oceanfront hotels one after another and very often for MUCH lower rate.

It was a last minute trip, and unfortunately our preferred hotels/resorts were already booked solid, so we had to booked a highly overpriced room in Barefoot Beach. Unfortunately for us, while we were checking in, we learned that there was an error made by hotels.com and we were charged for a the room twice. When we tried to book through them on the phone; at the end of booking it turned out the rate by the phone was higher than on their site, so we told the representative we'd rather book a room online, and we did. But for some reason, the hotels.com representative placed an order, though we told her not to.
The front desk staff was indifferent and unhelpful. They said they were not authorized to give refunds, only their manager could do it, more likely not, after the weekend is over. They advised to contact their manager on Monday. Meanwhile, they checked us in one of the rooms, with no bed sheets, no towels, with used plastic bags thrown on the floor. The room was not cleaned at all, even though it was after 5 PM. Later they moved us to another room.
On Monday we contacted the manager Aaron, who was unfriendly and stated that hotels.com paid for the room and he would not refund a penny. He even did not pretend to be compassionate. It looks like, any humanity in him was replaced by greed, he does not see human beings, just $$.
Therefore, the price for the room in this motel with no services offered was much higher than we would pay for a room in the posh Don Cesar with exceptional services and amenities. And our weekend getaway turned sour.

Room Tip: There are lots of great hotels and resorts in the area, do not waste your money on this motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UnderwaterDetective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarefootBchMgr, Manager at Barefoot Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
I would like to start off by saying that this guest seemed to enjoyed their stay with us and was very pleasant to deal with when they were at the property. It wasn't till after no refund was provided that we heard of any complaints.

I would also like to clarify that we have plenty of fantastic restaurants with in a 1 minute to 5 minute walk. Such as Lisa's Café, directly across the street and Latitudes which is also directly across the street. Gulf Blvd is the main road that runs North and South on the island and there are plenty of safe crosswalks to access the opposite side of the road. John's Pass is 2 blocks south of us and takes only 5 minutes casually walking. Parking at John's Pass is $1 per hour as all parking on the island is.

Just as the guest states, they booked one room over the phone with a third party and then booked another room online. They had reserved 2 rooms on a very busy night of the week, Saturday. When the guest arrived they realized they had booked 2 rooms in error. They were concerned about receiving a refund for the room not needed. However since they booked through a third party and the guidelines are stricter, we were not able to authorize a refund. I spoke to the author of this review and suggested politely that they contact the company they booked with for a refund. Had the guest realized their mistake long before their arrival then it may have been possible to help them further.

The guest was accidentally checked into a room that had not been serviced yet. They called the front desk and we immediately took them keys for a clean room adjacent to the room they were checked into. We are very sorry that this happened to you. We do suggest in the future calling hotels/resorts/motels direct to book your reservations. This way there is less of a chance for a mistake to be made by a third party booking company. We do feel your review is harsh and unjust. However we respect your decision to leave us a bad review since you were not awarded a refund as you requested. Please contact the third party and see if they will honor a refund since it sounds like a mistake on their part from what you have told us and Trip Advisor.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My lovely & I live in Orlando, have 5 boys, & wanted to get away for the weekend to celebrate our 22nd anniversary. We wanted some place right on the beach with an awesome view & boy did we get it! Heath at the front desk was great, the room was clean & comfortable, & the view, the beach, & the sunsets were outstanding. We walked down to Johns Pass 1 night & got some ice cream & did some shopping. We only ate at 2 different places the entire weekend, Lisa's Café across the street & Seabreeze Grill about 3 miles up the street & both were nice. At Lisa's we had the Grouper Oscar & it was crazy good, not cheap, but crazy good! We also had breakfast there & ordered the best eggs benedict I have ever had.....sorry mom, & my wife had the banana's fosters French toast which was great & should be on the desert menu! Seabreeze is worth the 5 minute drive. We had a very reasonably priced fried platter & it was yummy. They also had some good drink specials, after all it was our anniversary! :) We are ready to go back this weekend & do it all over again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the ocean view, you will be glad you did
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fireproof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stopped here in person and made our reservations for our weekend in Sept to celebrate
our 40th. Later after we had booked This resort was advertising a special for REPEAT guests,
I called and they accomplidated us with the same rate for our two remaining nights.
I am so glad that we stayed here the rooms were clean the grounds were pristine the pool and surrounding area was lovely. The whole staff, Aaron, Cindy and Heath could not have done
enough for us. We will be using this resort only as our "Barefoot Beach Place"
Thanks All for a wonderful visit. I love that the maid never comes into your room.
The basket idea is great!!!!

Lorrane and Jim

Room Tip: Great location for John's Pass Great view from the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Were not to happy with our stay.. it is like a villa.. no service but lovely people working front desk.
Labor day was just too busy and they had too many unruly kids... with parents who were worse....
NOT the Hotels fault... Over all very clean, and updated rooms. Queen bed was a bit small if your use
to King which was not a option... high priced time to go here...would not do another Holiday at this location.
You can walk to Johns Pass and that was nice. If you want a get away and just be at the beach, this is a good choice!

Room Tip: Try for a 4th floor as not to hear a/cs and water flushing! Our place was very noisy! BEACH was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sport99fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
1.6 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
1.0 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Hotel

Property: Barefoot Beach Hotel
Address: 13238 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708-2633
Region: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Madeira Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barefoot Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
43 room beachfront hotel. We are located 2 blocks from John's Pass Village where you will find shopping, dining and entertainment for the whole family! We provide our guests with a friendly and accommodating experience that will keep them coming back for years! Our staff loves the property and its appearance and comfort reflect this. You will wake up to dolphins playing in the Gulf of Mexico and watch breathtaking sunsets that will last a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Barefoot Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel Madeira Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing