We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find on Marco Island”

Davide Italian Cafe & Deli
Ranked #41 of 119 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: You can find good reviews and thei menu on Urban Spoon
Helena115
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great find on Marco Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

From the olive tapanade that came with the bread to some of the best tirimisu I've ever had, everything our group tasted was amazing. We started off with the shrimp parmesan appetizer and then moved on to salads that came with the meal. House wines were great choices and easy to pick to go with our meals. As we ate, we kept watching the delicious looking items streaming out of the kitchen - a stromboli that looked the size of a baseball bat, a lovely smelling pizza, and cannolis that were handmade to order. It was a show in and of itself. Of course Davide's father was outside singing traditional Italian songs and his mother was in the kitchen making homemade pasta, so there was basically no way to go wrong! The bolognese sauce was especially good and the chicken piccatta was loved by another at our table. However, the star had to be the tirimisu for dessert. So light and creamy, with just the right amount of coffee flavor and not too sweet, it was some of the best any of us had ever had. We will definitely be back!

There are only a few tables in the restaurant (more outside if the weather is nice), so keep that in mind and maybe make a reservation to make sure you get one.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helena115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    93
    29
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Food was good. I had Chicken Piccata (good), husband had linguine & clams (really good) & daughter had spaghetti and meatballs (really good). Started off with the brushetta which we really liked! Prices were pretty good for Marco. Nice entertainment!! Service was great!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Juliafost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good authentic Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Made our first visit here after walking by many times. It sits in a strip center that isn't the ideal location but the very good food and lively sidewalk cafe feel makes up for that. Inside is compact and on a busy evening the whole place - in and out is a buzz. People kept coming and you could tell it has a following. There was a piano player/singer joined by a mature Italian fellow singing the likes of Volare and so on. I think he was from the old company. The proprietor was there to be sure to greet each person looking for a table. Food was not your typical Americanized Italian red sauce on basic noodles. My chicken dish was extremely good with fresh ingredients and a unique good flavor. My wife had chicken Marsala and I had one bite. It was very good and not just a routine version. Service was prompt and consistent through diner. Prices were right where you'd expect - not cheap but certainly not expensive. I'd put it on the list.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bjmoo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The worst service!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Let me just say the pizza was awesome, the best! With that said our waiter was horrible! He was putting on a fake Italian accent, just be yourself but whatever I don't care just do your job.  It was a long wait for our drinks(it's a small place whats the hold up)? Someone else brought us our food and our waiter didn't come check on us and how the food was. Ate some pizza and our drinks are empty... We asked a bus boy where our waiter was and that we needed him... Tick tok 10 minutes Ask to have him sent to the table... We asked the bus boy to just get us drinks and he looked at us like he was aloud to do that and went to the waiter to send him over to us... The waiter was standing in the corner busy with the computer our something.  Finally the bus boy comes back and ask what we needed to drink, coke and root beer. I took a drink of my "coke" and it tasted like it was root beer and come mixed!!? The waiter brought us our check and said he was busy making cappuccinos. 
So we will order a pizza and take it home where we will be able to have drinks with our meal! 

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sgmya41901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Italian Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

If you want good food at a reasonable price, make a reservation and give this restaurant a try.
We ordered a pasta dish with sausage along with eggplant parm both under $20.00 which included a house salad, great bread with an olive tapenade. We sat outside and although the ambiance of a strip mall parking lot is not the best, the entertainment made up for it. Who would expect to have music and be serenaded by a wonderful singer from Peru. There were actually two men and also one young server who came out and sang a Sinatra song. They all sang beautifully and people actually stopped eating to sing along. I believe they work during the week only and they are in Marco for a period of time before they return back home. So if you are going for the entertainment, check when you make your reservation. This was a nice touch and made our evening a wonderful experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bflo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Davide Italian Cafe & Deli also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Davide Italian Cafe & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing