We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst motel in Florida Keys”
Review of Siesta Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Siesta Motel
Vasteras, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst motel in Florida Keys”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was possibly the absolutely worst place I ever stayed in. Our three bedroom suite turned out to be a beaten up decrepit trailer home from 1975. Everything was broken and beat up, the roof was leaking and it reaked of mildew. The beds were absolulety awful and their slogan "the cleanest place in the Keys" was a joke. I had unfortunately paid in advance, and the owner was very unfriendly when we complained. We actally paid more for this place than any other on our whole vacation in Florida. Needless to say, we checked out after one night. The pictures on the webite showed only the ordinary motel rooms which seemed to be alright, so there was no way of telling. Avoid this place!

Room Tip: Avoid this place, especially the so-called three bedroom suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anna Elisabet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    44
    24
    24
    69
See reviews for
52
66
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bushnell, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

If your looking for a cheap hotel without a lot of frills, this is the place. $90 a nite in the heart of the keys. Close to everythign. Don't stay here if your looking for luxury. Older TV, older beds, tiny bathroom etc. Just the place we needed for our trip. Unless you plan on staying in your romm the whole time what does it matter. Staff was beyond friendly. Gave us clean cloths to wipe fishing gear down and map with locations to good restuarants and fishing spots. Would defiently return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obstrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My wife and I are both in our 60's, and we spent two nights here in April (2013). For us, it was a brief retrospective odyssey back to our newlywed era, forty-plus years ago. We rented the Large Kitchenette, and were extremely satisfied with its cleanliness and amenities, with one exception -- the internet Wi-Fi signal was a bit weak and sporadic. Our hosts were quite friendly and congenial, and the price was within our fixed-income budget. We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACCSABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPB, FL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My family and I stayed here over Memorial Weekend and we really enjoyed our stay. Our room was spacious with 2 double beds and a roll away bed which we did not use. The door faced the road and yes we heard the traffic, this did not bother us as we only went to our rooms to get cleaned up and sleep. The interior style is dated but everything was clean. The air conditioner worked great and the tv did too. WiFi is free so make sure you ask Frank (owner) to give you the password when you check in. We did not use the small oven or the kitchen area at all but we did see a sign that said if you do use the kitchen area you are responsible to clean up your mess as this is not included in the daily pickup/cleaning of the rooms. We were fine with that as we were on vacation and had no plans on cooking. If you do want to do some cooking, I would bring my own paper cups, plates etc because the items I saw there to use is really old and since there is not a dish washer, the dishes are only as clean as the person who used it before you cleaned them.
My only negative would have to be that the beds are too hard for my taste. I like more of a comfy bed. My husband and kids had no complaints about the bed so it may be just style preference. :)
There is a Dunkin Donuts right next door to the Siesta so my hubby was really happy when he saw that.
Frank gave us a map and places that are nice to eat in the area. We went to a fish market/restaurant and had the best meal there and watched the sunset. It was beautiful!
The Siesta website states that this is a Motel and not a big hotel chain. I agree. Make sure you check out the website and view the pictures so you know what to expect. It is a nice clean old style Key West style motel and I loved it! :)

Room Tip: We only saw one room so I cannot advise on a particular room. Also, there is no swimming pool or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I thought it was great exactly what I expected of a motel on us 1 in the keys. It was a clean room and bath. no pool is the only downfall but the ocean is in walking distance with a nice kayak put in at the end of the street and botanical garden. free boat parking and the gas station is right next store and so is the boat ramp!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Little old motel on the highway in marathon. Nicely landscaped property but not at all fancy.
Room was basic 2 big beds, comfortable. decent shower/bathroom. price was right. If finances are an issue this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf City USA
Level 6 Contributor
793 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

This is how Old Florida was in the 1950s. Almost perfectly preserved. Cute little old bungalow type roadside hotel along US 1 across from the Marathon airport. Very clean. Only about seven units. Don't expect the Mandarin Oriental. We liked it. That said, if you're going to offer a coffee maker, supply coffee cups, not to mention coffee. Bring your own amenities.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jg3arrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon Shores
2.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
2.7 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kingsail Resort Motel
Kingsail Resort Motel
#13 of 16 in Marathon
449 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
2.5 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Motel

Property: Siesta Motel
Address: 7425 Overseas Hwy, Marathon Shores, Marathon, FL 33050-3130
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon > Marathon Shores
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Siesta Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for having the cleanest rooms in paradise and affordable prices year round.We feature refrigerators, coffee makers, and cable television in every room plus we have several larger rooms with full kitchen facilities. Built on 3 spacious lots we have beautifully landscaped tropical gardens with barbecue grills and deck chairs in the rear of the motel for your use. The Siesta Motel has been a vacation favorite for years throughout the Keys. Known for having the cleanest rooms in paradise and some of the lowest prices year round ? all the top fishing guides keep their clients here. Minutes from Sombrero and Bahia Honda beach, Dolphin Research Center, Crane Point Hammock, Key West and shopping - we are centrally located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Siesta Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Marathon Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing