We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just like home”
Review of Surfs Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfs Inn
Reviewed 28 March 2007

I have been going for 4 years and couldn't say one bad word about the place. I love the people and will continue to go until condos take over. Did I mention I loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank topmonkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2007

What a super place to stay, the owners are down to earth folks,The house keepers where heaven sent.I will go back in a heart beat, Thanks for a great relaxing time.Tammie from kewaunee wi

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank karaoketammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2006

Nice small motel right on the beach, pool area is very clean with lots of chairs. beach always seems empty and quiet. Close to many resturants and stores. The staff is very helpful. Too bad it's going to be torn down for more condos, which are not needed. I would stay there again if i could.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank rmia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2006

The Surfs Inn motel absolutely met all our expectations. We were not disappointed in any way. The key thing here is "expectations." We knew this to be an older, mom-and-pop motel and so we were not disappointed when it was.

The highlights:
* The hotel is on the sugar-sand beach. Literally. Our room was in the Surfs Inn II, the non-smoking building, which is long and narrow and runs perpendicular to the beach. Our room (202) was on the beach-end, which means the patio outside the door sits on the beach, provides direct access to the beach and has a wonderful view of the beach. In fact, we could see the beach and ocean through the window from our bed.
* Amenities. Yes, there are a few. The room had a little kitchenette that was well-worn but very usable and we indeed used it for several meals. There was a charcoal grill very close to our room which we used to fix steaks. The motel has a pool that is actually very nice, well kept and very clean. Also, our room's patio had a table and chairs so we could eat outside and relax right at the beach.
* The room, although well-worn, was very comfortable and clean. The air conditioner worked well and kept the room not only cool but dry. The shower, despite its low shower head, had great water pressure. The room had a nice big closet, good tv with lots of channels, a table and chairs and a sink outside the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable.
* Location, location, location. In addition to being right on the beach, the motel is just down the street from John's Pass, a great little shopping/restaurant area in Madeira Beach. We drove there but there is also a trolley that runs there. Also, you have quick access to St. Petersbrug (don't miss the Dali musuem), Tampa and Clearwater.

I have no serious complaints about this place. I wish the checkout time had been later (it's 10:30 a.m.). The towels could have been a little bigger and fluffier. I wish we'd planned to stay longer. And I wish there weren't plans to tear the place down (apparently next summer) to make room for more condos (of which there are already tons).

The price at the Surfs Inn is fantastic. We paid $78 for beachside room and loved every bit of it.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta GA
12
Reviewed 16 July 2006

This hotel was horrible!!!! It is not clean. I do understand it is to be torn down soon. It can't be soon enough. Stay somewhere else if you want an enjoyable vacation. I highly recommend the Island Inn in Treasure Island. It is beautiful and enjoyable

Stayed: July 2006
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2006

A very nice Mom & Pop motel with great beach front appeal. Even at low tide not more than 150 yards from pool deck to water line. Very clean beach. The pool area is very nice. Well maintained and no glass policy is strictly enforced. Staff is very friendly and can't do enough for you. Units are clean and well maintained but not new.

The motel is small and cozy. Repeat visitors abound which speaks well for the establishment. Good location...mid Madeira Beach between Johns Pass and the North Beaches of Reddington. Golf courses close by. Great views of the summer sunsets. Prices are extremely attractive and of very good value.

Only down side is it is not a non smoker's haven. There are very few non smoking rooms and most of the guests (while we were there) do smoke.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RAShort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Missouri
12
Reviewed 11 June 2006

My family loved staying here. It is a small, quiet place right on the beach. We felt like we had the beach to ourselves. It was wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madeira Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
700 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
0.6 mi away
Madeira Bay Resort
Madeira Bay Resort
#7 of 15 in Madeira Beach
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Breeze Condominiums
Sea Breeze Condominiums
#6 of 17 in Madeira Beach
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfs Inn

Address: 14010 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708-2392
Region: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Madeira Beach
Price Range: £57 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfs Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Surfs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfs Hotel Madeira Beach
Surfs Inn Madeira Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing