We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SAVE YOUR MONEY”
Review of Trade Winds Cruise Lines - CLOSED

Trade Winds Cruise Lines
Pinellas Park, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SAVE YOUR MONEY”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I surprised my husband of 22 years with this Casino/Dinner cruise. I bought the tickets through Groupon If it wasn’t for the great friends that we went with and a few entertaining dancers, it sucked 100%. The boat did not leave until 7:20-7:25 pm. There seem to be 450 people on this 500 person capacity ship. You are rushed onto the boat and up to the 3rd floor to eat; only if you are an early boarder, if not there is 2nd and 3rd seating. 3rd seating started eating around 8:30. The ride out was beautiful, nice breeze and a gorgeous sunset. The servers bugged you every 5 minutes to order a drink however, they were all nice. We went to the 2nd floor to see about gambling. If you did not bring cash for drinks, food and gambling and you had to ATM money be prepared. It only gave out in increments of 100’s. Servers said there was another ATM that did increments of 20’s but never found it. The bottom floor only had slots and a portion of them were out. The money window was closed and the A/C did not work down there. There were only restrooms on the 2nd floor and if you had to go, go early in the trip because by halfway through the rooms were trashed; no toilet paper and it smelled like there were sewer issues. Once the gambling was over and we were on our way back in, the fumes from the boat exhaust was coming back onto the outside decks. My friend got a bad migraine from the smell. Hot dogs, BBQ sandwiches and chips were served for a price. Save your money, go out to dinner instead at a nice restaurant on land. Tradewinds should be ashamed to have their name associated with this cruise. I must agree with previous post on this site. Cruise from hell, Alcatraz hell island and ship is a POS.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    3
    5
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apollo Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Two Different Tuesday Reservations, Not Ship Available”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Made reservations for a cruise for Tue, 7/16, got a message at 2 pm on 7/15 that cruise was canceled, no explanation. Made another reservation for a party of 8 on 7/22 for a Tue. cruise on 7/30. Drove to ship on 7/30. No cruise scheduled, did not get a cancellation call. Be careful with this firm.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Pete beach
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good times”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Great 5 hour get a away. 20 bucks for a boat ride and food..
Then I brought an extra 200 to gamble with, we had a blast. Cheap way to drink, party, gamble and eat.. Hardrock would have been way more expensive.. $5 blackjack is ways good:). It's not Ceasars but a good time never the less...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Clean and Loose slots.”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Lady's Night was awesome. My wife has free drinks for the 1st hour of the cruise and the Band was awesome (Treefrogs). This ship is very clean with 1st class employee,s. The slots are loose as well.

We will be cruising on this Casino soon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Madbeachlary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad for the price, eat befote you get there.”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

i went on this trip with my wife and a few other couples we had an awsome time! We bought the groupon so i didnt expect it to be this amazing wonderful once in a lifetime thing. We went on a sunday, everything went smooth we got in, went upstairs to eat (and i was very hungry) and the food was TERRIBLE! I asked the man for one piece of chicken and he said we can only give two at a time so i was like oookkkaaayyyy not really a buffet is it, needless to say i let it go, food wasnt great anyways i was scared id get sick. After we got out on the water and started gambling, it was a good time from then on, the other gamblers at the table were friendly the dealer was friendly (so easy to tell by her expressions she had a bad hand, so i took full advantage). Drinks were good. So apart from the food i had a great time with wife and friends, just eat before you get there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lndnboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trade Winds Cruise Lines also viewed

 
Madeira Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing