We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pet hotel ever!”
Review of Snug Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Snug Harbor Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We come here several times a year. The location is great. It is right on the bay. If you have a watercraft you can rent a slip from them. The bay has a tendency to smell a bit at low tide, but that is just because the property location is at the end of an alcove. The pool is lovely, clean, heated and deep. It was great to be able to swim right next to another body of water and see the boats and water foul go by. It is really great that the beach is right across the street and there are rarely children at this property as there is nothing in that area for them to do.
The biggest plus for us is that they are pet friendly and have a nice, well landscaped area for the pets.Their pet policy is the best I have ever experienced. Apparently the property has been recently sold and will no longer be managed by TJ and Susan who were great fun. Hopefully the policies and prices will not change with the new owners.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaNickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

Myself and two family members stayed here once for a few nights room had a nice set up for several people to stay in and it had a full size frig and a place to cook. We stayed here for we were buying a fishing boat form the seafood place next to the hotel, so it worked well for us for we could walk to our boat. We also used the pier at night to do a little fishing at night enjoyed it for they have a light at the end of the pier we hooked and let go several fish over our stay. Overall, we had only one problem where there was a very very heavy rain and some water got into the room from a planting area on the rear wall, owner offered us another room but we just cleaned up the water in a few mins. and was not really an issue. IF we have business in the area again, and likely will we most likely will stay again. I like hotels where you see the owner around for they tend to take care of their stuff and any problems.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abryl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This unique hideaway is absolutely the ultimate getaway especially if you are looking for water access and dog friendly! Beautiful Bay view with Tiki Hut and Pool Deck on one side just across the street is the Gulf of Mexico! TJ and Susan are absolutely the best hosts in town!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrreilly05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We were looking for a place we could stop at near St. Pete's beach that would allow our small dog. The owners of this small hotel live on site and have small dogs themselves so they are very pet friendly. The rooms are not that modern but have plenty of character in that they are all themed after plays the actor-owners have enjoyed. We stayed in the "On Golden Pond Room". It had a nice view onto the harbor where we watched birds and the sunrise. Gulf drive is noisy but there is plenty to do in the area.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the harbor away from Gulf Drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatMedart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

This motel is in a perfect location, the beach is across the street, best homemade ice-cream is a 2 minutes walk. John's pass is a 5 minute walk. The trolley stop is right in front and very convenient to ride with a all day or weekly pass. Susan and TJ were very nice when approached. We would not stay here again as we were in Rm. 2 which is next to the busy Gulf Blvd and with old windows and doors it sounds like the traffic is in your room. It could do with an intense clean and new sheets and new windows and doors. We did not feel safe as the old front and back door (which is in the minute bathroom) looks like a good push would open them both. A remodel is definitely in order.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lowfatmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banquo, Owner at Snug Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Over the course of ten years + of ownership, I have never had a guest question their safety while staying at our Inn. It tests credulity to believe someone would stay for two weeks in an efficiency in which they felt less than secure without one word of mention regarding the issues that they reference in the review. We are inspected by AAA, the state of Florida, the City of Madeira Beach and other organizations, and a major part of these inspections is for safety issues. My wife and I live here on site, and are easily reached by phone, or approached on site. I discussed this with my wife and partner and we both agreed that the only thing remarkable about the guest's stay was their lack of contact with us! We barely saw them during their two week March vacation, but we pride ourselves on knowing when to leave folks alone, so we certainly did not have any reason to assume there were any concerns on their part. The unit in question has both a front door and a back door, both made of solid wood, the front opening onto our parking lot, and the back onto our Key West deck. Each of these doors is equipped with commercial grade, professionally installed Schlage locksets (both knob and dead bolt) In addition, as AAA requires, there is an old style "chain lock" which provides added security. Both doors have peep holes, allowing guests to view anyone outside of the door.

As to the lack of contact; the two ladies certainly stayed busy enjoying the Beach and other attractions in the area. And while this wasn't mentioned, it is, after all what we strive for. We find that Same Time Next Year is one of our most popular suites. This is the first complaint we have ever received regarding traffic noise in that particular room. I notice that the guests were from a smaller city in Canada which probably doesn't generate the amount of traffic noise that (any) beach community would during March. There are, of course, quieter hotels further away from Gulf Blvd, but in so far as this is the main (and for the most part only) North/South thoroughfare on the barrier island it speaks as much to the convenience of our location as to what most guests consider a very minor detriment.

As to the fit and finish; humidity and temperature can change rapidly here on the beach, and I will be the first to admit that these changes can cause a bit of "wobble" in some of the doors. It's a constant struggle it seems between wobble and sticky. Apparently the guests were here during a wobbly period, but had they mentioned any problem, the doors are easily adjusted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Each room themed after owners musical productions. Pets allowed, Nice pool,boat slips and wonderful owners.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Trader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

Location was lovely, across the street form the beach and an excellent ice cream shop just two block away. Pool was clean and owners were friendly. We rented unit #8 (Inherit the Wind) and it was okay. My biggest disappointment was with the level of cleanliness. The cleaning staff did come daily with fresh linens and did tidy up but the overall cleanliness of the room was below average. The floors were gungy and the kitchen sink had a ring of black-y scum around the drain that would have easily come off with a good scrub. The bathroom was alright, a little old and worn, I wore my flip flops in the shower, but it was fairly clean. The comforter on the bed was balled and worn looking and the overstuffed chair had a piece of fabric thrown over it to cover an enormous tear. Overall, the place has a nice feel and the location is good but it was not as clean as I expected. There was also a lot of pet hair on the deck and in all of the welcome mats outside each motel door. The tiki table out back was amazing and we had many good evenings out there, however, if you have higher standards for cleanliness (like me) consider that this might not be right. I was traveling with a small child (10 months) and so I was more concerned with cleanliness.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AutumnOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
0.4 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
733 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
0.7 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Schooner Hotel
Schooner Hotel
#5 of 15 in Madeira Beach
162 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
430 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Inn

Address: 13655 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708-2519
Region: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Snug Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Inn is a newly renovated intimate, relaxed waterfront inn located in Madeira Beach, Florida. With our newly updated rooms & state of the art pool area, you can enjoy a relaxing day in our new King Size Tempur-Pedic beds or enjoy the sunshine & tranquil Florida Flair lounging around our heated pool. Guests will also be able to enjoy a sunrise over the bay, sunset over the Gulf, or just simply tour around the beaches & attractions located near Snug Harbor Inn. Our small cozy Hotel is a place to enjoy what you've dreamed your Florida vacation would be at the best kept secret in Madeira Beach. Our studio hotel rooms offer all the comforts of home, including a place for your boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Snug Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Inn Madeira Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing