We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My kinda place”
Review of Siesta Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Siesta Motel
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My wife and I were on a bike ride to Key West in February and booked this motel for two nights. For us it was the best. The room was clean and we had fresh towels both days. It was less than an hour ride to Key West from there. The owner took the time to point out a few places to eat, gave us a local map and we had a good time. If you want a good clean place to sleep with a Dunkin Donuts across the street, park your bike by your door, this is it.

Room Tip: Go to Saltys bar and grill just a few miles down on the right before 7 mile bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

Before we traveled to the Keys we made a reservation at this motel. The website describes this place a spacious and ALL rooms having two double/full beds. So we booked a room as having 2 beds was the only requirement we needed.
When we arrived, there was no one in the office to greet us or any sign of this place being open. There was a phone outside the "office" saying to ring for assistance. He did say he would be right there. About 5 minutes later he came running across the road. ( The website says the office is open 8am-8pm, this already looks unprofessional)
As we were about to check in, he claimed that the room was one bed, not the two beds that I booked and is on my confirmation email. He then got annoyed at the fact that we would suggest that he was wrong, even though I had the confirmation on my phone in front of him. We did look at the room, and it was not spacious at all the bed was literally a foot away from the kitchenette. It was not up to par and not what we booked.
We told him this was unacceptable as it was not what we reserved and we could not stay. I was traveling with my Uncle, we needed two beds. He gave us his word that he would credit back the deposit. However we found out my Visa was charged the day before we even arrived and he has yet to credit back the money. He didn't hold up his end of the deal, and acted like he didn't care and acted angry towards guests of his establishment.

I was very disappointed with this experience and warn fellow travelers that this place is not what the website depicts it as.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Stanley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We were placed in the #5 corner room. Extremely small, dresser drawers paint peeling off, bed was old, worn and squeeky. AC was loud and would not run continuously. AC cords hanging down the wall. Lamp on the wall was plugged into an extention cord that ran behind the half fridge. The wonderful 10inch color TV had snow all over the screen and the cords hanging down the wall. Not worth the money, noisy uncomfortable and so we left after one night. We went across the road to COCONUT BAY and had a great experience there. WILL NEVER GO BACK TO SEISTA MOTEL!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: please dont ever stay here. needs to be bulldozed down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chojnickijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

The room was very comfortable and clean. Management was friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone in the area. We hope to go back to the Keys next year, and hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank larryncheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

This is not a fancy hotel or resort, it is an inexpensive, clean, comfortable motel. The rooms are large and ours had a full size refrigerator in it. The manager was very nice and helpful (Thanks Frank). We would stay here again and plan to.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Glnsgrl561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

Clean, large Rooms, very Friendly owner.
Perfect if you don't Want luxury and stay weithin your budget.
Rooms equipped with fridge, tv and microwaves.
The close by Road doesn't disturb. Wifi Access could be be better.
Dunkin donuts just a des Yards away

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kaaaarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

I ve never been so mad in my entire life. I ve been to all over the world and stayed at different hotels. From the luxurious os concorde la fayette in paris to a simple motel in texas. And what truly defines a good hotel is service.

The manager of this motel is the most uneducated person I have ever met, he doesnt even show the less amount of respect to its customers.

I just dont want to write anymore about this motel and its manager because I dont like recalling bad moments in my life. I just warn everybody to stay away of this motel at all costs, I would prefer to sleep in my car instead of being close to this place and this person.

Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Elias P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon Shores
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
2.7 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
2.6 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
0.2 mi away
Kingsail Resort Motel
Kingsail Resort Motel
#13 of 16 in Marathon
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Motel

Address: 7425 Overseas Hwy, Marathon Shores, Marathon, FL 33050-3130
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon > Marathon Shores
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon Shores
Price Range: £139 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Siesta Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for having the cleanest rooms in paradise and affordable prices year round.We feature refrigerators, coffee makers, and cable television in every room plus we have several larger rooms with full kitchen facilities. Built on 3 spacious lots we have beautifully landscaped tropical gardens with barbecue grills and deck chairs in the rear of the motel for your use. The Siesta Motel has been a vacation favorite for years throughout the Keys. Known for having the cleanest rooms in paradise and some of the lowest prices year round ? all the top fishing guides keep their clients here. Minutes from Sombrero and Bahia Honda beach, Dolphin Research Center, Crane Point Hammock, Key West and shopping - we are centrally located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Siesta Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Marathon Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing