We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1Night, Wanting more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thurston House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Maitland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 April 2009

We were only able to get away for the weekend, so we picked the Thurston House and were so very pleasantly surprised. Carole and Joe were wonderful, hospitable hosts and we enjoyed their fabulously restored 1800's home as well. The little extras we found in our room were over the top. Carole had dark chocolate on the bed she'd found from a nearby specialty chocolate shop. Snacks, bottled water were available, Peach Schaupps on the mantle in our room, soft thirsty towels in the bathroom, and VERY clean accommodations! The room was decorated impeccably, cranberry walls, lace curtains facing the lake and even a train whistle in the distance. We had a delicious hot breakfast the following morning with all the fixin's and wished we could have stayed a few more days. This was definitely a "pearl" that we wish to come back to visit again and again!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue12181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2009

I can not say enough good things about this B&B! The attention to detail, the great service, the beautiful house & room, the hosts, oh, and the breakfast! All within walking distance to a beautiful lake, park, shopping and restaurants. We enjoyed seeing the "other side of Florida", meaning a great 1800's house in central Florida. Our only experience of FL before has been the southern parts in beach locations and in modern FL style houses. Our hosts, Carole & Joe were just the best. Wireless internet was great!
We have stayed in 4 other B&B's and they can't touch this one! Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peddler35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

My husband and I stayed for the weekend for our anniversary. Carole and Joe are fabulous! We toured the historic Waterhouse Residence and Carole knows alot about the history of Maitland. We entered our room to rose petals on the bed, candies on the pillow and a wonderful gift for our anniversary that we will treasure forever, a framed photo of the house!! We can't say enough wonderful things about this place! We will most certainly be going back!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ddees05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

My husband and I were searching for a quick trip away from home that would rejuvinate us. The Thurston House along with the surrounding area is definitely a must see. This is our third visit to this B&B and every time we revisit, we are never disappointed. When we arrived, Carole and Joe had wine and cheese waiting for us as well as my favorite flower. Their breakfast is fresh, personalized and definitely something to look forward to each morning. The Inn is the cleanest B&B we have come across and Carole pays special attention to the details to make her guests feel welcome. They also treat you as if you are part of their family. My husband and I are in a customer oriented business so we tend to have higher expectations. Carole and Joe continue to surpass them. We look forward to our next relaxing getaway.
Katie and Victor

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tampa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Everything I needed was there ... a cozy room, wonderful bed, big tub with a bathrobe, my own iron, a tv, a desk looking out at the lovely garden, delicious breakfast, a snack on the porch ... even candy on the pillow.
Absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lighthousenoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank perarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RED80Fraggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thurstonbb, Owner at Thurston House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maitland
The Alfond Inn
#1 of 2 in Winter Park
737 reviews
Sheraton Orlando North
#2 of 6 in Maitland
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park
#2 of 2 in Winter Park
270 reviews
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurston House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurston House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 851 Lake Ave, North Orlando, Maitland, FL 32751-6306
Region: United States > Florida > Maitland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Maitland
Price Range: £168 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thurston House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurston House is central to everything, making us perfect for both business and pleasure travel. We are in the heart of Maitland, and 5 minutes to Winter Park, 10 minutes to downtown Orlando, 30 minutes to the attractions and one hour to beaches. Our three queen-sized guest rooms offer all modern amenitites. Our 8 acre lakefront setting provides our guests with quiet accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thurston House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurston House Bed And Breakfast Maitland, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing