We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cost Effective Paradise Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cost Effective Paradise Vacation”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel twice for a week each time and have never been let down. This hotel is literally ON the beach. As soon as you step off the elevator, it's 20 feet to beautiful white sand, and about 200 yards from the Gulf. The hotel may not look like much on the outside, but rooms are beautiful! Each room is connected by a breezeway and the hotel is wrapped around a very nice pool area. The rooms are updated, have LCD televions, and a kitchen area with microwave, fridge, wash area, and dishes. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and full of information for the area. The section of beach that Barefoot sits on is clean, has rentable beach furniture, and plenty of space to sunbathe and swim. The rates aren't bad at all, especially for a beachfront hotel on Madeira Beach. There is plenty of soundproofing; I never heard anyone next to or above me being on the bottom floor.

The hotel is also about 1/4 mile from John's Pass tourist area and walkable at all times of the day and night. Go down, visit some of the great eateries, have some drinks, and not worry about driving anywhere. This hotel is also about 5-10 minutes from a Publix so you can buy food and bring it back for the week if you don't want to eat out, and it's a 5 minute drive from one of the nicest Waffle Houses I've ever been to (not that it says much but I love breakfast food.)

Were there some things I didn't like? Of course, but nothing that will take away rating from this place. The parking is extremely tight and under the hotel which sits up on stilts and make sure when you go in the water during stingray spawning season, you shuffle shuffle shuffle your feet. I was stung by one and they are no frickin joke and it's a long ride to the hospital. Overall.. I will go back again, and again, and probably again.

Room Tip: Try to get oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    199
    47
    22
    20
See reviews for
240
342
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tampa, fl
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

A small hotel on the water. the rooms are adequate and the beach view rooms are nice. I keep returning as it is in an area that the beach is quiet and not crazy. There are nice restaurants near by and the pool is nice when you come in from the sand. A nice place for a get away.

Room Tip: ask for Gulf view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikieryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

What a relief! We were driving down Gulf Boulevard looking for Barefoot Beach Hotel where we had made reservations through Hotels.com and to redeem our free night. I was very leery of the surroundings prior to arriving at Barefoot Beach. The resorts and hotels were either in need of TLC or under construction. What a breath of fresh air to arrive at BBH. The rooms are suites and very clean and roomy. The little kitchenette had everything we needed including a can opener and cork screw. The view was fantastic and the beach was very clean. I like their policy of no one entering your room unless you request it and you leave your dirty towels in a basket outside your door for replacement. I truly cannot think of a single thing that could have made our stay better or more relaxing. The referral the front desk clerk made when we asked for restaurant ideas was 100% on the spot. He recommended Conch Republic and it was fantastic! The only mystery to the room is that we never found a box of tissues during our stay. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Definitely beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights in August and had a great time. Check in was easy at the office at the front of the hotel and staff were really helpful and told us all we needed to know. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the pool which was great for the kids. The beach was bliss, lovely white sand and only a handful of people on it. We loved watching the pelicans dive in the sea and the water was lovely and warm.
The Barefoot Beach Hotel is only a five minute walk from Johns Pass Fishing village with a variety of shops and restaurants. We will definitely be returning as we had such a relaxing time here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillJon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This was a one night stop on the way to our vacation destination. This is an older hotel but our room was updated and had a tile floor which I liked. Our bed was comfortable but the sleep sofa was not for my adult daughter. The beach was clean and not too busy, nice pool and the view was great. There is no continental breakfast. The office is a separate building out front which was no problem. There are many shops and restaurants within a comfortable walking distance. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine Prath... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Rapids
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We spent one night here and glad we only did that. It was very small the second bedroom had a curtain to separate the room from living room. The carpets are very old and there was a huge gap under the front door. The beach was very nice and the the walk was nice. The pool was good but really warm but cant complain it was 102 degrees outside! I wont stay there again but it was fine for the one night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrstMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylors, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

excellent clean, comfortable rooms overlooking an uncrowded beach with a pool and palm covered tables outside for a little privacy. Our mini fridge, microwave, mini kitchen and other amenities made this a perfect spot for my wife and our two sons to "land" when we weren't on the beach or in town seeing the sights or catching up with family. The proprietors were laid back, helpful intuitive. We have stayed on many beaches in condos and houses, but this was by far the most enjoyable for ease and beauty. Parking was ample, a cart and elevator helped get us settled and off to the sand. And the price, believe it or not, better than the sites blocks from the beach! We will be back.

Room Tip: Our room with the queen bed and pull out sofa sleeper had a nice ornamental half height wall between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
1.5 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
1.0 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,726 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
616 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Hotel

Property: Barefoot Beach Hotel
Address: 13238 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708-2633
Region: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Madeira Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Madeira Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barefoot Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
43 room beachfront hotel. We are located 2 blocks from John's Pass Village where you will find shopping, dining and entertainment for the whole family! We provide our guests with a friendly and accommodating experience that will keep them coming back for years! Our staff loves the property and its appearance and comfort reflect this. You will wake up to dolphins playing in the Gulf of Mexico and watch breathtaking sunsets that will last a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Barefoot Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel Madeira Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing