We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thurston House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Maitland B&B and Inns
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Everything we wanted”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Spent 2 wonderful nights here. Carole has thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms are large, immaculate, and beautifully decorated. The beds/linens are very comfortable, and extra towels, chocolates, candles, fridge access with water bottles, contribute to a great experience. The breakfasts are amazing: expertly prepared food, a lovely dining room, a beautifully set table. They are a perfect way to start your day. The location is convenient, with many restaurants, Charles Hosmer Morse Museum (Tiffany Glass), and Harry Leu Gardens(Camellias and Roses) nearby, and 25 minutes to Universal Studios. Our only regret was that we didn't have time to lounge on the rope hammock on the second floor porch, maybe next time...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishpondfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
35
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
TAMPA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the Thurston House Bed and Breakfast.
It was a great time of peace and R & R for us. Carole and Joe are wonderful hosts and you become part of the family or you can do your own thing. The setting of the lake, porch chats and especially the delicious breakfast that Carole serves makes you want to go back for another stay.
It is hard to pick another B & B when this one is first class. Thanks again Carole and Joe!

Room Tip: All the rooms in the Thurston House are beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUDY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

There is a good reason that Orlando had to grow southward when Disney became the 800 million pound gorilla of the region: because Winter Park and Maitland abut it on the north side. They are snug and decidedly non-Disney-fied. That is, they represent Old Florida in many ways-- the best ways. Their zoning rules are so tight that very few lodging establishments have been able to get traction in their areas, that is, in the areas that really count. I have felt for years that the Thurston House B&B represented the pinnacle of the select few good lodging choices in Winter Park and Maitland. I tried for multiple years in a row to get a room there, but as they only have 3 rooms, any event worth traveling to the Orlando area found them booked up months in advance.

I must have tripped into a cancellation when making plans to go to the Winter Park Sidewalk Arts festival this March-- we were able to get a room! Couldn't wait. The wait was worth it. The gracious hosts, the Ballards, are originally from Massachusetts, and the appurtenances of their Maitland establishment are classics of New England's historic homestead culture.

The home is hidden away on a small lake, next to a woods, just the way a "suburban getaway" ought to be. Large screened-in porches with comfortable chairs; charming gardens; a hidden second-story porch with a hammock; stained glass, art and furniture that can steal your attention when you are not expecting it-- the list just goes on and on. I can best describe the lodging room as one that pampers you-- comfort and elegance, with all the little extras.

Carole's breakfasts were different each day, and every day brought another surprising dish that was as good as it was unique. We could not have felt more welcome, comfortable and at-home than this. I grew up in the area, so knew what dining and sightseeing attractions (non-Disney!) we wanted, but Carole was at the ready with good suggestions and helpful comments on our choices.

Such quality doesn't come cheap, but for this special trip we felt that the rate was within reason, especially considering that the few other select choices had some not easily dismiss-able disadvantages. We would go back there at the drop of a hat, a feather, a hint-- what have you!

Room Tip: All three rooms are excellent, on second floor (no elevator), differing mainly in size and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buzmanlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We came to Thurston House near the end of our vacation in Florida. We couldn't have found a better place to spend our last two nights before heading to Sanford (just 1/2 hour away) to take the Amtrak Auto Train back up North. We were greeted personally by our hostess Carole. We enjoyed wine & cheese with Carole & Joe before heading out to dinner to a wonderful little Italian Restaurant recommended by our hosts. Coming from the Northeast we were suprised to find an excellent Italian Rest. in Florida. The next day we went to the nearby "Audubon Bird of Prey" sanctuary. The peacefulness of the expansive screened-in porches was like a warm cocoon enveloping you in it's warmth. At night I heard the owls as I relaxed on the porch. Individual tables in the Dining Room allowed you either privacy or social chatter with other guests. Breakfasts were delicious and you definitely didn't leave hungry. Thank you Carole and Joe for a beautiful, peaceful end to a less than relaxing vacation !!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully appointed and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank innkeepersupreme670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Maitland House is very close to Winter Park and Orlando. It is tucked-away, off the road and has a beautiful lake view, large porch with comfy chairs, magnificent bkfst. The O"Heir Room is elegant, comfy bed, desk, two chairs, internet access. Private bathroom with tub/shower.

Innkeepers Carole and Joe are more than friendly and accomodating. The bkfst is scrumptious, lots of snacks, drinks, cheese/wine in the p.m. Why stay at a hotel?

I will come back here again?

Room Tip: Check the website, I stayed in the O'Heir Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynn e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAMPA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We had a wonderful relaxed stay at the Thurston House plus beautiful and delicious food.
Our room, porch view to the lake and many extra's made this a delight.
Carole and Joe are very friendly people that make you feel right ar home.
John and I celebrated our 2nd Anniversary at the Thurston House.
We look forward to a return stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JUDY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My husband and I chose this place for our honeymoon. Carole and Joe were very professional but yet very welcoming and accommodating. We felt as if it was our home, it's a clean and a beautiful house in a wonderful town. It was a romantic getaway with lots of privacy but yet near the town and Orlando. We could not have chosen a more perfect place. I recommend this place for any occasion, it beats any chain by a 100%. We are planing to visit many more times. We are lucky to live only 2 hours away, because it truly is a piece of heavan. Carole and Joe are fantastic Inn keepers. Oh, and breakfast is DELICIOUS and fresh.

Room Tip: O'haire room is the best, you get an amazing view especially at sunrise...WOW!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chefsousou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maitland
2.2 mi away
The Alfond Inn
The Alfond Inn
#1 of 2 in Winter Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Orlando North
Sheraton Orlando North
#2 of 6 in Maitland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Orlando-Maitland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Winter Park Village Area
12.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#145 of 336 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
2.1 mi away
Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park
Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park
#2 of 2 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurston House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurston House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Thurston House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 851 Lake Ave, North Orlando, Maitland, FL 32751-6306
Region: United States > Florida > Maitland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Maitland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thurston House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurston House is central to everything, making us perfect for both business and pleasure travel. We are in the heart of Maitland, and 5 minutes to Winter Park, 10 minutes to downtown Orlando, 30 minutes to the attractions and one hour to beaches. Our three queen-sized guest rooms offer all modern amenitites. Our 8 acre lakefront setting provides our guests with quiet accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thurston House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurston House Bed And Breakfast Maitland, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing