We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, but...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madeira Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beach Place Condos at John's Pass Village
Lancaster, SC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location, but...”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

...the property needs to be spiffed up. One hot, smelly elevator to service that many floors with that many units is ridiculous. Our unit was large and nice enough, but we found the refrigerator full of sand and the sink drain leaking copiously upon check-in.

Room Tip: Select side view units that end in "05", i.e. "305". These offer nice views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    30
    15
    21
    18
See reviews for
71
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Ok. Upon arrival I we super excited about the location! Just across from John's Pass it was going to be great walking over for food, ice cream, and shopping! When we got up to the room I was underwhelmed. It is pretty basic which I was prepared for. Our dishwasher was broken and was supposed to be fixed on that Monday but they said it wouldn't be fixed until Friday. Well we left very early Saturday to head back home so we didn't even think about the dishes! They called charging us a fee for cleaning! I was really disappointed in the overall experience. They even commented that we had chocolate smears on the window (with kids you got to accept stuff). What am I supposed to do go buy windex and clean on my last day at the beach? So I rate just o.k.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chicks2137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Some units are nicer than others, given I have stayed here once and visited another time, but even the common area is nasty. Let's start with the elevator. Only ONE for entire building and the stair case was locked, so you couldn't go up the stairs. This ONE elevator resulted in ling waits and cramped conditions for almost every ride. It was also smelly and sauna like. The parking is horrible! I have a three bedroom unit and only one pass for parking is given. Good luck with that one.

The units, although some are more undated than others, are dirty. Not properly cleaned, just surface level.

The staff "Gary" is rude and unaccommodating. I will never stay here again, and I would suggest you don’t either.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATasteoftheLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

First, the daily staff on the property are great folks and very friendly. They should be excluded from Unit reviews and owner communications. They have no control over the physical qualities of the units. Second, I wish TripAdvisor would break these reviews out by unit numbers because each unit is owned by individuals and they all have different levels of maintenance. (Our friends rented Unit 207 and it was beautiful. Get it if you can.)
Unit 208 in MHO is not a great unit. It's run down. The sliding glass door track was hard to open and sounded awful when we tried to open it. We actually cleaned and lubricated the sliding door track. The handle was also partially broke off. The onsite staff put on a new handle. Shouldn't a broken glass door handle have been caught with the previous rental post-inspection?
Walking around the unit in bare feet produced black feet. When was the last time carpets were steam cleaned? The filter in the a/c was filthy. Looks like it hadn't been changed in months. Although the bathroom had some newer bathroom counters the showers were old and in bad shape. Note to owner: showers and tubs should always be well maintained and first to get replaced. I would rather have a new shower and older sinks, then the other way around. The front room bathroom/shower needs more lighting, the shower is too dark. The light switches had dirt built up in the crevices. Baseboards and walls need new paint, the cheapest way to make the place look like it's cared for.

Room Tip: Read through all the recent reviews for room conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tpmcmaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Unit #312 is very nice, great price. Elevator is older and very slow would be my only complaint. Beds are very comfortable as is the living room furniture. Decor is very nice in a light beachy feel. Balcony is nice and private with a large sliding door into living area and a separate door into master. Slept with the master door open every night and would awake to the view of the beautiful blue ocean and sugary white sand. Only about 20 mins from St Pete/Tampa airport. Took 5 young adults with us and having Johns Pass Village right across the street made it great for a variety of Resturants and shops for them to chose from. Publix grocery store just a few miles down the road. If you are in Madeira Beach be sure to take a drive or the trolly down to Historic Pass A Grille Beach, most beautiful beach/ocean in the US in my opinion! Take something to collect shells in as the lovely beach is loaded with them. Another fun evening adventure is to drive into Tampa to the Hardrock Casino. In Tampa there is also a great Cheesecake Factory! Be sure to try the pizzeria at Johns Pass as well, very VERY good and sold by the slice if your not too hungry. Great place to Stay would defiantly stay at Beach Place unit #312 again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Marley5038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelligrews, Newfoundland and Labrador
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were originally booked into unit 204 this unit has now been taken off the rental listing. We were moved to unit 308. What a difference. Beautiful room overlooking the beach. The location is perfect for Johns Pass. Just a walk under the lift bridge. Dyann in the office was exceptional. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Welshnewfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunHostResorts, General Manager at Beach Place Condos at John's Pass Village, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Beach Place. Thank you for your nice comments regarding the property and our staff and we are happy that you ultimately enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

First off let me say, never have in this day and age met a more racist, and unreasonable man as the manager who supposedly "takes care" of this place. Nothing worked, not the elevator, not the wifi,not the pool....the pool for christ sake. The rooms are also a joke; uncomfortable beds, the shower was horrible. The choice between a trickling stream or a painful fire hose and it couldn't be turned off scalding. It was HORRIFYING! There were bugs everywhere and half way through our stay a strange man with a dog let himself our room without letting us know and started spraying chemicals!!! It was quite disturbing. And now back to the management...the management was appalling. I have NEVER EVER heard someone so vile spew such racially charged hate speech around me and more importantly my young children. This place was a terrible experience and unless you want discrimination and maintenance issues ruining your vacation i would STAY FARR AWAY!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank steppinonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunHostResorts, General Manager at Beach Place Condos at John's Pass Village, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Beach Place. As onsite managers we are concerned with your experience. You are referring to your rental manager, not the onsite property/rental manager.
It appears that you rented your units from an offsite rental manager and your concerns should be forwarded to them. None of the Beach Place onsite management team recalls any interaction with your party. Further, the onsite management notified all incoming guests weeks in advance that the pool would be closed for a week and that arrangements had been made to use the pool facilities next door. Apparently your rental manager did not apprise you of the situation in advance or offer the alternative pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
0.3 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
704 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madeira Bay Resort
Madeira Bay Resort
#7 of 15 in Madeira Beach
325 reviews
3.5 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Place Condos at John's Pass Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Place Condos at John's Pass Village

Property: Beach Place Condos at John's Pass Village
Address: 12901 Gulf Ln, Madeira Beach, FL 33708-2682
Region: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Madeira Beach
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Beach Place Condos At John`s Pass Village Hotel Madeira Beach
Beach Place Condos At John's Pass Village Madeira Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing