We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay -Friendly---”
Review of Schooner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Schooner Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Since I am told by the staff the Hotel is transfering ownership in a week , I can only give my review of when we stayed for the week of april 3rd 2014-----Thank You Sue,Sarah,Sandra ,John ,for a great stay at the Schooner ,which proves again People make the difference no matter where you stay ..Room was clean and right next to the beach ,Fantastic.
.Guests were also polite and pleasant—Trolley access close by , will definetly go back assuming same friendly type staff ----reviewed by Jacques and Nicole—in our late 60’s but young at heart---

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacques b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

THe place is very cozy. Most of the guest we met were nice. Bathrooms have been recently remodeled but are a little tight. However they are fully functionaly. The beds were very comfortable as well. room climate was adjustable

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 925richb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

nothing fancy just right 4 the beach!!!! every thing u need is right there!!!!!! food right across the street johns pass 1.8 miles trolleys u cannot ask for a better place to stay 4 the money. my name is Kenneth Reno and I will B back!!!!!!!

Room Tip: beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We went to the west coast beach area assuming we could get a decent hotel room for two nights at a brand name hotel without reservations. Big mistake! We spent two hours on a Sunday afternoon looking for a decent room and finally ended up at Schooner. Second floor room with steep outside stairs. Supposedly recently renovated....maybe by elementary school students. No hair dryer, no tissues, no dish soap or sink stopper for mini (and I do mini) kitchen (no stove). Extra noisy bed, room open to all outside noises including late night drinking crowd right outside our window. Tile floors were sandy, no rugs of any kind. Toilet so close to sink that it was a major hassle to use. TV mounted so that it was a safety hazard for your head. Over priced for what you got. AC units did not respond to lower temp (72 degrees) setting. No desk personnel until 9 A.M. so check out was a joke. Terrible parking! We would not stay here again if they paid us. This is not a Hotel; it is a small 50's era motel for vacationers who want to sit on the beach and drink.

Room Tip: Don't bother with 211 is you want to get to bed early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thmakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here for a get away with my sisters. Great little place. Right on the water. Friendly helpful staff. Room was clean. No frills, but great for what we were looking for. Good location, not far from John's Pass. Some parking in front of the hotel with plenty more across the street

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Room was cleaned one time in 8 days. Door to adjoining rooms fell off hinges. Had to report twice before it got fixed. Bathtub would not drain properly when taking shower so you stood in water. Small efficiency had no drawers so a family of 3 had to keep everything in suitcases. Had to go and ask for toilet paper so you might want to take an extra roll. Beds were squeaky and mattress had dip in center so you rolled to center. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Redheadwhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Great little pet friendly hotel. We stayed here for a weekend get away and had a really great time. Rooms are cute and clean. Staff is friendly. Close to good restaurants and activities. We will make this our go to beach stay place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TMM_MAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
0.9 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Suites Resort
Beach Suites Resort
#9 of 15 in Madeira Beach
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Hotel

Address: 14500 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708-2180
Region: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Madeira Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Madeira Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range: £83 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Schooner Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small mom and pop resort located right on the sugar white sands of Madeira Beach. Our housekeeping team is beyond amazing and our customer service always goes above and beyond to exceed your expectations. We recently remodeled all of our room in the summer of 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Schooner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Hotel Madeira Beach, Florida
Schooner Madeira Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing