We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of South Marco Beach

South Marco Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.18*
and up
Marco Island Kayak Tour with Optional Beach Landing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the two top public access points to Marco Beach. It has great shelling.
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great sunset”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Nice beach. White powder sand but watch out for the shells. The water was too cold to swim but we enjoyed the beautiful sunset at the beach.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveler401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    191
    65
    12
    17
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds Yorks England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good Time”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We usually visit the beach early morning and at that time it is very pleasant.It is clean and the water is calm.Flip flops are a good idea as the shells are sharp.There are sunbeds,parasols,jet skis,parasailing and hobbycats.There is always something to do and lots of space to do it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Clear calm water but "shelly" beach”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We drove out to Marco Island for the day and were disappointed to find nothing but condos and hotels- there was no real downtown to grab a bite to eat or window shop so we headed to the beach. South Beach, as they call it, is a large beautiful white beach, but beware, it is full of shells and can be hard to walk on in bare feet. The water was just as you expect from the Gulf- calm, clear and warm. We enjoyed our visit but with all the beautiful beaches in the area, South Marco Beach wouldn't be at the top of my list during a short stay in the Naples area.

Helpful?
2 Thank Taking_a_Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We are used to the sugar sand beaches and veridian green waters of Destin, FL.

BUT these beaches have so much to offer. The downside? They aren't quite as pretty, and there are LOTS of shell fragments on the sand. You could literally slice your foot open.

Having said that, we had a wonderful time, because the water is so much calmer in late Oct, than in Destin. We could swim, float, and tread water. We could go parasailing or rent jetskis. The water was amazingly calm and warm. Perfect for weak swimmers (like me) or kids, or big families. We love South Beach!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were the in "low season" and we found the beach very nice, White sand not crowded. 8.00 parking fee at small lot across street. Palmed lined access walkway very pretty

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank otrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Marco Beach also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Marco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing