We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Crystal Shores
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The appartments on this Resort are made up from converted from hotel rooms(under a previous owner) and under the cirumstances, renovated really well. Appartments are beautifuly appointed and furnished and balconies the biggest I have seen, anywhere. And the view on to Marco beach itself, is stunning.
Only half the Resort plan has so far been built; this has left an isolated Reception area, the gym and Activity Centre currently in converted appartments and no covered access between the carpark and the appartments - which can be fun(not!!) in the rain!! These issues should all be resolved upon completion of the Resort- which would now appear to be happening in the near future.
New General Manager, Andy Sorenson is pulling out all the stops to make this Resort an even bigger success than it already is, His vision, passion and enthusiasm are evident to all! This enthusiasm has rubbed off on his team - Alysha's sunset yoga was amazing to experience, she is quick to learn and remember your ame and so friendly! Ryne vvery kindly went to the shops before his shift and purchased me my own pack of gluten free chips so that I could enjoy the "Cook Out" along with other guests.These little things are so important- thank you ! All staff were friendly and helpful including the security men at the Resort and beach etrance.
Activities here are the best we have encountered. One evening was spent listening to the talented vocals of MrJohnny Fusco, whilst enjoying free wine and cookies. On another evening we had a lovely wine and cheese social - such fun to be able to network and make new friends. Andy was here, rushing around with his notebook, making copious notes of guests comments and esuring that everyone was having a great time!
On another evening we watched a dvd of a Jimmy Buffett Concert, whilst enjoying frozen Margaritas.
Marco Island itself does not have much to offer apart from the beach but if you want to come and just chill out in a beautiful place you could do much worese tha spending time here!! Wear your flip flops on the beach, the shells can be sharp!
We had a wonderful time and left having been made to feel really special and valued as guests, by Andy and his team. Thank you - we shall be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Peykake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Crystal Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your fantastic TripAdvisor review! We really appreciate your kind words for Andy and the rest of the team at Marriott's Crystal Shores. Please know, we will share your comments with the resort team so they may be properly recognized. Thank you again for your review and visiting us on Marco Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

As a member of MVCI, we purchased a package for this time share and were very impressed. We had a 2 bedroom rental and it was spacious and well appointed. The facilities at the resort were excellent, as they are at all Marriott properties that we have been. There is always an activity going on at the resort and is kid friendly. Marco Island is a great destination with plenty to do. Being about a 2 hour drive from my home near Fort Lauderdale, we will definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjfisher406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We are Marriott Vacation Club Owners. Here is what we liked about Crystal Shores: I liked the mod design, it's a nice departure from the pseudo-italian flair of most Marriott Timeshares. We had the best balconies on the beach and spent a lot of time on them watching storms roll in and dolphins play. Ours was beach front corner, so having the wrap around balcony was great. Our unit was large, bright and sunny, though our friend's in the Ocean View was dark, gloomy and smaller. So spring for Ocean Front.

Alisha in the kids' club was great. In fact every time we went to the kid's club, we had good friendly service there. There are a lot of activities happening throughout the day which our kids enjoyed.

Being on the beach was great, though this is not a fine white sandy beach, it is covered in shells, which is great for shelling, not so great for just laying your towel on the ground and sunbathing. The water is very warm, but also very beautiful.

We did some great activities, which I've reviewed separately. We didn't find very many good restaurants.

Unlike other vacation clubs, they do offer bell service, and there were plenty of luggage carts. This was a nice surprise.

Now for the cons:

We were traveling with friends who we share time shares with. I purposefully had called the resort when I was first booking to find out the layout of the resort b/c I wanted to be sure our doors were close to each other so our kids can travel back and forth safely. They recommended an Ocean Front and an Ocean View. So I booked as such. I called ahead of time to ensure that we would have villas near each other. I will tell you that the OF's and the OV's are NOT near each other except on the corners and those OV's are very small. We would have done better to have two OF's and would have appreciated being told as such. It is embarrassing to have your guests be in a sub-par unit when they gave you a very nice place at the Westin Villas in Kauai the year before.

When we arrived, our guests' villa was not ready, despite the fact that I had been in contact with the resort ahead of time and let them know our arrival time. In fact it wasn't ready until 5 pm. No apology was offered, and they certainly still expected us to be out by 10 on departure day. This is not acceptable. I let the Owners Club person know and he agreed that wasn't ok, but didn't offer to do anything about it.

Our furniture was saggy and you can tell a lot of wet bodies have sat on it. We covered ours with extra sheets. The mattress and the pillows were horrible. (same as our earlier stay at the Grand Vista) I understand they are updating the furniture soon, though, so that might be ok by next year.

The restaurant is not very good. The food is blah, the drinks are watered down and the service was slow. (We went up to tell them we had a party of 9 coming for dinner in a couple of hours and the response was "Good Luck." not very service-minded. )

The pool side service is even worse. Most days the waitress only came every hour or so and never came back to have us sign our tab at the end of the day. I thought it was strange b/c this means she also didn't get a tip. On the last day, I had left the pool already and the waitress got mad at my friends b/c I had left without signing. Nice.

The pools are crowded, murky and warm. We went to the Marriott Hotel and the water was much cooler, so I'm not sure why they can't keep the pools at a lower temp. I mentioned the murkiness to the front desk, but they didn't seem too concerned about it. They have cabana's you can rent for privacy, but they are very dark and we didn't find the service to be much better.

I feel like with a little more effort this could be a nice resort, but there just doesn't seem to be much effort put forth to improve upon the little things. ie...it rains every day there, but there is no covered walkway from the rooms to the cars or even the front desk. Other resorts will put canisters of umbrellas at these points for their guests. That would be a very inexpensive option and goes a long way in letting the guests know they are being cared for. It is not so hard to apologize for not letting someone into their room on time and offering them complimentary drinks at the bar while they wait instead of being directed to wait in the very small front desk lounge. It is not so hard to circle back around and close out a tab with your guests. Small service minded improvements would go a long way in improving the experience. They also need to overhaul their restaurant menu.

Room Tip: Ask for a Ocean Front Corner Room....the higher floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanga2roos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Crystal Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott's Crystal Shores! We are disappointed to hear your experience did not exceed your expectations. This is not typical of the resort and we would like to personally respond to your concerns. Please email us at customer.care@vacationclub.com with your preferred method of contact and include your TripAdvisor Username. As an alternative, you may reach us directly by calling 800-860-9384. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

There is a lot to be said about this resort but the main things I must say about this resort , the atmosphere is wonderful , the staff service is like no other and the facilities are open to your convenience throughout the day.we spent an entire week at this resort and it was one of the best vacations ever , the beach is gorgeous and the hotel is a wonderful combination.

The day we checked out as well at 10am the staff was so courteous to tel us we could go to the beach and gave us access to freshen up at the gym when we were finished so we spent the day at the beach and had a good time , I commend the staff and this is a must visit place to visit if you can, the only downside is that good food is limited and eating places are far apart as Marco island it a dead end but it's all worth the trip.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank kavash_Amin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have been fortunate enough to have been members of MVCI since the late 1990's and have stayed in a number of different properties on different continents, but Crystal Shores is one of our favourites. As other reviewers have pointed out the reception area is little more than an office, however in our view this is of little importance as the only time we used this area was to check in and check out. At the present time the resort is small enough for the members of staff to get to know you by name, which gives more of a family feel than some of the larger resorts. The rooms have a nice bright contemporary feel, but some of the soft furnishings could do with updating in the not too distant future ( I understand this is part of the plan when the next phase of the building starts). The view from the front are spectacular and we never got tired of watching the sunsets, we liked it so much we have already booked for next year.

Room Tip: The best view are definitely on the front, corner suites have larger balconies but slightly smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank akeithj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Crystal Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

We are so pleased to hear you will be visiting us again next year! As a Marriott Vacation Club owner, we really appreciate your TripAdvisor review and kind words. Our team looks forward to continuing to exceed your expectations at Marriott's Crystal Shores!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Judy and I purchased our 2-bedroom villa through the Marriott Vacation Club before the property opened and have returned every year since. The villas are finished to Ritz Carlton specs and they are sophisticated and spacious. The design of the building gives you the longest balcony of anywhere we have stayed, and the views of the magnificent crescent beach of Marco Island and the Gulf of Mexico can be seen from every room. As of yet the building expansion has not begun so you also get a sense of a small community when you are there. The staff is extremely accommodating and eager to make sure you and your children or grandchildren enjoy your stay.

Jet ski tours, everglade tours, pontoon boat tours are all available. The beach and swimming are great. There are also some really fine restaurants and pizza places all nearby. I suggest you check Trip Advisor to find some really great places and adventures. On-site parking is a snap.

One final thing.... Because this is still in Phase 1 of building do not expect anything special when you drive up and check in. If you need a fancy lobby you will not find it here. However, the staff more than makes up for it, and before you know it you are part of the special feel of the place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Units are nice two bedroom units. The deck furniture is very comfortable. The furniture in the living room is small and not very. The bathroom counters were also lower than normal. Great location nice bar and restaurant and pools were good.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Crystal Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, Frank! We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
72 reviews
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#6 of 12 in Marco Island
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naples Bay Resort
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,664 reviews
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#11 of 59 in Naples
941 reviews
Inn on Fifth
#3 of 59 in Naples
2,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Crystal Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Crystal Shores

Address: 600 S Collier Blvd, Marco Island, FL 34145-5604
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range: £420 - £512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Crystal Shores 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Crystal Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Crystal Shores Hotel Marco Island
Marriotts Marco Island
Marriott's Crystal Shores Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing