We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed it!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madeira Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Changing Tides Cottages
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed in the Fishing Cottage, which is a small efficiency, but it was exactly what we needed. We were down there to clean out my father-in-law's condo after his death...so I didn't get to spend much time on the property. But my husband needed some relaxing time...and this cottage is the closest to the water (Boca Ciega Bay). Couldn't have asked for anything better!! And the cost was 1/2 of the places on the beach. Highly recommend this place and it's owner Kathy! She's SO friendly and caring!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

This was our fifth or sixth time visiting Changing Tides. Kathy, the owner, has made some lovely upgrades to the garden. The place as always was welcoming and completely relaxing. Nothing fancy, true seashore atmosphere. Everyone was very pleasant and friendly, as were their pets. We spent some days at Fort Desoto park and one day at Picnic Island park dog beaches.

We look forward to our return visit next May.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank harmon65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We spent another long weekend at Changing Tides at the beginning of September and it was just as great as the first time. This time I didn't pack a lot of kitchen stuff, knowing that the cabins are well-stocked. Other than renting a boat one day for a great time on the harbors (great recommendation on a rental place by Kathy), we just did what comes naturally at Changing Tides, and that was relax!! We brought all our food and cooked on the grills provided, but I know there are some excellent restaurants in the area which we may try on our next visit. Highly recommend this lovely gem of a place for a peaceful, relaxing spell away from day-to-day hassles.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a real vacation, a place where you disconnect yourself from technology, work and etc. Very good for the price, our Cottage was the romance, we were cooking at home most nights, wel-equipped rooms. My kids enjoyed so much the kayaks, fishing and beach toys provided by Kathy. Its walking distance to the beach, restaurants and the best ice cream place " candy kitchen ". The other guest were very friendly. The dogs were well behaved as well. My 6 and 12 year old children enjoyed this vacation so much .... Thanks Kathy for the excellent vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank corderolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We loved the quaint, unique cottages. Not only did we have our dog, Nutmeg, with us, we got to play with other guests' dogs. It was very special and ended up being the most romantic weekend I've ever had. My boyfriend proposed!

Room Tip: Each one is unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at Changing Tides for three nights- just got home yesterday (6/23). We live in Orlando and we specifically looked for a place we could bring our slightly bratty rottweiler- most always over the weight limit for other "pet-friendly" places and for being a "restricted" breed. What we wanted from this mini-vacation was simple: a clean comfortable place to hang and do a whole pile of nothing, which was exactly what we did. We brought all our food and I brought kitchen supplies as well, which is totally unnecessary since the cottages are well-supplied. We cooked every night on the outdoor grills and ate on the large deck on the water. We stayed in the Fisherman's cottage, which is their smallest, but also the closest to the water. Literally, if you tripped coming off the porch, you could almost fall into the water. The cottage was very clean and homey and the grounds are very tropical and rustic, exactly what we expected. There were many other people & dogs around and we did a lot of socializing and even met new friends that we exchanged contact info with. Just a laid-back time and one badly needed by both of us. My husband and I talked more than we have in a long time without the distractions of work and home and technology. We didn't bring a laptop but I know other people were enjoying the free wi-fi. We will be talking about this weekend for a long time and we can't want to get back later this summer or fall. Thank you Kathy, Renee and Ace for a great time!!

Room Tip: Fisherman's cottage is smallest but closest to the water. A couple of cottages were more toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

If you bring your dog on vacation this place is great very dog friendly...but ifyou have a boat 22ft or smaller they do not have the right docks for it. Very small cottages and no room service or pool. But if you don't care about those things...then it is a very pleasent and peaceful place to stay.

Room Tip: ask for the biggest one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaylynn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
0.1 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
748 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
184 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#7 of 48 in Treasure Island
146 reviews
1 mi away
Schooner Hotel
Schooner Hotel
#4 of 15 in Madeira Beach
163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Changing Tides Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Changing Tides Cottages

Address: 225 Boca Ciega Dr, Madeira Beach, FL 33708-2882
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madeira Beach
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Changing Tides Cottages of Tampa Bay's Madeira Beach, a family and pet-friendly cottage resort, nestled on a small peninsula in Boca Ciega Harbor, beside the Gulf Beaches. The charming complex is comprised of one and two bedroom cottages, fully furnished, nestled along one hundred and eighty feet of a secluded inlet off Boca Ciega Bay, with boat docks and a water-front deck right next to the water. Changing Tides is located two blocks from the shops and boardwalks of John's Pass. It is also one block from an uncrowded sugar-sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Changing Tides Cottages Hotel Madeira Beach
Changing Tides Hotel
Changing Tides Resort
Changing Tides Cottages Madeira Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing