We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“West Coast tour - Very Bad experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Via Air Tours

Via Air Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$127.99*
and up
Fly a Plane in Orlando - No Experience or License Required
Ranked #7 of 14 things to do in Maitland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Via AirTours by ViaAir is an airplane adventure that takes sightseeing to a whole new level. An aerial tour is the only way to fully appreciate views that are normally not accessible from being seen from the ground. With over 1,000 flights, experienced pilots, caring staff and a family friendly environment, Via AirTours is quickly becoming one of Central Florida’s top “must do” attractions. Some guests have seen: The Wizarding World of Harry Potter, Magic Kingdom, Shamu Stadium, Animal Kingdom, Islands of Adventure, Old Town, Sea World.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“West Coast tour - Very Bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I booked this tour hoping to have a great time and also security especially with the expensive amount we had to pay. We had 7 plane trips planned to get us around 5 different cities.
Unfortunately we all suffered from the government shutdown which greatly affected this tour since all the parks we intended to visit were shutdown. We only go to three different cities which are Montery, San Francisco, and Las Vegas using only 4 plane trips out of the 7 plane trips planned.
When I asked Mauhiva airlines to refund me the cost of these UNUSED plane trips since they are a large expense I had to pay that they NEVER got to use, they refused ! Citing that the government shutdown was out of their responsibility, well I agree on the second part, it was out of ALL people's hands, but why scam the poor group of expenses you never used using that excuse? If we payed for 6 nights in a hotel, i want my 6 nights, if you gave me 4 nights i want the 2 nights unused back !! Same thing for the unused plane trips. The second excuse they gave me is that they compensated the losses with a vegas show (Blueman show) which was a 100$ tickets maximum, and a bus tour to the Grand Canyon;s west rim, a bus TOUR !! and I paid to get there by plane. Those two barely covered the Yosemete and Cedar park tours and NOT the plane travel cost....
It is a shame that now I'm preparing a law suit to refund my rights and therefore take my advice, do not plan your trip with this company as they don't have an ethical reasoning or responsibility towards their customers.
Plan your trip yourself using internal flights such as Southwestern or spirit, the Amtrak train is a great speedy transport alternative between California cities and will save you so much time and money.
Never Again with Mauhiva or any other company.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Mazenrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauivaAir, Manager at Via Air Tours, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

At Mauiva, we strive to provide all of our guests with a truly unique and hassle-free vacation experience and we were quite surprised to hear of your dis-satisfaction.

While many of the attractions associated with the Western Wonder itinerary do encompass visits to national parks, the pending threat of the government shutdown was a situation which we at Mauiva monitored extremely closely and took seriously. This was done so that other experiences could be added to the tours in the event the groups were not able to visit the ones effected by the shutdowns, which of course ultimately occurred through no fault of Mauiva or the guests on our tours.

Under the government shutdown, Mauiva made attempts to contact all guests whose Western Wonder itinerary were effected by the national park closures and offered full refunds up to 24 hours prior to departure if requested. The option for refund was offered to confirmed guests in the event they did not want to travel knowing they may not be able to see or visit some of the highlighted places associated with the tour due to the park closures and as well because itineraries were being altered to provide more time in some of the other top destinations which are also featured as part of the tour.

Your arrival for the tour 2 days after receiving our advisement that alternate arrangements may be in place for your trip, and as well as no communication regarding cancellation or refund, implied an acceptance of an altered itinerary under such circumstances.

While it is unfortunate that the recent government shutdown not only effected our tours but as well those with other companies and organizations over that period as well, the Mauiva AirCruise provides excellent value for price when compared to the alternative of booking each of the components of the tour individually.

While your request focuses directly on unused airfare, please understand that the AirCruise vacation experience you booked, does not have subsequent airline tickets included that can be refunded. The total amount of the package encompasses all components which include hotel stays, transfers (air and land), meals and porterage to the attractions, gratuities, and dedicated travel host which are all part of the experience.

Additionally, in the case of altered itineraries associated with the government shutdowns, funds which normally would have been applied to a hotel in Cedar City for example, would have been applied to offset costs associated with either additional nights or added attractions on the trip.

Unfortunately we are unable to offer the original refund after consumption of the services provided nor for reasons mentioned above, be able to offer compensation for any unused airline tickets being these do not exist. This said, should you still have questions, we would be happy to discuss all in greater detail with you as we have previously reached out to you by phone, but to date have received no reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    13
    3
    3
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Western Wonder Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have just returned from the 7 day Western Wonder tour. It was excellent! Our group consisted of people from all over the world....all english speaking. Our tour leader Hella was excellent, helpful and professional. The hotels and dining options were excellent on all counts. Each day was packed full and all of us retired to our rooms to sleep. In our opinion this is the best way to see many places in a short period of time. The crew on the plane were professional, always helpful. We did have a couple of glitches like a mudslide in Zion that occurred on the road so we had to wait while they cleared it. Weather is weather and you deal with what you get. All in all this was a wonderful adventure and we would recommend this tour to anyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank queenscity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Mauiva Western Wonders ... Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

If you want to see a lot of great sights, sites and attractions in a short space of time with everything arranged - no airport or hotel check-ins, luggage taken care of, excursions arranged, meals taken care of, plus a private plane, coach and dedicated tour guide this is for you.

Mauiva is such a great concept it is almost unbelievable how much is packed into a week's travel in terms of places visited. However with all the headache and hassle of travelling i.e. check ins, luggage, arranging excursions, meals etc taken care of, you're left to enjoy the trip. And what a trip it is. Very well organised with plenty of memorable highlights.

If you stay at the Sheraton in LA before and after the trip ... recommended ...they will hold luggage for you whilst you are away and you can also leave valuables in a safe deposit box.
Pack a warm jacket for Monterey and San Fransisco it can be cold and good walking shoes are a must.

I would recommend Mauiva without hesitation and will certainly do another trip when they add to their itineraries.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauivaAir, Manager at Via Air Tours, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Hi there!

Thank you for the kind words and recommendation. We're so glad you enjoyed your Mauiva AirCruise Western Wonder Experience!

We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Western Wonder trip changes without notice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

in Theory a great concept.
We booked the trip directly with Mauiva for two reasons Alcatraz and Grand Canyon.
When we started the trip we found that Mauiva had canceled the trip to Alcatraz whithout any notice to us.
Our children had promised the school to make a special article on Alcatraz when the scool started again.
At least Mauiva could have worned us regarding the changes but no info and that is a big disapointment to all of us and really not something you expect from a proffesional traveling company. WE tried to book ticket ourselves but it was sold out
Its bad that one of two reasons to book a trip is removed without any info to us, actually they should give a discount to compensate, but i´m sure they will not consider this any way.
This is to bad Mauiva and unproffesional and we will advise other who book this trip to be sure and check that you get what you pay for and that the itinary is what is was when you booked the trip

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauivaAir, Manager at Via Air Tours, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, we truly value your input.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for missing the Alcatraz Island Tour during your AirCruise. It was not our intention to negatively affect your children’s’ schoolwork or your family’s vacation. We were unable to secure tickets to tour Alcatraz Island for your departure due to the limited advance ticket allotment Alcatraz allows on a daily basis. When we were notified of this, we sent out updated itineraries to what we thought were all guests traveling with us. Unfortunately, we were unaware you did not receive this notification until we reviewed your post on TripAdvisor.com. For this we apologize and thank you for making us aware of this miscommunication. We provided the Bridge to Bridge Bay boat tour as a replacement, which provided incredible views from underneath the Golden Gate and Oakland Bay bridges as well as views of landmarks such as Alcatraz Island, Coit Tower, the Ferry Building, Transamerica Pyramid and San Francisco’s urban skyline.

We have taken corrective action to research and rectify this error and have added procedural measures to insure updated itineraries are sent out to absolutely everyone when these types of itinerary changes are necessary.

Thank you again for giving us your valuable feedback. We really hope you enjoyed the rest of your Western Wonder Experience. Please contact us directly at support@mauiva.com or +1 407-641-4108.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mauiva Western Wonder Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I was in the USA for work and had a week to travel with a friend. For people visiting the USA from overseas, you cannot underestimate the distances between locations, and the time it would take to get there. This tour enables you to see it all, especially for people who value their time. Mauiva outdid themselves in terms of the organisation (flowed like clockwork), skill and knowledge and hospitality of our guide (Eric), great flight service (Alison). They've thought of everything! I had always dreamed of seeing the Grand Canyon and Yosemite, but this offered up so much more. Bryce Canyon was incredible. The hotels were good quality. Even in the more remote locations, where hotel facilities and nightlife were a bit lacking they made up for it by letting us organise our own party! It's not a cheap option, but the value far outweighs the cost. Small suggestion for improvement is to make the whale watching optional e.g. see the Monterey aquarium instead... and a glass of wine with the evening meal wouldn't cost much more. All in all I thoroughly recommend this option.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DrWalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauivaAir, Manager at Via Air Tours, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Hi there!

Thank you for the kind words. We do take the time to create a memorable and valuable experience for all of our guests. We're glad you enjoyed AirCruise and we'll be sure to pass along the praise to Eric and Alison! We hope to see you again.

All the best,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Via Air Tours also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Via Air Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing